We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone who wants top class service in beautiful surroundings. We had the largest of the rooms and it was lovely, though a peek at the other rooms showed that though smaller, they were equally lovely. It was handy being in the medina and within easy reach of the main square. Lisa and Michael were on hand to offer advice about anything and everything, and their excellent staff were always attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: I would say all of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna-Day N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    47
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
176
628
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

After looking through the superlatives from previous reviews it's hard to come up with something new. All are true.
We stayed at Dar Charkia after a week trekking in the Atlas Mountains, staying mostly in tents and we'd promised ourselves a couple of days relaxation in Marrakech before heading home to the UK.
After the ruggedness of the mountains and the frenetic pace of central Marrakech, our arrival at Dar Charkia was akin to stepping through the back of a wardrobe into another world. For the first hour or so we just sat in something of a daze, soaking up the serenity of this lovely place. Of course the staff complement the surroundings. Many have sung the praises of Lisa and Michael and we would add ours as well as mentioning Samira and Rashid and Samira for their kindnesses.
A wonderful haven and it's hard to imagine a better place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

If I had more time I could write an essay about this place and the wonderful people who run it, but as I don't I will try to sum it up briefly! Lisa & Michael are a godsend as they make what could be a very daunting experience for first-timers in Marrakesh, an incredible adventure! They knew exactly what we would like to do, and cater each recommendation to each group as they try to get to know you. What suited us might not suit the next couple and they got this. The location is perfect, and the Riad itself is simply beautiful! Their team, Samira, little Samir, Rashid etc are a credit to them and could not do enough for us! Booking restaurants, fetching drinks at midnight, checking couriers were open, they did it all and more! I will definitely be returning and wouldn't dream of booking anywhere but here now. Wonderful people, wonderful Riad, wonderful memories made! Thank you to all at Dar Charkia! Nickola & Nathan xx (the couple with the body bag full of souvenirs lol)

Room Tip: 6 rooms to choose from, I imagine all are just as good as another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinker1000Barbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Dar Charkia is so beautifully decorated. Calming and relaxing from the start. Our driver, arranged by Lisa the owner of the riad was at the airport to meet us. We landed about 10am ish. The transfer only takes about 25-30 minutes.The riad is just 1 minute walk from the main road drop off point.
My husband had booked our four night long weekend as a birthday treat for me and because Lisa was so helpful from the time of booking we had a Hammam and a few restaurants booked in advance thanks to Lisa's efficiency and knowlegde.
As soon as we arrived we were so warmly greeted by Lisa and her staff and the most fantastic orange juice and a cup of tea and coffee were served up with some little sweet treats.
Lisa took us through the map with brilliant information on good places for coffee, clean toilets, how much we should be looking at paying for things etc. This map was VERY well used!
There are some excellent restaurants close by with roof terraces, infact nothing is that far away.
Our room was beautifully decorated and there was even a happy birthday banner and birthday confetti in our room when we arrived which I loved and was really thoughtful.
The bed was super comfy and everything was clean and well maintained.
It would take us about 15 minutes to walk to the main square from the riad.
Lisa and Michael (Lisa's husband) were so friendly and were happy to give any advice we needed.
Couple of things to know:
1. When you arrive and get out of the transfer taxi there are youngsters with little carts that will walk with you and help carry your bags to the riad for you. They are not part of Dar Charkia staff, they are just youngters trying to earn a little bit of cash. We gave them 20 Dirham as it's just a short walk and it helps them out.
2. In a few of the coffee bar /restaurants there is a lady expecting some change in the toilet (there is in the ladies toilet anyway, I didn't go into the mens). I don't know if you have to give them money but felt I should. It only needs to be a small amount of change.

We really couldn't have asked for more. The riad was beautiful. Lisa, Michael and their staff were the best hosts. The breakfasts were lovely, slightly different things each day which was nice. We would definitely recommend Dar Charkia.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sahara room and were very pleased with it. There is an a/c unit in the room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MR55HOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Listen to Lisa! She has years of experience and takes no bull___. You need her advice to figure out how to handle the town. The riad is restful, decorated with great love and attention to detail... Check out Samira, chief of staff -- personable, clued-in -- and her English so good you take her for an ex-pat Brit

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ouisbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxos, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Dar Chakia is a beautiful and restful riad on the edge of the markets and main square of Marrakech. My wife, 11 year old son and I have just finished a lovely four night stay with them,

We arrived late at night but were guided from our airport taxi (organised by the riad) by Rashid, who was the night manager. Rashid only speaks a little English - which Iwe loved as we were able to dust off our very shakey French. Rashid was a calming host, who generously walked us 10 minutes to our restaurant one night - we would never have found it without him - and then walked us back after our meal.

The dinner we pre-ordered our first night, and the daily breakfasts were delicious - especially the fresh orange juice.

The have a lovely plunge pool in the courtyard which was a great way to unwind after the day in the souks. And there were plenty of comfortable nooks to sit and read our check emails with th efree wi-fi. Lisa and Micheal own the riad and Lisa met us on our first morning and provided an invaluable annotated map and personal notes to help guide us through our days. Each of her recommendations were great - we were really pleased to have enjoyed four lovely nights with dinner out for three of them without suffering any health issues from our dining - thanks to the great recommendations.

I can't recommend Dar Chakia enough, it was a lovely stay, with lovely people.

Thanks from
Paul, Bridget and Josephh

Room Tip: Our room over the riad entrance was lovely, quiet and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_Bridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My friend and I liked Dar Charkia so much we stayed there not once, but twice! We stayed for the first 3 nights of our Moroccan vacation. It was absolutely perfect. Airport pickup was smooth. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, perfectly clean, and the breakfasts are delicious! Lisa and Michael are wonderful and really took the time to help me get acquainted with the city which I never really considered as an important part of a hotel stay but it was very helpful. The staff is great.

After traipsing all over Morocco for the following several days we ended back up at Dar Charkia since our return flights were also out of Marrakech. We just loved the hotel, the location is great, and the hospitality is superb so instead of chancing it on another hotel we decided to stay again for a second time.

I highly recommend Dar Charkia. It is extremely daunting trying to find a place online, but you can't go wrong with this hotel! Save the headache and book with them today!

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passport_ready_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing