We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Choose this Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #15 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Choose this Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a fantastic week long holiday in Morocco. We stayed for three nights in Dar Charkia before a three day/two night trip to the desert then back to Dar Charkia for our last night. We love every minute of our trip and Dar Charkia was everything we could have hoped for. Having never been to Marrakech before, and not quite knowing what to expect Lisa was great from the outset, the booking process was straightforward and Lisa was quick to answer all of the many questions I had before arrival and on our first morning. Lisa has beautiful taste, the pictures that we took and the pictures on Trip Advisor no where near do Dar Charkia justice. The recommendations Lisa gives on your first day regarding shopping, restaurants and making your way around Marrakech are perfect - I just needed a bigger baggage allowance and a few more days of shopping! But I will definitely be back for more! We stayed in both the Mali and Sa'ada rooms which are equally lovely, Sa'ada was the more spacious and on ground level. Despite the close proximity of the rooms in a Riad, we heard nothing from the other guests and whilst the staff were always on hand when you need anything they are discreet and keep to themselves which I find is the most excellent service. Overall, this made us feel like we had Dar Charkia all to ourselves and as though it was our own personal home for 4 nights. So many other reviews have said this but walking into the quiet, cool of Dar Charkia out of the hot hustle and bustle of the street is wonderful, it's exactly what you need and the quietness and peacefulness inside is something I found extraordinary. You really are in the most convenient location too, Dar Charkia is right in the middle of the action whilst being a quiet and calm haven - it's perfect. The breakfast was delicious and you get a little bit of a surprise every day, if there is something you aren't so keen on it can be swopped no problem. I loved having the pastries and pancakes every morning and the jam was some of the best i've ever tasted - a complete treat! When we left for our trip Lisa was kind enough to let us leave our case and it is this relaxed, 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude at Dar Charkia that makes it one of best places I've ever stayed, beating any 5 star hotel by far. I'm struggling to find anything I disliked, there honestly wasn't anything. Thank you everyone at Dar Charkia!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmp2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    48
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
176
629
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our first time staying in Marrakech was made absolutely perfect as I had chosen Dar Charkia as our base for us and four friends. Sami made us all exceptionally welcome and took loads of time to explain where to go and what to do. She had also booked a guide for us, who proved to be fantastic, and spent loads more time with us than had been booked. It was well worth having him to get our bearings around the Souks and to learn more about Marrakech. We ate in the Riad on the first evening and the food was amazing. We had pre-ordered a few days before, and there was so much choice, so we all had different things and every course was really tasty. Rooms were very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarajane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Absolutely beautiful property, fantastic location, fabulous staff, delicious food, gracious hosts, what more can I say......................................Perfection!!

We stayed end of May 2013 after a 5 Day Majestic Desert tour with Desert Majesty thanks to a referral from Lisa. Upon Lisa's recommendation we also did a cooking class with L'atelier Faim d'Epices which was a fun and informative day.

I can confidently recommend Dar Charkia, it's even better than the photos, believe it or not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Dar Charkia 17 -20th May as a group of twelve women ages ranging from 54 - 24
I was slightly concerned as to how we would be received but I needn't have worried
this place is fantastic but Michael Lisa and all the staff are even more fantastic they made our trip very special
Its perfectly situated and easy to find your way back to after you have explored Marrakesh
all the bedrooms are very beautifully furnished and decorated and the breakfast which we ate on the roof top terrace was wonderful some thing for everyone. all the staff were so warm and friendly nothing is too much trouble. The orientation chat on our first morning was very helpful.
we had emailed before our trip and organised our restaurants and activities in advanced and Lisa was so helpful in recommending and suggesting place we might like. We also used their drivers to get to and from the restaurants and bars and they were complete gentlemen even escorting us to the door of the restaurant or venue.
I found Marrakesh to be a wonderful place with wonderful people in the Souk we weren't harassed or bothered, a polite no was always accepted and preceded with a smile. I would thoroughly recommend a visit and definitely recommend this Riad I know you will not be disappointed, cant wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

When staying at Dar Charkia its pretty much like you have found a long lost relative and they have invited you to stay at their house. Lisa and Michael are great hosts. Behind the doors that lead to the mayhem that makes up Marrakech you have the tranquillity of Dar Charkia. The in-house food was wonderful, lamb and almond tagine was scrum! Breakfast was perfect in the courtyard, with the birds chirping away. All the staff are very helpful and cannot do enough for you. Love the fact that at anytime you can request tea, coffee, mint tea, all served with nice local biscuits, very refreshing and welcome after battling the souks. Lisa sat down with us first morning and gave us an overview, told us where to go, where to avoid and by and large all was spot on. Great restaurant tips from Lisa, La Fondouk,Pepe Nero, Lotus club (don't arrive before 9pm), Cafe Aribe, and one that a friend recommended Jardine De La Medina (you must have the baked lamb for two) , great food at all venues. The Riad is wonderfully located, close to souks and restaurants and just 2 mins walk from a great place for a traditional Hamman, the name escapes me, but Lisa or Michael will know.The Riad itself was clean and well run, room (sahara suit) very comfortable, but next time i'll go for the big suite, for a few extra pounds its well worth it. ......no complaints....pretty much as they say "did everything and more than its says on the tin" Marrakech is a crazy place but a lot of fun, the souks can be hard work but a firm no without being rude does the trick. These have to be the best salesman in the world, i bought stuff i don't even remember buying! Would we go back....Yup! and look forward to it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy8600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sahara suite on the first week of April and we completely agree with the rest of excellent reviews about the attentive service, quality of breakfast and dinner, location, cleanliness and artistic decoration and atmosphere of this lovely riad. We want to thank them all for making our stay as enjoyable and for all the useful tips they provided and hope to seem them again next Spring in manic but beautiful Marrakesh!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Sahara suite which was excellently decorated and quiet but with limited space to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked a week in Dar Charkia at the end of april. The pre holiday info was excellent and transport from the airport was arranged for us. The riad was beautifully furnished and the beds very comfortable. The staff always friendly and no request was too much trouble. The owners Lisa and Michael went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay and were always ready to suggest day trips and restaurants and also to indicate cultural differences so that we knew what to expect.
Breakfast was rolls, pastries, fruit, joghurt, fruit juice, omelette, smoked salmon rolls, pancake, jams, tea, coffee. Complimentary tea or coffee was available all day. With a little notice, dinner was served in the evening and was excellent.
If we went out to a restaurant in the evening a guide would be arranged to take us; its very easy to get totally lost in the old town.
Altogether a great introduction to Morroco in a very caring riad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johncatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing