We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peace and tranquility in the middle of the wonderful mayhem that is Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #15 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in the middle of the wonderful mayhem that is Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

When staying at Dar Charkia its pretty much like you have found a long lost relative and they have invited you to stay at their house. Lisa and Michael are great hosts. Behind the doors that lead to the mayhem that makes up Marrakech you have the tranquillity of Dar Charkia. The in-house food was wonderful, lamb and almond tagine was scrum! Breakfast was perfect in the courtyard, with the birds chirping away. All the staff are very helpful and cannot do enough for you. Love the fact that at anytime you can request tea, coffee, mint tea, all served with nice local biscuits, very refreshing and welcome after battling the souks. Lisa sat down with us first morning and gave us an overview, told us where to go, where to avoid and by and large all was spot on. Great restaurant tips from Lisa, La Fondouk,Pepe Nero, Lotus club (don't arrive before 9pm), Cafe Aribe, and one that a friend recommended Jardine De La Medina (you must have the baked lamb for two) , great food at all venues. The Riad is wonderfully located, close to souks and restaurants and just 2 mins walk from a great place for a traditional Hamman, the name escapes me, but Lisa or Michael will know.The Riad itself was clean and well run, room (sahara suit) very comfortable, but next time i'll go for the big suite, for a few extra pounds its well worth it. ......no complaints....pretty much as they say "did everything and more than its says on the tin" Marrakech is a crazy place but a lot of fun, the souks can be hard work but a firm no without being rude does the trick. These have to be the best salesman in the world, i bought stuff i don't even remember buying! Would we go back....Yup! and look forward to it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy8600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    48
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
176
628
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sahara suite on the first week of April and we completely agree with the rest of excellent reviews about the attentive service, quality of breakfast and dinner, location, cleanliness and artistic decoration and atmosphere of this lovely riad. We want to thank them all for making our stay as enjoyable and for all the useful tips they provided and hope to seem them again next Spring in manic but beautiful Marrakesh!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Sahara suite which was excellently decorated and quiet but with limited space to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked a week in Dar Charkia at the end of april. The pre holiday info was excellent and transport from the airport was arranged for us. The riad was beautifully furnished and the beds very comfortable. The staff always friendly and no request was too much trouble. The owners Lisa and Michael went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay and were always ready to suggest day trips and restaurants and also to indicate cultural differences so that we knew what to expect.
Breakfast was rolls, pastries, fruit, joghurt, fruit juice, omelette, smoked salmon rolls, pancake, jams, tea, coffee. Complimentary tea or coffee was available all day. With a little notice, dinner was served in the evening and was excellent.
If we went out to a restaurant in the evening a guide would be arranged to take us; its very easy to get totally lost in the old town.
Altogether a great introduction to Morroco in a very caring riad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johncatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The Riad is beautifully decorated and the rooms have special little touches such as the funky shower caps! The owners Lisa and Michael are super friendly. Lisa is so helpful with everything from shopping to booking restaurants. All the staff are just wonderful, warm and friendly. The breakfasts were lovely and different each day. We ate ours up on the terrace in the sunshine most days. Its a 5 min walk to the souks which are bustling and interesting. We ate long lazy lunches after our mornings shopping and then came back to the Riad to sunbathe on the terrace. Bliss!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banton-Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badsworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Have just returned from our week's holiday in Morocco where we stayed at Dar Charkia - a special place and the worthy recommendation of an American friend. We have stayed in a variety of accommodation from first class hotels to 5* bed & breakfasts all over the world and Dar Charkia sits very nicely with the best of them.
Our transfer to the riad was efficient with our luggage being transported for us. As we walked into the riad a magical first impression awaited us with the riad being lit with tealights and atmospheric lighting giving a warm welcome and very Moroccan feeling. The riad is presented in a tasteful and stylish Morrocan design and showcases the owners, Lisa and Michael's, many talents - I really loved the artwork and Morrocan artefacts that had obviously been chosen and placed with such care.
After having a complimentary drink we were shown to our room which was the Khmissa Suite. It is accessed by its own staircase at the back of the riad making it very private and quiet. The suite itself was spacious, comfortable and dressed in Morrocan fabrics and accessories, there was everything you could want in the bathroom, a generous range of quality toiletries, robes, hairdryer etc. even rose petals in the shower!! All the suites had their own charm as we were able to take a peek at some of the others during our stay. The master suite was extra special and worth treating yourself to.
Breakfasts were ample and consisted of juice,fruit, yoghurt, croissants, crepes, French bread and maybe eggs, meat or tomatoes with as much tea and coffee as you wanted. We just had to buy some of the baby tagines that the preserves were served in !!
After breakfast on the first day we were given a very comprehensive and invaluable talk by LIsa based around an anotated map of Marrakesh which gave us advice on restaurants, shopping, places of interest and useful tips, all of which gave us more confidence to explore Marrakesh on our own. All Lisa and Michael's recommendations could be relied upon although the Lotus Privilege restaurant was not to our taste.
The staff at Dar Charkia do all they can to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and we are very grateful to them. It is the commitment and attention to detail that really makes Dar Charkia a special place Lisa and Michael and their staff care about the wellbeing of their guests and we had first hand experience of this when we had a problem with our flight back home. Lisa and Michael did all they could to resolve our problem going beyond what could be expected of them. Their personalities and vision are helping to make Dar Charkia the success it is.
We hope to make a return visit and can't recommend Dar Charkia too highly.

Room Tip: The Khmissa suite is probably the quietest and most spacious standard room. The Sa'ada suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Came back a fortnight ago from an incredible 3 night stay at Dar Charkia! First off the staff are an absolute credit to the lovely owners Lisa and Michael. Throughout our stay every single one of them went that extra mile to make sure that I had a fantastic experience of Marrakesh, with their warming and friendly faces giving the Riad such a pleasant atmosphere to relax and unwind in. I stayed in the Sahara Suite which is situated right beside the plunge pool (lucky me!) which was beautifully decorated with lovely homely touches such as complimentary nuts and shower things. The bed was extremely comfy with a really warm cosy duvet and their was plenty of storage with 2 large wardrobes and a fantastic bathroom with a great shower. On the first night we ate a lovely meal at the Riad which was freshly prepared for us that day and tasted delicious. I can highly recommend the Lemon chicken tagine and the chocolate mousse! On the second day we ventured into the Souks (which are situated within a 5 minute walk of the Riad) and the knowledge of both Lisa and Michael proved to be invaluable with them giving us great hints and tips to get the best bargains such as always offering the sellers half of their initial asking price (sounds crazy but it worked!). Throughout our stay they also gave us great recommendations on local sightseeing spots, restaurants, bars and clubs which all turned out to be great and really added to our stay. Overall I had an incredible stay and cannot thank Lisa, Michael and the team enough for making my first time in Morocco such a fantastic experience. You can tell as you explore the Riad that it has been decorated with so much love, care and attention to detail, it truly is a stunning retreat and a great escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. All the best, Elyssa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyssa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

me and my partner came in November 2012 and was the best trip ever.

We booked with Dar chakira firstly the price was good and LISA and Micheal was at hand on every email and quick to respond..

when we arrived - the rad was great we was on the bottom floor in a big room.

The breakfast was amazing and fresh and also the restaurants we went to recommended by Michael and Lisa was great,

We also did a hot air balloon for my bday which was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidlong1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing