We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“6 star service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“6 star service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I can confidently say that this is the best, personalised service I have ever experienced. Not even the 6 star hotels in the Middle East can compete. Everybody makes you feel welcome and goes out of their way to accommodate your every wish.

As others have remarked, the outstanding customer care starts right from your booking. The owners sent us recommendations for things to do and places to see, and booked everything before our arrival. We enjoyed a delightful afternoon in a spa, a splendidly delicious dinner (if you order a dinner in the riad, make sure you do NOT eat all day, as the portions are rather generous!!), and had a guide for one morning who was absolutely brilliant.

The staff are unbelievably professional, friendly and accommodating. Mohammad, the night guard, went out of his way when my mother needed some remedies for a painful insect bite. I would like to thank everyone for a wonderful time! Michael and Lisa: please don't ever lose any of these fabulous people!!!

We also enjoyed a few Pimms on the roof terrace with swifts flying over our heads, and lots of bird song. Divine.

Lovely rooms, delicious breakfast and great cocktails!

Highly recommended. Go!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    47
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
176
628
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I booked the whole riad for my birthday weekend. Can't fault it at all. I stayed here 5 years ago and loved it then, hence the reason I came back. The first night we had dinner in the riad and the food, we all agreed, was the best we had in Marrakech. The staff are wonderful and attentive and we wanted for nothing. Lisa & Michael, who own the Riad, were the perfect hosts who helped me arrange my itinerary and it all went smoothly and everyone just had the best time. I can't wait to return to a wonderful oasis in chaotic but wonderful Marrakech!

Jo, Glasgow

Room Tip: I looked in all the rooms and they are all individual and gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

An oasis in the heart of Marrakech. Nothing is too much trouble from the team that is Lisa & Michael and their great staff, Mohammed, big Samira, little Samira to name a few. They made our friend Joanne's birthday such a memorable and special occasion, they took care of our every need and helped organise the entire itinerary for twelve people, including a marvellous dinner party on the first night, which is no mean feat! Thank you for exceeding our expectations. Ros & Ashley x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowSpinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A huge thank you to Michael, Lisa and the team at Dar Charkia. From the moment we arrived until we left, nothing was too much trouble. Hotel chains can learn a great deal about service and customer satisfaction from them. Their in-depth local knowledge was invaluable to get us quickly oriented via their annotated map. The Riad is a spotless, oasis of calm that insulates you from the hustle and bustle that is Marrakech. Special mention to the team Little samira, big samira, Netia, Zahira and Mohammad.
They took excellent care of us, organising restaurants and excursions, advising us on where to go and how much you should expect to pay (invaluable). Breakfast was a feast of fresh pastries, fruit, bread and yogurt along with tea/coffee and fresh orange juice, this sets you up for a day of touring. One evening we had a meal at the Riad where they cooked us a superb tapas consisting of lamb tagine and fish which we enjoyed on the roof terrace in the pavilion tent under the stars. The pear walnut and endive salad was to die for! You will never go hungry in Morocco! Their location is amazing all within walking distance of the main square, souks, koutoubia mosque and an excellent selection of restaurants on your doorstep, this is the place to stay in morocco, you will not be disappointed. We arrived as strangers and left as friends, our 5 days in morroco will be fondly remembered and we very much look forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Douiria suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandjnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful oasis of beauty for 3 nights in March.

Before we had even arrived in Morocco Lisa & Michael, owners of the road, had sent us detailed lists of information. These covered restaurant's, day trips, day spa's, and much more.

When we followed the precise instructions on how to get to Dar Charkia we found ourselves walking down a narrow dusty alleyway. Then suddenly we came to this beautiful wooden entrance (exactly per the instructions!). Once inside we were captivated by the wonderful interior. Dar Charkia is sophisticated, cosy, charming, and beautiful cultural, all at the same time. The staff at this lovely home are friendly, super helpful, and make you feel at home straight away.

Now the rooms at this place (only 6) are all a delight. We stayed in the Khmissa suite. Wow! This room has it's own cute little staircase and is off the smaller of the 2 courtyards. This room was beautiful and had an en-suite bathroom with 2 sinks and a shower.

All of these still didn't come close to the super guidance we got from Lisa about negotiating our way around the Medina and especially the markets. The map she gave us was detailed, much better than others we saw, and covered personally added info (clean toilets :-) ). Lisa spent time going over it all with us and then talked about haggling with merchants and recommended some great places. This was all invaluable and made this adventure of ours even better!! We took advice on restaurants, day spa's, and where to buy stuff. We got some great bargains and had a lovely romantic stay.

I would highly recommend staying here and following Lisa's great advice about the city. We took her laminated sheets with us and found them reassuring/insightful. We only got lost a couple of times and the map helped both times.

Thank-you Lisa, Michael, and all the wonderful people at Dar Charkia for such a great stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: Follow Lisa's advice and take her sheet on the merchants into the Medina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 81andyb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dar Charkia for 5 nights and had an absolutley wonderful time. From the moment we booked, through to when we left the service was fantastic. Lisa and Michael were wonderfu hosts. Their indepth local kowlege of Marrakech really made a huge difference to our trip. Lisa's spectactuarly annotated map ensured we knew exactly where to go fort he best rugs, pashmina's, tea pots etc and more importantly what to pay! We had a lovely meal one night in the riad sitting in the lovely courtyard and well as some fantastic meals in restauratants Lisa and Michael recommended. The rooms are lovely, breakfast delicous (and you can have it at any time you like!), and all of the staff just wonderful. The location is excellent - an easy walk into the souk and main square. I would certainly recommend people stay at Riad Dar Charkia in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBM_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Beautifully decorated, excellent breakfasts, easy reach to souks etc. had an evening meal one night and the veggie starter was superb but unfortunately 2 out of the 4 tagines we had were not up to much - the veggie one and the fish one.it was expensive to eat and drink here however all restaurants we found overcharged. We are glad we stayed here and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungryhorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing