We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Girls Long Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #15 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girls Long Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just got back from a fabulous long weekend in Marrakech with 4 friends. Michael and Lisa were so helpful before we arrived with heaps of information for us to consider. Their knowledge of the area is second to none and they arranged guides, transport, dinner reservations and anything else we wanted or needed. The Riad is lovely, very homely, immaculately clean and the service impeccable. We studied trip advisor before booking and were so happy with our choice. Rates are very reasonable and everything they arranged was perfect. We had Ibrahim as our guide around the souks who took us to places we would never have found on our own. He knew every film ever made in Marrakech and where it was filmed and gave us so much information on the country and culture. We went to the Kasbah Angour for lunch which I would not necessarily recommend. It was very pretty but we had better food at the Riad Idra where my friends had Hammans which they all said was amazing. We all met for lunch on their rooftop terrace and the food was lovely, beautifully presented and delicious. We also went to the Comptoir for dinner and belly dancing which was good, great atmosphere, busy but good service and good food. Marrakech is a fascinating place which assaults all the senses and I will definitely be going back. The people were all very friendly and thanks to Lisa and Michael our stay was perfect.

Room Tip: Be prepared to hear the call to prayer at 5am and the birds tweeting but embrace it as it is all par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    48
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
176
629
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from a great trip to Marrakech staying in the the Dar Charkia.
The Rhiad is a really nice tranquil place to spend time. Having spent 4 days in the city I reckon that Dar Charkia is ideally located to access the main square, souks, restaurants etc. while being in a quieter neighbourhood. Lisa gives a great introduction to the city which is very useful for first timers and all her recommendations were good. Be sure to visit Pepe Nero for dinner at least one evening.
Breakfast was a treat with a nice range of freshly made products.
The staff at Dar Charkia were really nice, laid back and genuinely friendly. I would recommend this Rhiad to anybody wanting a relaxing stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheekyChappieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Behind a wooden door in a non-descript wall lies the gem that is Dar Charkia. When one steps inside one is greeted by the wonderful perfume of orange blossom - from the tree in the courtyard. The sound of water from the pool contributes to the sense of tranquillity that is the essence of this riad. The staff take their cue from Lisa and Michael; they are friendly, helpful, extremely efficient, full of useful information and completely non intrusive. Ideal. Breakfast set one up for the day and should one decide to eat at the riad - we did twice - the food is excellent - try the endive salad with pear, blue cheese, toasted walnuts; and the chicken with lemon and experience the best of their kind in Marrakech. The bedroom and public rooms are decorated in a sytle that using the best of local crafts. Ideally situated inside the Medina, Dar Charika offers a location from which to launch forth daily and experience what this city has to offer - a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCM235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

From the moment Lisa and Michael greeted us with genuine warmth and friendliness, to the moment we fondly waived them goodbye, Dar Charkia was all that we could have asked for and more during our stay in Marrakech.
I travelled to Marrakech with my husband for a combined holiday/conference.
The team at Dar Charkia attended to our every travellers need.
We stayed in the Douria Suite which was spacious, tastefully decorated and equipped with all the necessities, plus additional comforts of home. I particularly liked the books available to read.
Breakfasts were delicious.
Prior to arriving, via email, Lisa had booked a day tour and organised a reservation at a local restaurant. Lisa was incredibly helpful and efficient in assisting us with our requests.
I look forward to staying at Dar Charkia again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TGKTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I should have written this review some time ago but I doubt time matters as i am sure this place is still as amazing.
The owners were so welcoming and could not have been more helpful with explaining the city to us.
The best meal of our trip was here on our night of arrival. Beautifully fresh ingredients.
The owners were so interested to hear about our experiences throughout our trip so they help future guests.
The riad itself is a piece of paradise away from the hustle and bustle.
An amazing place to stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanopiesCanapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Some years ago, my sister and I decided we would take holiday treats together, instead of buying birthday and Chrismas gifts. Our recent trip was to Marrakech, where we stayed at Dar Charkia. We located Dar Charkia on Tripadvisor; we were not disappointed. The ambiance and style of Dar Charkia is both restful and engaging, where the architecture and art of Morocco come together in a delightful, comfortable holiday residence.
We stayed in the Berber suite, a twin room with a balcony overlooking the inner courtyard. The breakfasts were delicious - a big plus is there is no time limit for having breakfast - and our decision to eat "at home" on two nights was well rewarded with delicious Moroccan food. Lisa, Michael and the staff of Dar Chakira were great. They took time to explain the environs of Marrakech and the possibilities that lay beyond the city for travel and fun activities.
The location of Dar Charkia is ideal for making one's way around the Medina, whether to the main tourists spots and souks, or to the local markets and shops of the residents. We walked everywhere; but, for those not inclined towards walking, there is a taxi rank just a couple of metres from the ryad.
The airport pick-up organised by Lisa and Michael was great. Although, on this occasion, we flew into Marrakesh, via the UK, airport pick-ups can be arranged from Agadir, which is great for those of us who would wish to take just one direct flight from Ireland.
We will definitely make a return visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean_Sinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked our trip to Dar Charkia after reading the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed.
My husband and three children (aged 13,12+8) have just returned from a fabulous 7 night stay at Dar Charkia. We were met by a driver at the airport and after a short transfer arrived at this beautiful traditional Riad. The tranquil atmosphere of the candlelit interior and orange blossom fragrance from the tree enveloped us immediately.
We had two double ensuite rooms (one with an extra bed) overlooking the central courtyard which were beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean.
Breakfasts were delicious. Freshly squeezed orange juice, omelettes, yoghurt and fresh bread, croissants and Moroccan pancakes.
Lisa, Michael and Samira were fabulous hosts, sharing with us their secrets of how best to enjoy this wonderful city. Nothing was too much to ask.
We can highly recommend the Moroccan cooking trip that we took Faim d'Epices. We were picked up after breakfast and driven to the 'cookery school'. We spent the day learning how to prepare and cook an authentic Moroccan meal. We had fun learning about spices before enjoying the fruits of our labour in the afternoon on the terrace. I can highly recommend this experience. It was one of the highlights of our children's trip.
The roof terrace was delightful and included a comfortable covered area (perfect for fair skinned families to play monopoly!)
I can't recommend this Riad highly enough. Suffice to say that when we return to Marrakech we will definitely be checking in at Dar Charkia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oonagh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing