We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Marrakech”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #32 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked our trip to Dar Charkia after reading the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed.
My husband and three children (aged 13,12+8) have just returned from a fabulous 7 night stay at Dar Charkia. We were met by a driver at the airport and after a short transfer arrived at this beautiful traditional Riad. The tranquil atmosphere of the candlelit interior and orange blossom fragrance from the tree enveloped us immediately.
We had two double ensuite rooms (one with an extra bed) overlooking the central courtyard which were beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean.
Breakfasts were delicious. Freshly squeezed orange juice, omelettes, yoghurt and fresh bread, croissants and Moroccan pancakes.
Lisa, Michael and Samira were fabulous hosts, sharing with us their secrets of how best to enjoy this wonderful city. Nothing was too much to ask.
We can highly recommend the Moroccan cooking trip that we took Faim d'Epices. We were picked up after breakfast and driven to the 'cookery school'. We spent the day learning how to prepare and cook an authentic Moroccan meal. We had fun learning about spices before enjoying the fruits of our labour in the afternoon on the terrace. I can highly recommend this experience. It was one of the highlights of our children's trip.
The roof terrace was delightful and included a comfortable covered area (perfect for fair skinned families to play monopoly!)
I can't recommend this Riad highly enough. Suffice to say that when we return to Marrakech we will definitely be checking in at Dar Charkia.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oonagh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Dar Charkia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived at this riad to the time we had to sadly leave, we have never felt more welcomed or looked after. Lisa, Michael and all of the staff are quite simply amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and Lisa's time to sit with us and explain about the do's and dont's of Marrakech was invaluable. I was especially surprised at the effort they went to organising taxis to take us out into the mountains, guides to show us around Marrakech and arranging bookings for us at local restaurants. I would definitely recommend this riad and wouldn't hesitate to go back there again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

What can i say about dar charkia.,alice in wonderland springs to mind, through narrow dusty lanes to a small wooden door, enter then the wow factor.Its a definete for arts and crafts lovers, all morrocon feel.There was ten of us, 5 couples. celebrating 2 birthdays, one being a fifty plus valentines day.Lisa and michael are a very nice couple and are both very informative, they both go out there way to make sure your stay is a good one and they really care about there guests.staff too. they have the one tree in the courtyard which was decorated with red lovehearts etc for valentines.There is candles everywhere and around small pool. We had a meal there at our time. the buffet starter was amazing as the rest. I would happily live there.We had our breakfast on the terrace every morning with something slightly different, we could never eat it all, they also serve english tea.It is near the medina, lots to see and will highly recommend this lovely oasis too all my friends.If there is anything you would want to know about marrakesh then lisa and michael are the couple to ask, restaurants ,etc. thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Dar Charkia for 3 nights in May 2012 as park of an 8 night trip to Marrakech and without any doubt the highlight of the trip was this hotel. Every single member of staff was friendly, welcoming and very, very helpful from the moment we walked in to the hotel until the time we left. The owners, Michael & Lisa, spent time meeting all of the guests and they were able to offer great advice on places to shop, restaurants to sample & places to visit.
The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and the bedrooms are fantastic.The roof terrace is great to sit on with a drink at any time of day. We stayed in the Douiria Suite which was an absolute treat.

One point to note is that the hotel is down a narrow lane. We were a little cautious on the first visit but the chap collecting us was very helpful and we soon realised that almost every street in Marrakech is a narrow lane so there was absolutely nothing to worry about.

During our visit I planned to find a romantic spot to propose to my girlfriend (now wife), however, as it turned out we were staying in the perfect place and I wasted 2 days scouring various locations prior to proposing in Dar Charkia. The setting was perfect and I highly recommend it!

Unfortunately, we made a mistake by not spending the full 8 days of our holiday in Dar Charkia but we can rectify that next time we visit.

This hotel is excellent and the staff are fantastic!!! We will definitely be back for a visit in the near future!!!

Room Tip: We viewed a few rooms and all looked nice. We stayed in the Douiria Suite which was large, airy and...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMcc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We went to Marrakech for my 50th birthday. We were a group of 5 couples. Lisa and Michael couldn't have been more helpful nor could the rest of the staff. The riad is beautiful and nice and calm after the madness of the square and the souks.
Everyone had a fantastic time which partly due to Lisa. Would definitely go again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

After a week volunteering in Zambia a hot shower with flower peddles felt like heaven! I felt as if I was a guest in a friends home instead of a hotel. I recommend breakfast on the roof ! For those that like to walk Dar Charkia is a great location and for those that do not like to walk the taxi stand is a minute walk. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon, and it was wonderful. As soon as you come off the narrow little street, it's like you enter an oasis. The smells and sounds of the street are left behind you and you have this great sitting area with a plunge pool. Lisa was amazing, and spent probably 40 minutes with us in the morning going over where to go and showing us places on the map. Not that the map mattered, since we got horribly lost in the market anyways!
The rooftop sitting area is incredible - and as the sun goes down, sitting up there with a cold beer listening to all the mosques calling prayer was an awesome experience. The breakfast they offer was perfect and delicious. The room we had was great - very clean and with ac that kept it nice and cool! I would definitely recommend this to friends who were coming to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#37 of 502 in Marrakech
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $107 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing