We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could it possibly be this good?!”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #36 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2008

My husband and I booked three nights at Dar Charkia solely on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews. We arrived with high expectations and in every way, Lisa, Michael and the team at Dar Charkia surpassed our high hopes.

There is nothing more that I can add to the miriad of glowing praise and testimonials except to say that THEY ARE ALL TRUE. From the moment you step through the anonymous wooden door, you're transported to a timeless cocoon of serenity and calm.

The owners and staff were gracious beyond belief and each one individually went out of their way to ensure that every guest had an unforgettable Moroccan experience. Lisa's orientation talk upon arrival was invaluable in navigating the Medina, locating the best artisans and picking great dining venues. The staff went about their duties quietly and efficiently, and still managed to anticipate any needs or requests we had. The riad itself was breathtaking - elegant and tasteful with many thoughtful touches throughout. Our room was spotless as were the lounges and library. Breakfasts were heavenly (fresh and delicious) and were served anytime and anyplace the guests requested...such a nice change from having to "rush down before 1030am."

Marrakech is truly a magical place and Dar Charkia is a sparkling gem...we found a place that we want to return to over and over again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2008

Dar Charkia is not only a place to stay it is a haven of tranquillity to escape from a mad mad city. Lisa and Michael not only insist you use the place like your home, the knowledge they give you helps you settle into the major cultural difference. Lisa takes/directs you on places to buy, eat and see. Tells you how much to pay taxi's, barter and much more, if she doesn't know the answer she will find it. Nothing was too much trouble. The decor in the riad is contemporary Moroccan, cleanliness is exceptional. The breakfast delicious especially eating it on the roof top terrace.
The couple went above the act of kindness after a dip period in our stay in Marrakech. I had booked 3 riads from the advice of fellow travellers reading articles like this on trip advisor. Dar Charkia was the 1st for a 2 night stay, as you can read from my comments my husband and I loved it there. The 2nd raid was in Essouria it was dull in comparison the owner there gave us a map and didn't even point out where we were situated on it! We cut short the stay there and travelled back to Marrakech to our 3rd choice, now the comments on Trip advisor about this were also good but all I can say is that they must have been easily satisfied because we walked in and out within 20mins. We
returned to Dar Charkia knowing they had no rooms but Lisa helped find another accommodation for us and rescued us from this dismal situation. It was another riad El Mansour this to was fabulously clean and decorated to a high standard on the other side of Marrakech.
If we had not booked Dar Charkia 1st I would have been on the 1st plane home, you need the place you stay to be a haven as it is hard going walking the derbs of Marrakech, bartering for everything and seeing the poverty. The advice was invaluable and helped us cope with the Moroccan ways. It turned what could have been a nightmare into a fantastic experience. The items we purchased are fantastic and we will definatly returning to Dar Charkia but it will be the number 1 and only 1 on our list due to Lisa and Michael’s hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JudyLee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Dar Charkia is as good as everyone says because of Lisa, Michael and all the staff. If every hotel, accommodation outlet and the likes could be half as enjoyable then all of our holidays would be phenomenal. From the time my wife and 2 kids aged 19 and 17 stepped off the plane and were greeted at the airport by a pre-arranged taxi to the time we arrived back at the airport by a pre-arranged taxi, the service and quality provided by Lisa, Michael and the staff was fantastic. Nothing ever seemed to be too much to ask for.

The riad itself is nestled in a quaint back street alley, typical to Marrakech and all its riad’s, so anyone expecting to see a massive sweeping drive then please go to Disney in Florida. The ambiance once you walk through the wooden door is of peace and tranquility and the service offered is second to none. Nothing was ever too much an effort for Lisa, Michael and the staff.

During our stay our hosts were more than willing to help us in any way they could, recommending restaurants, all of which were varied and excellent, to advising on the town and its surroundings plus any local sightseeing trips, to even assisting in a little bit of shopping. What more could one ask for when on a short stay?! As with the other reviews the riad is spotless.

The food, especially the breakfast was excellent. Fresh fruit, sweet pastries, local pancakes, mint tea, coffee, English tea, fresh orange juice, local bread, tomatoes, cheese, plus other niceties you may desire by request such as eggs, but honestly, the standard breakfast was more than sufficient. The riad also accommodates evening meals which again were just as complimentary as well as tea, coffee and a variety of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks throughout the day (obviously at a cost).

The question is would I go again. Absolutely, assuming I can get a room, as I now know why it is so popular. I can’t thank Lisa, Michael and the staff enough!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

A group of us booked the Dar Charkia for a couple of nights and from the moment we stepped through the door the experience was excellent.

Attention without intrusion, detail without excess, the list could go on - for me, the balance was always perfect.

The food was fantastic, whilst the breakfasts were delicous, Lisa and the team laid on a tremendous spread for our final night - a Moroccan barbeque. It was better than any of the meals we had in the restaurants!

Maybe not quite right for young families, I highly recommend this to any adults - young to old.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CandILondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

lisa and her team were fabulous. the breakfasts were sumptuous, the staff all smiles, the decor so very stylish. lisa was very knowledgeable, always on hand to provide assistance, but never 'in your face'. would thoroughly receommend the 'eat-in' option - the meal we had on our last night prepared in-house was the best meal we had during our short stay in marrakech. hats off to the team for the great food but also for transforming the courtyard into a beautiful open air setting (complete with gigantic improvised ice bucket!)

Stayed: April 2008
Thank zonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Staying at Dar Charkia was a marvelous experience, deep in the Marrakech Medina. The owners Lisa and Michael and the atmosphere at their Riad was fantastic. I have never experienced such a warm and welcoming "hotel" on any other trips I have had. My next stay in Marrakech will definitely be at Dar Charkia.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Annemor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Me and my husband just returned from an amazing week holiday in Marrakech staying at the Dar Charkia. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with such a warm welcome which set a standard of service maintained for our entire stay. It was a completely relaxing and stress free break all made possible by the fabulous owners Michael & Lisa who are so helpful and giving not only of their time but their knowledge to ensure you have a memorable trip. We can't wait to return as it really felt more like a home away from home than an impersonal hotel. The staff are fantastic, the food is fabulous, the decor stylish and modern - in short an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kiwi_on_Tiki_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
579 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 499 in Marrakech
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#63 of 499 in Marrakech
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 499 in Marrakech
1,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#33 of 499 in Marrakech
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $93 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing