We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Charkia
Nearby Hotels
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$459
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$90
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$410
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$414
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$454
$366
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$231
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad 72(Marrakech)
$152
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$591
$514
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,343)
Filter reviews
1,343 results
Traveler rating
1,270
62
6
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,270
62
6
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslisa michaeldouiria suiteroof terraceshopping tipsthe hustle and bustlebeautiful riadrestaurant recommendationsatlas mountainsplunge pooldrop off pointday tripgreat hostsheart of marrakechyogurtpancakescourtyardsouks
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 1,343 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Dar Charkia is a beautiful Riad. The courtyard and bedrooms are tranquil. The roof terrace is very comfortable. A lot of effort has gone into the tasteful and comfy decoration, which is a blend of modern convenience and simple tradition. As past reviews say, its been done to a high standard. The beds are quite hard, but also massive. There are effectively two duvets on the bed so we just slept on top of one.

The owners and staff of the Riad are incredibly friendly and helpful. There was always someone on hand when we had a question and nothing was too much bother. Almost all of the staff other than the owners speak good English. Every question was answered quickly and solutions found. We were given fantastic advice by the owners, Lisa and Michael, (tailored to us) on where to go and what to do. We were treated like friends not customers. In a chaotic and hard-to-follow city this was reassuring and invaluable in not being overwhelmed.

The food and drink in the Riad is excellent. The breakfast isn't to order, but there was lots of it and all of it fresh and beautifully prepared. We had dinner in the Riad one night, which was superb. And we enjoyed numerous drinks on the roof terrace. Mint tea and coffee are complementry. Alcohol isn't cheap, but is of a good quality.

We can't recommend Dar Charkia highly enough. Its fairly priced - the boutique service is the best we've expeirenced and well worth every penny. We would be happy to go back time and time again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Dar Charkia is a beautiful Dar located on the edge of the Marrakesh medina. The owners, Michael and Lisa, developed a spectacular property and were exceptionally helpful in getting us oriented in Marrakesh - great tour guide for half a day, excellent restaurant recommendations, shopping recommendations. We had the largest room (suite with a small living room, large bathroom) in the Dar and it was very comfortable. Staff are friendly and very helpful and responsive.

Room Tip: We were given a tour of all the rooms before we left. Each was tastefully furnished and each had a lovely bath area. Really, all the rooms are very good, although the suite we were in is much more spacious than the other rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Believe the hype!

This place is truly magical and staying here is a delight. The riad itself is beautiful and has been furnished to an incredibly high standard . It provides a sense of total relaxation and utter luxury and the Moroccan staff treat you as friends rather than guests. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. You can have breakfast when and where you like and the riad also serves alcohol. It's a base for not only exploring Marrakech but for falling in love with Marrakech. It is also a very romantic place and the roof terrace provides a great view of the Atlas mountains.

We had a talk with Michael on arrival and he answered all our questions, even the silly ones, and provided invaluable information on what to pay for gifts, taxis and how to haggle etc . He also provided a map showing shops and restaurants etc. All their recommendations were fantastic! The food at Chez Mado was incredible and around £70 for two with wine.

We had some truly memorable meals and also a day trip into the Atlas Mountains which is well worth the drive. Our guide Mustafa was fun, friendly and gave us lots of information.

The location of Dar Charkia is very safe and is two minutes walk from a taxi drop off point. You don't have to go through the middle of the souks to get to the riad but they are a few minutes walk away if you want to explore. The main square is also an easy 5 minute walk away and with the taxi rank being so close you can get to any of the restaurants in the new town with ease.

I cannot find any fault with Dar Charkia. It is a perfect place to explore Marrakech but also provides a haven away from the centre to relax and enjoy your surroundings, It is evident that Lisa and Michael love Marrakech and it shows in all that they do. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

As described by countless other reviewers, Dar Charkia is simply a cut above the rest. On arriving in Marrakech, to the uninitiated, it is at first a wonderfully different place complete with a new culture to understand and explore, and that's not to mention the chaos of the streets. Dar Charkia is simply a haven from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, with wonderfully kind and thoughtful staff who simply enhance the experience. The owners, Michael and Lisa are also amazingly helpful. They were able to organise a brilliant local guide (Najib) to show us around the city (worth doing early on in your stay to help you get your bearings), as well as book any tours or restaurants and even provided a guide to take you to the more distant (and hidden away) restaurants. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. I would also recommend eating in the Dar at least once, as it is a peaceful setting for an evening meal and the food is exceptional. We already miss having breakfast sat in the courtyard. I've been fortunate enough in my life to visit many fine hotels, and the overall ambience and service at Dar Charkia surpasses even the best Four Seasons hotels. It's basically a wonderful hotel with concierge level service!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

All the excellent reviews are true , Dar Charkia is a very special place. We have just returned from a weeks stay and feel so grateful that thanks to the reviews on tripadvisor we were staying in such a perfect place for our first visit to Morocco. The surroundings are peaceful and beautiful. Our room ( sahara) was excellent, lovely furnishings and huge bathroom. Lisa and Michael the owners could not be more charming or helpful. All of the staff are friendly and gracious, nothing is too much trouble. We had dinner at Dar Charkia on our first night and it was so delicious and the surroundings so relaxing that we decided to do the same on our last night. Being able to have breakfast at any time you like is fantastic. The location is unbeatable , near great places to eat, near the souks, only a few minutes walk from the square and an easy spot to get taxis from and to. Lisa and Michael made life so easy for us, arranged all our trips, booked restaurants and gave us great tips and advice. Its like a deluxe concierge service but with inside knowledge that you normally only get if you stay with friends . We went on a balloon trip with ciel afrique and it was unforgettable, totally worth the money. Can also heartily recommend a tour with Najib who is a first class guide, interesting, humorous and gracious. We did this on our first day and it was great as it helped us to get orientated. If you have time try to get to the Atlas mountains, the scenery is breathtaking. Marrakech is a
great city and we would love to return. If we do we would not stay anywhere else but Dar Charkia.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mary67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews