We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway in Janaury”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #37 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic getaway in Janaury”
Reviewed April 6, 2008

A last minute booking - here today (cold and miserable) there tomorrow (wonderful and exotic). Following up on a listing in the Sunday Times 52 weekend getaways for 2008 we found ourselves in a beautiful riad in a great location with hosts who knew how to make it a personal experience. Lisa and Michael recommended what to do, where to eat and drink, when to negotiate and what to pay! Our room was beautiful with an open log fire to keep us warm during the suprisingly cold nights. Blue skies everyday with breakfast on the rooftop being a perfect start to every day. Mixing it up covering miles on foot to discover the city, with scrabble and sun-bathing on the roof terract proved to be a perfect getaway in January. We couldnt have asked for more.

  • Liked — Characterful and personal without being intrusive
  • Disliked — Cant think of anything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_Tony_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    59
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
182
641
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Arrived to the warmest welcome and were delighted by the tranquility of Dar Charkia.
Our room was charming and only enhanced by a romantic fire lit by the fantastic Abdu who could not have been more helpful.
We felt completely un pressured breakfast was served whatever time we got up which was a lovely way to begin the day.
Lisa and Michael were expert advisors on shopping, eating and just about anything we wanted to know,we did appreciate Lisas' intro of where to go and where not to go on the first morning.
For the whole week nothing seemed like too much trouble, the excursion they arranged for us was seamless and we felt like we were looked after by good friends rather than a hotel.
Dar Charkia could not have been more convenient to stroll to the medina or to eat at the many nearby restaurants whilst providing a calm relaxed retreat to return to.

  • Liked — Welcome
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bath-M-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We had 5 nights in Marrakech and spent 3 at Dar Charkia which was excellent. It really does look like the photos on the web site. Very comfotable, luxurious and friendly. No TV which is great. Beautiful breakfasts served anywhere, for us the roof terrace was the best.
What really stood out though was the personal briefing given by Lisa, one of the owners. Basic stuff like what to pay for a taxi etc, where to eat and really put my mind to rest about personal safety. It is a very safe place where behind the scenes plain clothes police mean that you are not hassled. Sure people want to sell you stuff etc but you say no and they leave you alone. It is a while since I went anywhere so culturally different and the little pep talk alowed me to enjoy it.
Where you stay and where you eat are important parts of a stay in Marrakech. Dar Charkia is an excellent place to stay, right in the Medina, and we were not disappointed in any of theplaces they recommended to eat.
By the way the other 2 nights we spent at Dar Cigognes, in the south of the Medina. This too was excellent but lacked the personal touch of Dar Charkia.
Travel tip - brush up on your French before you go!

  • Liked — Luxury. And great advice.
  • Disliked — They still had the winter roof on until the day we left. Could not work PC keyboard.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Capevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2008

We were two women (both mummies), away for a girly break so were looking to make the most of our 3 night stay as well as to be pampered and looked after and we were not disappointed!!

Lisa and Michael, the owners of Dar Charkia, have done a fabulous job of modernising the riad whilst retaining the morrocan influences. The beautiful decor was contemporary and provided an oasis of calm when we returned from the chaos and madness that is Marrakech (which we absolutely loved - I would go as far as to say it now rates in my top 5 cities in the world!). It is situated in a great central location within the medina and yet once inside, you wouldn't know there was a single thing going on outside!

They were the ultimate hosts, providing us with invaluable advice on where to go/what to see/ where to eat/ how much to pay etc... They booked all our restaurants and spa treatments for us before we even got there (following consultation by email) and when one restaurant let us down, used their initiative and made sure we got booked in somewhere even better!

The rest of the staff at the riad were lovely and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We didn't eat dinner there but if breakfast was anything to go by, it would have been great.

Can't recommend it highly enough - that's both the riad and Marrakech, exceeded all our expectations!.

If you are women travelling together, ignore anyone who says you'll get hassled so much it wont be enjoyable. As long as you dress appropriately (cover your shoulders and no plunging neck lines) you'll be fine, we didn't feel at all threatened.

  • Liked — The location and relaxing atmoshere
  • Disliked — plunge pool was too cold
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyMumsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2008

I much appreciated the comprehensive e-mail communication from Lisa before our trip to help organise our itinerary. Although, at 150dhs, we were surprised by the cost of the airport transfer that Michael and Lisa had organised for us (the guidebook suggested a maximum of 60dhs) I recognise that the vehicle was an MPV with air-conditioning and not a standard taxi.

On arrival, our briefing from Michael really helped us to understand what to expect and how to respond in Marrakech. This was key to putting us at ease in the alien environment outside the door of Dar Charkia and helping us take full advantage of our trip. We used many of his recommendations, which all proved excellent.

Our room, Khmissa, was beautiful, spacious, immaculate and comfortable. As it was set away from the courtyard, it gave us a little more privacy than some of the other rooms. The terrace was the perfect spot to have breakfast or relax after a hectic day sightseeing. On our first morning, Michael and Lisa organised a champagne breakfast for us on the terrace to celebrate our 40th birthdays, which was such a thoughtful touch.

When on-site, Michael and Lisa were excellent hosts, with the right balance between being available to help and giving us space. When off-site, all their employees were completely reliable and genuine.

In summary, as this review clearly indicates, it is the English speaking couple that make this Riad stand out in comparison to others. We were delighted with our choice of Dar Charkia as our base in Marrakech. It was like an oasis in the desert, which we looked forward to retreating to every evening. I would not hesitate to recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jjbw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2008

This is a really charming riad in which to stay. It is tucked away in a quiet street of the old Medina but very conveniently located to the Souks and main attractions of the city. It does feel like an oasis of tranquility, wonderful to return to after the bustle of the day.
It is beautifully furnished and I particulalry loved the terrace where one looks out over the undulating roof tops of the medina to the Atlas mountains beyond. It would be easy to spend the day up there either enjoying the sun or relaxing on a sofa under a tented canopy.
Lisa and Michael who own the riad have excellent advice to offer on the city which I found particularly useful to have on arrival and their willingness to help guests with all manner of enquiries is very refreshing. Their appreciation of the country is obvious. The staff are lovely and the food in the riad was absolutely delicious.
I would highly recommend Dar Charkia for offering a real feel of Moroccan and "Eastern" rommance.

  • Liked — Furnishing, position, views
  • Disliked — Not in my case but it is compact and surrounding a central courtyard and if there were noisy people one would be very aware of them
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2008

After reading all the reviews of trip advisor we were excited to see Dar Charkia, and it was even better than we had anticipated! Dar Charkia, the owners Lisa and Michael and their staff made this the most memorable vacation to date! The riad is an oasis in the middle of the bustling city. The decor, layout and lighting are absolutely beautiful, with lovely sitting areas, personal touches, a charming courtyard perfect for afternoon tea or lounging with a cocktail. It has everything a vacationer could want.
The room was fabulous with lots of traditional Moroccan elements combined with very comfortable and modern facilities.
The food was fresh and homemade. We looked forward to the breakfast every morning as it was a delicious combination of fresh juices, fruits, baked goods, traditional Moroccan dishes and fabulous coffee or tea!
The location was perfect because it was right in the middle of the medina within walking distance to all the key sights and sounds of the city.
The roof terrace at the riad is a perfect place relax, catch the sun, get away from it all.
This perfect weekend away also turned out to be the ideal setting for a surprise proposal. It happened on our last evening at the riad on the roof with a bottle of champagne!!!!
We are definitely coming back! Thank you for making our dreams come true!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tdss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
1,220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 500 in Marrakech
478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 500 in Marrakech
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing