We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Morocco”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #32 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The location, the staff, the amneities and the ambience, 10 out of 10. Your hosts Michael and Lisa go out of their way to help you find your way in this magnificent city. The Riad is super clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timeroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Dar Charkia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Dark Charkia was great. Very pretty little riad in nice location. Staff were really helpful and made our stay very comfortable and easy with good local knowledge. We were provided with a detailed map of the area with lots of commentary to help us find out nice places to go for dinner/ good shops etc. which was really helpful. Would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The team at Dar Charkia made us so welcome and we celebrated my wifes birthday in style. All the advice on restaurants was superb and the staff were so attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much from breakfast on the roof to late night caps under the stars. Great location for the souk and all the extra help like the advice on prices and brilliant map was so helpful. The Riad is stunning and just the right size, all the rooms looked lovely. We will be back, many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

From the moment I looked for a riad in Marrakech I noticed the reviews of Dar Charkia & was really impressed with what people wrote- particularly about the service from its owners Lisa & Michael. When I first wrote them an email inquiring about their riad, I received an email within 30 minutes of sending it. They gave the most helpful hints about how to get around, how much things should cost (like taxis, souvenirs, restaurants) & when we arrived in this riad Michael sat with us for almost an hour showing us a map of Marrakech giving us suggested daily itineraries. They answer all your questions & the staff are so so friendly- nothing is too much for them to help you with. I wouldn't look anywhere else for accommodation in Marrakech. This place truly lived up to the expectations I had from when I first read the reviews. Thanks for the best time!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Visiting Marrakesh is such an experience with all the hustle it was a nice surprise to walk into the quiet oasis of Dar Charikia. Immediately you are welcomed by everyone working there, offered something to drink and put at ease in the beautifully decorated riad. Lisa, the owner has incredible taste in decor. Every single person working in the riad not only welcomes you but helps you plan your stay, navigate the city, make reservation and/or provide you with suggestions. Michael and Lisa go above and beyond making your stay enjoyable. Michael was incredibly kind to help us figure out how to mail all of our shopping treasures from the souk home. This was no easy task and took quite a bit of his time. We can not thank Lisa, Michael and all that work there for making our trip so memorable. Anyone interested in a place that is tranquil and makes you feel at home should stay here!! Thank you, MIssy

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was on a work visit in Marrakech to attend a conference and rather than choose one of those character less large hotels in the newer side of the city, decided to stay within the Medina in a Riad...the best decision I made. Not only did I get to experience exotic Marrakech from it's most charming inner city, I stayed at this absolutely delightful Riad with great personalised service.

firstly the location - getting around the Medina can be quite confusing at first for the uninitiated, so it was great that this Riad was just off Dar El Bacha which is one of the easiest found main location right next to the Palace Walls and a 5 minute walk away from the souks which was great for the evenings when I had some free time. I never had to wait for more than 2 minutes to get a taxi from here, so it was very convenient.

The boutique experience is complete in Dar Charkia. A beautiful inner courtyard with a charmingly decorated tree right in the centre and easy lounge seating all around is the first striking impression as you enter. Its just perfect for an evening drink or simply spending all your spare time! The courtyard also has a plunge pool to soak in which is a welcome inclusion. The room was equally well appointed with a comfortable bed, ample cupboard space for clothes, a sofa and foutons. The bathroom was elegant and the day I got in, had been decorated with rose petals, a great touch ! The Riad does not have too many rooms so it offers a very private feel even when fully occupied. The terrace is also a great place to relax as it had several lounge seats. The best part of the Riad are the warm, gentle people who run it. Samira and Rashid were just fantastic and the entire team really works as one. Each day heading to work and returning, it was like staying at home, which was a really surreal feeling considering how far I really was from my real home.

Thanks to Lisa and Michael for a great stay

Room Tip: The Mali suite where I stayed was on the first floor perfect and overlooked the courtyard
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Would highly recommend this riad if this is your first time in Marrakech. Lisa, Michael and their staff were all so warm and helpful and although our stay was short, it was a wonderful 3-day stay for my friend and I. Just 2 girls alone, we were a little apprehensive when we first arrived. We've heard so many stories prior our visit and were unsure of what to expect. Lisa and Michael spent almost an hour advising us - telling us what to do and what not to do. They also provided v good recommendations on the places to visit and where to eat. It made our stay a whole lot easier! The riad is beautiful. It has an intimate and cosy feel with very personalized service. We were the only 2 Asians staying there but throughout our stay, we felt very much at home and were well taken care of. Kudos to the team working in the riad! Most pleasant, helpful and very trustworthy!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyd_L21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#37 of 502 in Marrakech
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $107 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing