We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Charkia
Nearby Hotels
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$56
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$399
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$360
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$321
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,070
$1,027
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$459
$439
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,340)
Filter reviews
1,340 results
Traveler rating
1,267
62
6
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,267
62
6
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslisa michaeldouiria suiteroof terraceshopping tipsthe hustle and bustlebeautiful riadrestaurant recommendationsatlas mountainsplunge pooldrop off pointday tripgreat hostsheart of marrakechdinner reservationsthe main squareyogurtpancakes
Filter
Updating list...
1,180 - 1,185 of 1,340 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Dar Charkia came very highly recommended to us and even with such high expectations, we were not disappointed. This is a great riad in the centre of the medina of Marrakech. Michael and Lisa have created an amazing haven among the busyness of the city. Lisa gives you a great lowdown of the best shops, the prices you should expect to pay, restaurants, bars and places to visit - and both of them are always on hand for any additional advice.
The food at the riad is amazing - the Moroccan tapas was delicious and overall we thought the food was among the best we found in Marrakech. Breakfast on the roof terrace gave us a lovely start to the day - and my husband was even happy with the tea - something that rarely happens out side England!
The roof terrace at Dar Charkia provides a great place to chill and take a siesta when you've had enough of the medina. Lisa also has a great eye for interiors and can point you towards where she bought even the smallest trinket in your room.
Overall, we can't recommend it highly enough - thank you.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank RUlph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We spent 3 nights at Dar Charkia; one of the best small luxury 'hotels' we have stayed at. The ambience in the courtyard is wonderful as is the roof tent and lounging area. We stayed in two suites, the Douaria ( the largest) and the Berber, with our 3 children aged 16, 14, and 12. The Riad is very tastefully designed, and functionally met all our needs. we had one of our best meals at the Riad itself.

Perhaps the best part is the hospitality of the owners and the staff. Michael and Lisa took great pains to provide us with sightseeing, shopping, and dining tips; Lisa personally took my wife shopping! The staff are very friendly and helpful, one of them did Henna on my daughters' palms.

All in all, our stay at Dar Charkia made our trip to Marrkech more memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Worldtraveler1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

I have just returned from a fabulous week at Dar Charkia, the hospitality provided by Lisa, Michael, Lauren and Leonora was superb. It really felt like home from home. The riad is beatifully decorated and nothing is ever too much trouble.

In advance of our arrival Lisa had booked dinner for us at three highly recommended restaurants and organised two excellent day trips to the Atlas Mountains and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. In addition to these trips Lisa knows all the best shops to buy your morrocan goodies in, I certainly left the souks with a lighter wallet. All in all this was a fabulous holiday and I couldn't recommend Dar Charkia highly enough. Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wildbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Have just returned from our first visit to Marrakech having stayed at this extremely well appointed riad. The service Lisa and Michael give to their visitors is superb. They couldnt have been more helpful, booking us into restaurants, trips out, visit to spa etc. but also giving us very helpful tips and shopping guidance! But its difficult to describe warmth and friendliness in a review. Lets just say we arrived as visitors and left as friends and I have never experienced this in all the places we have ever stayed.

The meal we had at Dar Charkia rated as the best during our stay and the breakfasts are delicious, so much so that we did not eat lunch on most days! The room was full of lovely little touches which were evident as proof of Lisa's attention to detail.

Their family embraced us too, helping me out with jewellery purchasing, which is pretty amazing in view of their teenage status!

Thanks so much x.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JDJDNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We just spent four wonderful days at Dar Charkia.What better way to experience a new culture than to enjoy the unique experience this hotel provides. Hosts Lisa and Michael are genuinely interested in helping their guests make the most of their stay with them. They welcomed us warmly and made all the arrangements for us--from airport pickup, dinner reservations to purchases, from taxi advice to walking directions, all requests are met with the same careful attention. After a day of bargaining, dodging donkey carts, bicycles and motorbikes, and walking around the old town, we always looked forward to returning "home" to this hotel, where flickering candles, a fountain, soft music, books, and a courtyard swimming pool provided a totally relaxing change of pace. And the staff! We have stayed in many hotels over the years where certain staff members deserve special thanks (and some hotels where none does), but here, from the night watchman to the cook, everyone is so friendly that we couldn't help but think that this is the result of excellent management. Would we ever stay anywhere else if we decided to return to Marakkech? No, this is definitely our home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LeysinCinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews