We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enchanting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #30 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“enchanting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2008

Enchanting, the word that comes to mind so easily when thinking of Dar Charkia. Lisa, Michael and their staff make you feel at home as soon as you walk through the doors of Dar Charkia. Each of the rooms tell a different story, holding comfort and delight to those who stay. Nothing is to much of a problem and the the helpfulness and knowledge of Marrakech is given to those who ask, from sites of interest to shopping and eating. With the greatest of pleasure I would reccomend Dar Charkia to friends and family and will be returning very soon.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank simoneEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    58
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
182
639
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2008

The Dar Charkia is a gem of a small hotel in Marrakech. The service is superb, the decor is outstanding, the cuisine is wonderful. With only 6 rooms, this small riad caters to its guests in every way. They have a beautiful rooftop terrace where guests can take breakfast or late afternoon drinks. They are located inside the medina and are easy walking distance to all of the sights in Marrakech. Yet, despite the proximity to the center of the medina, the Dar Charkia has a sense of peace and privacy that is delightfully restful for guests who have spent their days amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech life.

What makes the Dar Charkia truly special, however, are the people. Owners Michael and Lisa, along with their staff, go out of their way to ensure a memorable experience for their guests. My 19 year old daughter and I were first time visitors to Morocco, with no knowledge of Marrakech. On our very first day, Michael sat us down and explained to make our way around Marrakech ("never pay more than 20 dirhams for a taxi...") and then proceeded to walk us around town (we would have gotten hopelessly lost otherwise on that first day, because there are so few street signs in the medina). Over the course of our 5 days, Michael and Lisa gave us spot-on recommendations for restaurants for lunch and dinner, shops inside the souks with the best prices and quality, museums, gardens, sights, and nightlife. They booked day trips for us to go out of Marrakech to go hiking in the Atlas Mountains and to explore the seaside town of Essaouira ,and they arranged for drivers and guides along the way. Every single one of their recommendations played out perfectly for us, all the way up to the fish souk in Essaouira, where we ate heaping plates of freshly grilled fish with our hands, surrounded by locals, paying less than $10. We would have never found that fish souk without Michael suggesting that we try it. In other words, Michael and LIsa did everything needed to make our vacation a magical tour through Marrakech and Morocco.

We would go back to Dar Charkia (and Marrakech) in a heartbeat, and would recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BigGreen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

Our first time in Marrakech and we couldn’t have picked a more perfect place to stay. It was planned as a surprise trip to celebrate my husband’s birthday and the amount of help, time and effort put in by Lisa and her husband Michael in the way of suggestions and bookings prior to travelling really helped make this a fabulous break.

Dar Charkia is charming, atmospheric and very comfortable. In a great location – close to the medina, yet beautifully quiet and tranquil once inside, it has lovely rooms and a wonderful roof terrace where you can breakfast and laze.

We could not have been more warmly welcomed by Lisa, Michael and their delightful staff who went out of their way to make things run smoothly for us. Nothing was too much trouble – the informative and helpful briefing on arrival – all our trips and dinner reservations organised and booked (and rebooked) - Michael’s help in walking us round local sights – Lisa’s personal recommendations on where to shop - delicious breakfasts – making us feel so at home, yet giving us space and making us feel pampered – the list goes on.

We fell on our feet in booking at Dar Charkia and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wishing to visit magical Marrakech.

  • Liked — The welcome, comfort, breakfasts, decor, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SCDWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldwick, West Sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

Set within the old Medina area, Dar Charkia is perfectly positioned to allow guests to feel immediately 'at one' with the 'real' Marrakech, and is just a short walk to the souk, and most of the main 'tourist' attractions - a taxi is available within 100 metres. The Riad is quite delightful and superbly run and managed by the owners Lisa and Michael, and also their staff who are all very eager and willing to please and equally as able to advise both before your arrival, and during your stay. The Riad has been painstakingly renovated to create a tasteful combination of character and contemporary 'boutique' style, and offering six individually designed 'luxurious' rooms, light and airy, all with views overlooking the delightful courtyard. For those who want to relax in the sun, the large roof terrace, complete with a tent ( ! ) offers a breather from the frenetic bussle of the city, and for those wanting a television, radio or tea / coffee making facilities in your room - forget it, the rooms are sereenly peaceful, but with the staff always willing to provide for all of your requirements personally for you - 24 hours a day. The on-suite facilities are quite substantial, including the complimentary toiletries and bath robes. The beds are of high quality to ensure a good nights rest and sleep, with the early daily 'calling to prayer' making you feel that you are right in the heart of this mystic and magical city of Marrakech.

Breakfast is 'al fresco' in the courtyard, and something to really look forward too, with most of the produce being locally sourced. Lunch and dinner is also available - and to ensure freshness, 24 hours notice is kindly requested to ensure quality and variety of ingredients.

Dar Charkia also offers a cosy guest lounge, well stocked with books, magazines - and for those who need daily newspapers, they too are available as is broadband internet facilities for those who want to stay connected at all times.

Have never bothered to write a 'hotel review' before - but in this case, the owners Lisa and Michael were the prefect hosts - and to stay in Marrakech, and not at Dar Charkia would in our view be a real shame !

  • Liked — Location, and also the owners including all of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing !
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Timzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

We stayed at the Riad fo 5 days. In danger of repeating previous comments, we had a wondeful time.

Apart from the fantastic rooms, lovely sun terrace and chilled out ground floor, what made the Riad great was the help of Michael and Lisa (the owners).

Their helpful adivse was invaluable, and ensured that we made use of our 5 days their.

We arrived on the saturday, and needed to change some money. Michael took time out of his day to take me to a bank (in the modern town) on his motor bike - and for his troubles he got wet (it started to rain). But he stil had a smile on his face.

Lisa's dinners are worthy of a special mention (definitely book dinner in the Riad).

Very enjoyable stay, and would recommend it to anyone.

You'll even get the opportunity to listen to Micahels funky music collection!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travel1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

Dar Charkia was everything we hoped for - excellent service, friendly staff and warm hospitality from our hosts, Lisa and Michael. Nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed our shopping expeditions with them, they advised us where to eat and booked restaurants for us and we enjoyed a wonderful meal with Michael on our last evening. The Riad is absolutely beautiful, we hope to return soon.

Pat & Sopna.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktapLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

We stayed a few nights at Dar Charkia in early february, and we have definately found a new "home" in Marrakech! Perfect location, incredible service and a very nice, cosy and stylish atmosphere.

Dar Charkia is the perfect base for exploring the medina and also it is very easy to find. It feels like a calm, relaxing and clean part of the medina and convenient for taxis. The service is unmatched. The whole place is built around making the guests feel at home. If you have any questions, wishes, problems, worries...whatever... the owners and the staff will help you. For advice on where to shop, eat, visit - ask Lisa or Michael - they know where to go and not to go.

We had dinner at the riad the evening we arrived and the food was great. Authentic, homemade moroccan food with a twist. Also, the breakfast on the rooftop terrace is an experience.

There are so many riads in Marrakech that it is hard to choose. I am so happy that we ended up with booking Dar Charkia! We will be back. Alex, Katherine, Anne-Marie and Else.

  • Liked — The location and the service is just perfect.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DeSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#21 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#22 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#14 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#27 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#48 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing