We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #28 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Dar Charkia was everything we hoped for - excellent service, friendly staff and warm hospitality from our hosts, Lisa and Michael. Nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed our shopping expeditions with them, they advised us where to eat and booked restaurants for us and we enjoyed a wonderful meal with Michael on our last evening. The Riad is absolutely beautiful, we hope to return soon.

Pat & Sopna.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktapLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    58
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
182
639
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tønsberg
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

We stayed a few nights at Dar Charkia in early february, and we have definately found a new "home" in Marrakech! Perfect location, incredible service and a very nice, cosy and stylish atmosphere.

Dar Charkia is the perfect base for exploring the medina and also it is very easy to find. It feels like a calm, relaxing and clean part of the medina and convenient for taxis. The service is unmatched. The whole place is built around making the guests feel at home. If you have any questions, wishes, problems, worries...whatever... the owners and the staff will help you. For advice on where to shop, eat, visit - ask Lisa or Michael - they know where to go and not to go.

We had dinner at the riad the evening we arrived and the food was great. Authentic, homemade moroccan food with a twist. Also, the breakfast on the rooftop terrace is an experience.

There are so many riads in Marrakech that it is hard to choose. I am so happy that we ended up with booking Dar Charkia! We will be back. Alex, Katherine, Anne-Marie and Else.

  • Liked — The location and the service is just perfect.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DeSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Karen, Kim and mum Feb 18 2008
This Riad should soon be no 1... the owners Lisa and Michael are excellent hosts, there to advise but happy to be in the background if that is what you prefer. The welcome chat and advice given on the shopping and restaurants is superb and allows you to feel at home in Marrakesh from the moment you arrive, Lisa and Michael will also book the restaurants you wish, so all the hassles are removed. The absolutely stunning Riad is well positioned close to the souks and main square Jemma el Fna. The unassuming exterior gives way to an interior worthy of any desigh award, with attention to detail in every room.
The staff are excellent in every way, including going out of their way to purchase peppercorns for me to take home! at the local market at locals rates which was some considerable distance from the Riad.
The food at the Riad is excellent and worthy of a special mention.

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSTCaterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Just returned from a great weekend in Marrakesh where we stayed at the Dar Charkia.

Lisa and Michael made us feel like friends arriving for a weekend with them. There was great advice on what to see and the restaurants recommended were wonderfvul.

The Riad is perfect nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are individually styled, Take a look at the website and you will be impressed.

I would certainly recommend Dar Charkia to my closest friends and will be returning very soon with some of them.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank SurreyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We have just spent 4 wonderful days at the Riad Dar Charkia in Marrakech. Having arrived on the early Gatwick Easyjet flight on the Sunday we were welcomed by Lisa ( the owner ) who made us feel so welcome and relaxed. Lisa spent time explaining Marrakech which proved valuable so as to make the most of our 4 days. Prior to this Lisa and Michael had emailed us details of trips and restaurants so that we had time to plan and make the most of our time. Lisa and Michael had booked our chosen trips beforehand. Nothing was too much trouble for them to make our stay so wonderful. We had dinner cooked by Lisa on the first night , it was delicious. The Riad is perfect. Relaxing, clean and staffed by very friendly helpful staff. We never locked our door once and didnt even use the safe in the room as we felt so comfortable. The Souks were amazing , needless to say we got lost, despite the intense atmosphere we never felt threatened. The local people were happy and friendly. The Spa that Lisa recommends is a must. We did the day trip to the Atlas mountains, do not miss this. We have enjoyed many City breaks in Europe over the years. This is one City and one Riad we would definately return to. Lisa and Michael are perfect hosts.

  • Liked — The Hosts
  • Disliked — There was nothing we didnt like !
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank macrob7794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2008

Welcome to a fabulous dream…once here, you won’t wish to wake…this is Dar Charkia. Absolutely Fantastic, just like Lisa and Michael...Marrakech wouldn`t definetly be the same without them. The thorough and refined decoration, the comfort, the attention and hospitality of the owners, the excellent breakfast ... it is so many unforgettable things that make the compulsory return...

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank RFMELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2008

What a fabulous place. A small oasis of calm and tranquility in the middle of bustling Marrakesh. Nothing was too much trouble and Lisa and Michel are the perfect hosts. If you are looking to see the real Marrakesh but need luxury at the same time then this is the place to come.It far surpassed all of our expectations Our room was perfect a real fire at night (how romantic ) nothing was too much trouble .As this was our first trip to Marrakesh we could not have chosen a more perfect place..Trying to find time at the momment for our next vist .Hope it s not too long. We made new friends as well as found a gorgeous place to stay " Lucky us "

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank JONOJANEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#20 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#11 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#39 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing