We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Marrakech Experience”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #37 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Inverloch, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Marrakech Experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our family of 5 (2 adult children and a 9-year old) stayed in Dar Charkia for 3 nights in July. Dar Charkia was the perfect place to base ourselves for our first ever Moroccan experience. From the moment two local boys led us down the narrow twisty lane to the front door of Dar Charkia when we arrived at 1:00am, everything was perfect. My older girls loved the beautifully decorated rooms and how close we were to the excitment of the medina and Djemaa el Fna. Our 9-year old loved cooling off in the plunge pool as well as the scumptious breakfasts. But best of all my wife and I really appreciated the personal attention and guidance given by the owner Michael. The annotated map was really useful and Michael was happy to give us advice on the best shopping, restaurants and sights. Of course we still got lost in the souks and paid too much for some beautiful souvenirs we didn't really need.... but that is Marrakech! This was our first trip to Morocco so we can't compare it to other Riads, however I would certainly recommend Dar Charkia as a perfect place to stay. Great location, excellent rooms and friendly hosts... don't hesitate to book this excellent riad!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    59
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
182
641
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I chose to return to this riad because I loved it so much when I visited Marrakesh last year. The rooms are all lovely, have air conditioning and are beautifully clean. The staff are very helpful and Lisa and Michael, the owners, give a great overview of Marrakesh with a useful map. I had dinner in the riad the first evening and the food was excellent. The area around the riad is very safe and it is only a few minutes walk to the souks and the square. I would definitely recommend it and plan to return on my next visit to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenPatricia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This Riad is beautiful! The courtyard is delightful and the room we had overlooking the fountain and waiting pool was tastfully furnished. The staff was very warm and the service excellent. This riad is well located in the Medina. Very enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in the Sahara Suite for 3 nights in mid-July. It was a quiet period and we were the only guests for the final night experiencing fantastic and poor service during that time.

The good
- room was very clean and comfortable
- staff generally friendly and helpful
- excellent recommendations from the owners of places to visit/eat
- good warnings about street scammers in the information in the room

The not so good
- pool was very dirty on one evening (to the point my wife didn't want to go in)
- some rooms were being decorated and there was a really strong smell of paint for most of our stay
- we were a little late arriving (due to flight delays) and were greeted by a staff member desperate to leave for a wedding, resulting in a truncated and disjointed welcome
- some of the information in the room is out of date

The largest issue we had was when returning from our excursion to the mountains. We were shown to the door of the Riad and then told that someone would be along shortly. We found ourselves alone with the exception of the painters, who left after 30 minutes. It took another 30 minutes for any of the other staff members to arrive, but he then proved difficult to find when we wanted assistance. Given the locked front door we were unable to venture out during this time and as we were not given our room key had we not found it ourselves we would not have been able to access our room.

When the owners contacted us to say thanks for our stay we explained what had happened and they offered us a refund, which was unexpected and generous of them.

Given the reviews and comments on this site we were left disappointed by our experience and would have rated it a 3.5 if that was an option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zathras777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

First impressions of Dar Charkia did not disappoint. After trawling through Trip advisor and scouring the internet for a good but affordable Riad, Dar Charkia was our number one choice. The property itself was beautiful and ideally located, with well furnished and spotlessly clean rooms.

The owners (Lisa and Michael) were brilliant, extremely helpful - full of information and ideas to make our first trip to Morocco a success. The staff were also lovely, and were always willing to get what you needed. The only quibble I'd have is that the beds were hard - but that is simply a personal preference and no reflection on Dar Charkia itself.

We would definitely return, and I'll happily highly recommend the Riad to all.

Room Tip: The room on the lower floor was a little more comfortable as the air con worked better, though the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It is not often that I want to return to same accommodation twice, not because of poor standards of service, but because my sense of adventure and discovery keep me intrigued enough to want to discover all things new.

Dar Charkia however is the exception. From the moment we arrived the service was incredibly warm, friendly and completely tailored to our interests and needs. The owners, Lisa and Michael, proudly conducted their comprehensively accurate welcome brief, which included a carefully choreographed map of Lisa’s hand-written tips that illustrated the best of Marrakech. This proved to be essential when trying to resiliently navigate the busy Moroccan streets, embrace the hard-sell and pin point one of Lisa’s references towards a ‘decent loo’.

Until now, I had underestimated the true meaning of the word Riad. But returning to the tranquillity and serenity of the Dar Charkia, with its gentle courtyard of soothing water features and perfectly presented décor, seemed irresistible. Especially when, the cool waters of the plunge pool and a fresh mint tea await your return. For those that need to keep connected, complimentary WIFI is available in the main areas of the Riad.

The effortless walk from the central courtyard to one of the accommodation’s six bedrooms takes you past some impressive works of local art and perfectly acquired artefacts. Our guest room boasted boutique-style design and comfort with an incredible attention to detail and palatial looking bathrooms. The comfortable beds, air conditioning and no in-room TV, created the ideal setting for relaxation and rejuvenation, before a hard days sightseeing and haggling.

By night our accommodation offered a wonderful vantage point to peer from the roof terrace and cabana, across the assortment of sand coloured rooftops. The indiscriminate sounds of call-to-prayer from distant Mosques echoed beautifully under the star-lit sky, as Marrakech by night awaits.

Breakfast was always a beautifully presented selection of Moroccan and French treats, available at any time throughout the morning and a perfect start to the day. The fact that our hosts and their staff went to great lengths to accommodate even the fussiest of palates, dietary requirements and requests, meant that we felt even more special.

By far, the Dar Charkia is on my wish list to return to and with the announcement of daily direct flight with British Airways to Marrakech from Gatwick winter 2012, there has never been a better time to head to the Souks and choose the Dar Charkia as your little ‘Oasis’. The only question is, who will you invite to share the accommodation with?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoorOneLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just stayed in the Dar Charkia, what a fabulous place. You can take breakfast at whatever time suits you so no problems with a lay in.
We booked dinner on arrival and it was delicious.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike1966_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
1,220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 500 in Marrakech
478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 500 in Marrakech
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing