We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Moroccan Riad”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #37 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical Moroccan Riad”
Reviewed January 28, 2008

We have just returned from a fabulous 3 night stay at the Dar Charkia. We were welcomed by the hosts, Lisa and Michael, who went out of their way to make our stay very special. If this is your first visit to Marrakech then Lisa and Michael are on hand to help with everything. What is more, their riad is the perfect oasis of calm after bartering in the Souks and Michael mixes a great G & T to round off the day. Lunches and dinners can be pre-ordered and we enjoyed a truly delicious meal overlooking the beautiful candle-lit courtyard and pool on our first night in Marrakech. Breakfast is excellent and is served at your leisure on the spacious rooftop terrace. Our room was beautifully appointed with finishing touches worthy of a 5-star hotel. We loved every moment spent in this magical riad and are already planning our return. Stuart and Tracy - Cambridge

  • Liked — Magical atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TahSib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    59
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
182
641
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2008

If you're trying to decide which riad to book, choose Dar Charkia. Have just returned from a memorable visit. For location (the old medina), standard of accommodation (impeccable), atmosphere, decor, food and last, but by no means least, the charm and kindness of the staff and Dar Charkia's owners Michael and Lisa, you won't do better. For guidance on where to go and what to see, you'll get all the assistance you need. These people really know the meaning of personal service - nothing is too much trouble. After a day out, its a real pleasure to return to a warm welcome and the calm and relaxed ambience of this delightful riad. Highly recommended all round.

  • Liked — Whole experience - friendly feel plus great standard of accommodation & personal service
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, uk
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2008

lisa and michael run the riad dar charkia which is tucked away on one of those fascinating back streets. the accommodation is wonderful, the service was great and the staff friendly and helpful. the food was excellent, breakfasts were wonderful taken on the terrace rooftop and dinner, order in advance, was one of the best i had in marrakech. great location for those that want to stay in downtown marrakech but also 50 yards from a taxi rank and near the old palace.

  • Liked — style, modern and traditional with great atmosphere
  • Disliked — little pool in lounge not heated - but in truth i did not ask
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zandrasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2008

A beautifully designed, hospitable and peaceful Riad. Michael (who was home alone) was a charming and informative host with so much knowledge about the region . The location is ideal for wandering everywhere, 10mins to the bustle of the souks and Jemaa-el-Fna and a min or two from an interesting and more local shopping street with all the sights, sounds and smells you come looking for! A perfect few days , Thankyou.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank angel071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Visited Morocco for the first time and was recommended Dar Charkia. It was beyond my expectations. The riad was spotless, the staff excellent and Lisa and Michael the owners particularly helpful. I never expected it to be so hot in January. Breakfast every morning on the roof terrace in the sun. With Lisa's help I got some wonderful bargains, visited great restaurants and wonderful night life. With Lisa's guidance, I managed to bargain and get the best deals throughout. I spent 3 nights and would recommend it to anyone. Julia Sibun

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank dottyjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2008

Highly Recommended! My boyfriend and I stayed at Dar Charkia recently on our first trip to Morocco. We are two very picky travelers with discerning tastes, as we travel every week all over the world for our jobs. So we were quite surprised that Dar Charkia exceeded all of our expectations!! Lisa, Michael, their daughter Leonora and their lovely staff made our stay very memorable. Arriving at the Riad, we were so warmly welcomed! it was such a lovely cool contrast to the madness outside. I was very impressed with how beautifully decorated the entire riad is, such a cozy and relaxing atmosphere... it was so great to be able to chill out in such a quiet oasis in such an intense city. Every detail about the riad from the candles all around in the evening to the beautiful morroccan music was just perfect. When we arrived, Lisa offered us some lovely mint tea and gave us a very detailed orientation, complete with maps and guidebooks. This was a very sweet touch, it made us feel very welcome and it was so great not to have to figure everything out ourselves as we were only there for 3 nights. We were also given the low down on how to barter in the souks and how much to give to taxi drivers and such, things we were really glad to know! We stayed in the biggest room (Douria suite) and the bed was so lovely and comfortable (I'd like to know where I could get that snuggly velvet bedspread from!), I had three very peaceful nights sleep -- except for the extremely loud call for prayer at 6am one night!. My only criticism was that the room got quite chilly at night, but Abdu sorted that out by building us a fire in the fireplace. The staff were just amazing-- so attentive and sweet!! Each morning as soon as we got up, Samira served us the yummiest morroccan breakfast on the roof terrace. I highly recommend eating dinner at Dar Charkia as it was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech (may I suggest the lamb tagine and coriander pancakes). The meals are Moroccan and home-made with fresh ingredients and Lisa makes the delicious apple crumbles herself. Before you leave don't forget to ask Lisa to show you the semi-precious Jewelry she has for sale, I made a few purchases that I'm very proud of!
We were so pleased to have found such a wonderful place to stay on our first visit to Marrakech and we hope to be returning very soon!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The dark alleyways at night getting to the riad, but the neighborhood is quite safe
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scarlettini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We arrived to Marrakesh later then expected due to our flight being delayed and was greeted with rain. However once we entered Dar Charkia everything changed. We had a very warm welcome from Micheal and Lisa who immediately served us drinks and snacks and gave us some very useful information. Lisa had taken it on herself to book us into a resturant that night which was a truely unforgetable evening, fantastic food ,entertainment and lovely surroundings. Lisa recommended many resturants to us all of which where excellent. Lisa also arranged cars for us to visit the Atlas moutains. We stayed at the raid during Christmas and Lisa and Micheal put on a wonderful evening of fab food and entertainment a good time was had by all. Lisa did all the resturant bookings for us as well as booking us a spa on christmas day which was wonderfully. Micheal kindly gave up time to take my husband around the souks on the back of his moped and he really enjoyed talking with him. Dar Charkia is a beautiful raid decorated very tastefully, we were two families travelling together so we took 4 of the rooms and felt very much at home, after retuning from dinner in the evenings we would sit and play cards, listen to music as if at home. All the staff were wonderful and our 4 daughters took quite a liking to abdul. We would highly recommend Dar Charkia and hope some day we can return.
Thanks to Micheal, Lisa and all the staff at Dar Charkia (mary, imroz, menai, rhea, rubin)

  • Liked — beautiful, homely, relaxing
  • Disliked — waking up by pray call
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank llanedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
1,220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 500 in Marrakech
478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 500 in Marrakech
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing