We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Relaxing oasis...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #15 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing oasis...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Spent our honeymoon here. Fantastic rooms with great, friendly service. Perfect location to relax and soak up the atmosphere of Marrakech from the roof terrace with a G&T!
Could not fault the hotel or the staff and were made to feel like we were the only guests staying there. Perfect.
Wish we could have run into Lisa and Michael, but their suggestion list of places to visit in our room was very helpful and the restaurants they booked for us in advance of our stay were exceptional.
Would recommend to anyone and the only place we would consider staying next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iscah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    48
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
176
629
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I've ALWAYS wanted to go to Morocco. For my 26th. birthday, my aunt, Lisa booked us a trip to Marrakesh. Although my birthday was in January, we went in early March. Dar Charkia is probably one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Everything from the decorations, to the staff, to the trees, to the sequined shower caps are amazing! They arrange for you to be picked up from the airport, you have a walking tour with Najib (who is very quiet and reserved but also friendly and informative). Lisa and Michael are amazing as well, so are Rasheed, Salema and just everyone that works there really. Be sure to read the tips in the booklet in your room, they include everything from places to see, restaurants, recommended prices, etc. The pictures you see online are exactly what you will see at the hostel. All in all, this was the BEST part of my trip and I recommend that you stay there if you want to feel comfortable, relaxed and welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sa'ada (which I'm probably going to name my daughter if I ever have one) and Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaliA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

From the moment I arrived at Dar Charkia - i knew I was in paradise. I arrived mid morning and was offered a full breakfast, despite not staying the previous night. The staff are incredibly friendly and are happy to attend to any of your needs. Lisa and Michael the owners are so beautiful, warm and special and you feel like you are almost family, nothing is too much trouble. Lisa provided me with an indepth map where she personally adds every great restaurant, shop, sights- a real personal touch.

Dar Charkia itself is an oasis in the middle of Marrakech, yet in walking distance distance to the chaotic markets and souks. Each room individually styled, incredible roof top terrace, a small pool which is great for cooling off on a hot summers day and the entire decor is stylish yet very comfortable.

Breakfast was incredible, and i could not recommend this place enough- location, decor food and most importantly the people make this place very special

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Well lets start with the good..........
Lisa(out of town) Michael was a wealth of knowledge ..restaurants,arranging hammams, arranging people to direct us around city,. Introducing me to the local barber with the cut throat knife was an interesting twist..........as somebody else said nothing was too much trouble....

Now the bad...........there wasnt anything that fell into this category........
Danke Michael

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abehey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This was my first trip to Morocco and Marrakech was the first stop. Lisa was able to quickly answer any questions I had by email before we set off from Hong Kong - from immigration and airport pick-ups to restaurant bookings and tipping.

Dar Charkia is a beautiful and friendly riad in a fantastic location in the medina where you are instantly made to feel welcome by all of the staff. The rooms are large, clean and tastefully decorated, with fantastic hot showers and amenities.

Relaxing with a G&T before heading out to dinner became a nightly ritual. Home-cooked breakfasts varied each day and Lisa and Michael took care of all our bookings (including a driver for a fantastic day trip over the Atlas Mountains to the kasbah at Ait Benhaddhou).

I would highly recommend Dar Charkia!

Cheers
Andrew

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Malia and Douria rooms - both were lovely but the Douria was the better of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This Riad is a tranquil jewel in the heart of Marrakech. Lisa's recommendations and map were invaluable. Najib, our recommended guide was brilliant and the staff at Dar Charkia were just lovely, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a treat to start the day and the rooms were beautiful. We both want to return ... soon!

Room Tip: Our room was the smallest, but still perfect. The other rooms all looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHilt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This the second time I have visited Dar Cahrkia;the first time 3 years ago..and the experience was exactly the same..Their standards are just as good now.I wouldnt want to visit marrakech unless I could rely on Lisas and Michaels help..as it can be a little scary...They helped us pack in as much as possible on our short stay..so no bad experiences..i am a discerning traveller and my standards are high..The riad is amazing value for money..an oasis..We had the help of a guide;romantic dinners,and a full day in the mountains..everything organised ahead by Lisa and Michael..They seem to have everything at their fingertips..
We stayed in their suite;which was so special..Although i have visited many other riads and hotels in Marrakech.I would stay in Dar Charkia every time..

Room Tip: the suite is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvonne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#13 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing