We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Riad for a Morrocan getaway”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #36 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A perfect Riad for a Morrocan getaway”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We've just returned from a 4 night stay at Dar Charkia and it was everything we could have wished for. It really is an oasis of calm and tranquillity amid the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

Dar Charkia is a beautifully decorated riad situated to the northwest of the Souks and Jemaa El Fna (main square) and both are around a 10 minute leisurely walk away. We were upgraded to the suite on the first floor of the riad which is tastefully decorated with all things Morocco - beautiful carpets, artwork, ornaments and furniture. Lisa and Michael have done a superb job in blending Moroccan tradition with modern convenience. The room was spotlessly clean and very quiet which was welcome after the non stop action of Marrakech.

We arranged a transfer to and from the airport which was totally hassle free and costs 150dh each way. The driver was waiting for us in the airport when we arrived and took us straight to the district where the riad is situated and from there it's a 2 minute walk. Rashid, one of the staff, was waiting for us and took our bags for us. Rashid was particularly helpful in grabbing some food for us as we arrived quite late. All the staff for that matter were superb.

On the first morning Michael gave us an annotated map of the best places to see during our brief visit. He recommended some truly superb restaurants and bars for lunch and dinner, the standout venue for us being Lotus Privelege which is another riad some 5 minutes walk from Dar Charkia. Dinner here is an absolute must. It's amazing.

We also had a 3 course dinner at Dar Charkia and again this was excellent. There is a very tranquil ambience about the place and the service was spot on. Very romantic.

So we have no reservations in giving Dar Charkia yet another 5 star review. You can't go wrong with this place and we will be recommending it to everyone who asks where we think is the best place to stay for an authentic slice of Morroccan life.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelpiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    60
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
185
642
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Thank you LISA and MICHAEL for being such wonderful hosts to us... !
The advices given upon our arrival turn out to be extremely helpful with regards to what to do and where to go. Marrakech is a busy city with lots of hidden gems, and Dar Charkia is one of them. Homy and unpretentious, the riad is beautifully decorated with an eye for every single detail. We would love to come back again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puffin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My daughter and I are just back from a 3 day stay at this lovely riad. The staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful, as was Lisa (one of the owners) who provided us with a map of the Medina, marked very usefully with various recommended cafes, restaurants and shops. One night we ate at the riad and the food was superb, another night at a restaurant which was booked for us. The rooms are comfortable and charming as is the whole riad - a tranquil oasis in the midst of the Medina!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ph0ebeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is the perfect place to stay in Marrekesh. The location is so easy you can walk to everything. The owner and their staff are some of the most accomodating I have ever seen. Upon our depart they were worried my luggage was over weight so they brought out a hand held scale and helped me balance the weight between my suitcases so I wouldn't have to pay extra or pull all my belongings out at the airport. They had wonderful recommendations for everything especial dining. They have a beautiful roof top patio that was perfect to relax at the end of the day or in the morning to have breakfast. The accomodations were perfect my 3 kids could have their own room right next to ours. Hard to find places willing to put 3 in a room. Thank you for the best time in Marrekesh we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hambleden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Dar Charkia is conveniently situated on the edge of the Medina, it is a tranquil haven from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The owners and staff could not have been more hospitable, helpful and kind, making us feel very welcome indeed. Wether it was organising dinner in or out or taking us on some great shopping trips, we had a terrific holiday and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Anne_Hambleden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This was my second visit, this time with my wife, and just like last time it was outstanding. Michael, Lisa, and their whole staff are so attentive and make sure that everything is sorted out making for a worry free trip. Our transportation to and from the airport was arranged as was each of our evening meals. The recommendation which were provided were outstanding and take the guess work out of the stay. I highly recommend this place and look forward to a repeat visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Dar Charkia is really excellently placed in the old part of Marrakech. Key sights, shopping, spa's and restaurants are within comfortable walking distance and a very nearby taxi "hot-spot" gives ease of access to anything outside the Medina - I really liked this aspect as I could easily combine my business undertakings with my desire to also experience Marrakech. The place I felt was really excellent - nicely tucked away down a few dwindling alleys and inside a real oasis of calm, design and beauty. Both communal areas and my room were really inspiring and carried, it seemed, the hosts passion for Morocco. Michael & Lisa were really personable and attentive hosts and ensured that from arrival to departure things were working very smoothly. What I found particularly helpful being new in a bustling place where I do not speak the language was the advice on Marrakech offered in both maps and discussions - where to go, what to do, what to avoid. Breakfast was nothing short of superb, and varied slightly from day to day. Staff was overall very helpful, friendly and trustworthy. I have no reference points in Marrakech but would not hesitate to advice anyone to stay in this great Riad!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlofT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#26 of 499 in Marrakech
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#23 of 499 in Marrakech
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 499 in Marrakech
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 499 in Marrakech
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing