We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly a home away from home!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #11 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“truly a home away from home!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Thank you LISA and MICHAEL for being such wonderful hosts to us... !
The advices given upon our arrival turn out to be extremely helpful with regards to what to do and where to go. Marrakech is a busy city with lots of hidden gems, and Dar Charkia is one of them. Homy and unpretentious, the riad is beautifully decorated with an eye for every single detail. We would love to come back again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puffin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    47
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
176
628
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My daughter and I are just back from a 3 day stay at this lovely riad. The staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful, as was Lisa (one of the owners) who provided us with a map of the Medina, marked very usefully with various recommended cafes, restaurants and shops. One night we ate at the riad and the food was superb, another night at a restaurant which was booked for us. The rooms are comfortable and charming as is the whole riad - a tranquil oasis in the midst of the Medina!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ph0ebeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is the perfect place to stay in Marrekesh. The location is so easy you can walk to everything. The owner and their staff are some of the most accomodating I have ever seen. Upon our depart they were worried my luggage was over weight so they brought out a hand held scale and helped me balance the weight between my suitcases so I wouldn't have to pay extra or pull all my belongings out at the airport. They had wonderful recommendations for everything especial dining. They have a beautiful roof top patio that was perfect to relax at the end of the day or in the morning to have breakfast. The accomodations were perfect my 3 kids could have their own room right next to ours. Hard to find places willing to put 3 in a room. Thank you for the best time in Marrekesh we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hambleden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Dar Charkia is conveniently situated on the edge of the Medina, it is a tranquil haven from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The owners and staff could not have been more hospitable, helpful and kind, making us feel very welcome indeed. Wether it was organising dinner in or out or taking us on some great shopping trips, we had a terrific holiday and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Anne_Hambleden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This was my second visit, this time with my wife, and just like last time it was outstanding. Michael, Lisa, and their whole staff are so attentive and make sure that everything is sorted out making for a worry free trip. Our transportation to and from the airport was arranged as was each of our evening meals. The recommendation which were provided were outstanding and take the guess work out of the stay. I highly recommend this place and look forward to a repeat visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Dar Charkia is really excellently placed in the old part of Marrakech. Key sights, shopping, spa's and restaurants are within comfortable walking distance and a very nearby taxi "hot-spot" gives ease of access to anything outside the Medina - I really liked this aspect as I could easily combine my business undertakings with my desire to also experience Marrakech. The place I felt was really excellent - nicely tucked away down a few dwindling alleys and inside a real oasis of calm, design and beauty. Both communal areas and my room were really inspiring and carried, it seemed, the hosts passion for Morocco. Michael & Lisa were really personable and attentive hosts and ensured that from arrival to departure things were working very smoothly. What I found particularly helpful being new in a bustling place where I do not speak the language was the advice on Marrakech offered in both maps and discussions - where to go, what to do, what to avoid. Breakfast was nothing short of superb, and varied slightly from day to day. Staff was overall very helpful, friendly and trustworthy. I have no reference points in Marrakech but would not hesitate to advice anyone to stay in this great Riad!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlofT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This riad is truly gorgeous, beautiful decor and very welcoming staff who cant do enough for you, great service in an amazing setting!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katem082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing