We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and welcoming riad.”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #32 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2011

My wife and I immensely enjoyed our stay at Riad Dar Charkia. All of the staff, particularly Samira & Rasheed, were very accommodating to all of our needs. We were even offered a free upgrade to the suite without any additional expense.

I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone who plans to stay in Marrakech, near the Medina.

-Rodney

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKearnsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Dar Charkia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

A wonderful week exceeding all our expectations which started with the warmest and most welcome on arrival.

The peaceful courtyard
The deilicious breakfasts
The personalised, hand noted map
The tasteful decoration, paintings and art
The suggested places to visit
The advice on where to eat
The most obliging and accommodating team of staff who answered our needs with lovely smiles

A Riad of superb taste in the Old Town .

Peter & Gill Watson of Ingleby, Derbyshire UK

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetersGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Upon arriving at Dar Charkia we found welcoming and attentive staff. Lisa, the owner gave us some helpful tips and directions about the city. The staff were attentive and friendly and the food was fantastic.
I personally didn't sleep in the hotel, I was in one just down the road. But my family had booked out the whole place and not one of them had a negative thing to say about it.
I would highely recommend the Dar Charkia

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
Thank AlasdairH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed with extended family for my mothers 80th birthday treat so we had the whole of the riad to ourselves (and another one a few doors away). Suited us perfectly. Room for people to find their own space but be together if they wanted. We had a couple of pre-planned evening meals at Dar Charkia and the food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and Lisa (owner) was so helpful in organising an itinerary beforehand for the whole week which allowed us to savour the flavours of Morrocco but also feel like we had enjoyed a holiday and kept 18 members of the family aged from 12-80 happy! The bedrooms were beautifully furnished and Dar Charkia really is an oasis in the centre of Marrakesh. Lovely memories.for us all and thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Check out Dar Charkia website - book room by name
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah-Emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Having recently stayed at Dar Charkia I can only say good things about this place. It was everything and more that what I had expected. It is an oasis from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets of Marrakech.

The food was the best we had while staying in the city and the staff's service is second to none. I went with all my family and they all have the same opinion if I was going to Marrakech again I wouldnt stay anywhere else.

Thankyou Dar Charkia!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilySyphas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

After being recommended Dar Charkia by my sister, i travelled to Marrakesh in April.
I had only seen the place in pictures but they don't do it justice!
The layout and decor are superb, with lovely touches and nooks and crannies to relax in.
Michael and Lisa are charming hosts, seeing that your every need is catered for, arranging anything you care to enjoy from trips to restaurants etc, making Marrakesh a much easier place to enjoy.
Their staff are also extremely friendly and attentive, happy to help with your every need.
The location, once you get you bearings is only a short walk to many of the attractions of the medina, including the souks and main square.
All in all, a terrific place to stay, i couldn't fault it!

Room Tip: The roof terrace, so relaxing!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie-h-1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My husband took me to stay at this riad as a surprise birthday present and it was AMAZING! We arrived late at night and we were able to pre-order our dinner that was served to us in the little courtyard which saved the trouble of finding somewhere to eat straight away (the food was delicious by the way). The riad and its rooms are absolutely beautiful with wonderful decoration and attention to detail and we felt at home straight away. We particularly loved that you can have breakfast whatever time you get up in the morning - a nice touch not found elsewhere - and the breakfast was delicious!

Lisa and Michael the owners were so helpful and pointed out the best places to eat, drink and shop which was so useful. They also made restaurant reservations for us. Michael also recommended a great barber who gave my husband the best shave he's ever had.

The location of the riad couldn't be better, only a couple of minutes walk to the souks and 10 minutes to the main square - it means that you can go out and experience the madness of Marrakech but you can quickly get back to to the peacefulness and luxury of the riad if it gets too much! Everyone was so helpful it really made our holiday easy and relaxing for us and we wouldn't hesitate to go back there again.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank benzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#37 of 502 in Marrakech
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $107 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing