We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Riad- interesting location..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Darna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Darna
Ranked #980 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad- interesting location..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Upon arriving at the Riad, we were so grateful that we got the airport transfer. Getting there would have been extremely difficult, with all the twists and turns, carts and donkeys of the Old City. The riad is not labled or marked, so it can be difficult to find. It is also in a small alleyway where you have to ring the bell.
Staying in the old city is an interesting experience, and uncomfortable for a woman. Locals are constantly pestering for money and telling you INCORRECT directions to everything, trying to get you lost. The walk to the "Big Square" as they called it was not as easy as stated, but we managed to get to it and navigate back despite all the shouting of incorrect directions.

Once inside the riad, its a whole different story. Its beautiful and clean and the service is excellent. VERY good breakfast, served on the rooftop terrace! The staff was very eager to make hammam and dinner reservations for us, and give us tips around the city.

I don't recommend that a woman should stay here alone. But couples who feel comfortable in different worldly areas (speaking French helps!!) then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjlovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    27
    3
    4
    7
See reviews for
9
63
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We ultimately had a lovely stay in the Riad Darna, language difficulty aside (one staff member did not speak any English and kept attempting to communicate with us in French, although we do not speak any French), but we had booked into the Terrace Room for our stay which looks lovely on the website, but is not as it appears. It is indeed very nicely painted inside, but is a small, windowless, hot, stuffy room on the roof of the Riad - with unattached toilet in another room on the other side of the Terrace. It was pretty frustrating to spend about $60 to end up in exactly the uncomfortable yet cheap hostel situation I'd worked so hard to avoid through my research! Luckily, many guests departed the next day and so we were moved to a much better room and the staff graciously offered us that night at the same rate as the Terrace.

Again, the Riad is lovely and the staff is lovely, but it is definitely "off-off" the main square Djemma al-Fna or "La Place" as everyone calls it. It was pretty unnerving to arrive the back way at night and twist through the alleys, and to be honest, did not get much more comfortable when we navigated our way back after dark. There is no signage of the Riad on the road it is off of, so it's very easy to miss. You absolutely need to have them meet you somewhere and take you there the first time. I would not necessarily recommend this to women travelers due to the location, but for those who are more confident (or speak French), perhaps not such an issue. Because of the location, I could not truly recommend a friend stay somewhere I felt uncomfortable every time I returned, but the Riad is lovely and I'm sure plenty of others will disagree with me!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WEATraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We were looking for a very authentic-style riad and Riad Darna did not disappoint !
Choosing accommodation is not easy in Marrakech, with the overwhelming options available in the Medina, but we found it here at the Riad Darna !

Though the riad was sometimes challenging to find, as almost anything in the Medina, we became accustomed to finding our way around. The staff were so incredibly warm and friendly during our entire stay of 6 nights. They catered to us with the service you'd find in a 5-star hotel- exceptional ! The rooms all had a different feel with each having a different motive. Loved the breakfast on the cute rooftop terrace with FRESH orange juice !
It's a quiet, cozy, relaxing riad to call home after each day.

* (Especially liked the option of the 'free' airport transfer that Riad Darna provided. But the porter that carried our 2 small hand bags to the actual door asked for money both times, once asking for more of a tip. A thank you would have been nice to hear. But in Marrakech, this action is seeming to be the norm as more and more tourists visit.)

Thanks to all the staff at the riad for the wonderful experience!
Darrell
FYI to all....gay-friendly !!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlpreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

After reading many reviews on Tripadvisor, I went with the well priced and located Riad Darna and opted for the "Green Room". I arranged a transfer from the airport (highly recommended - the fee was added to final bill) and as our flight was in the evening, it was a little daunting arriving in darkness with streets full of pedestrians, mopeds and cars wrestling for space! The taxi stopped 5 minutes walk away from the Riad, as it was unable to get down the narrow passageways, but a boy was waiting to carry our bags and walk us to the Riad.
On arrival, we were really impressed with the decor of the Riad - a courtyard with rooms around it. What was most impressive was the roof terrace which is where breakfast was served each morning and dinner (on request) in the evening. The roof terrace had great views around where the different Mosque towers could be seen.
Our room had a sofa, double wardrobe, drawers, raised double bed and a bathroom - decorated beautifully. As a traditional Riad, some may be concerned with privacy - this was not an issue to us, but ease of hearing others (not seeing!) could be off putting to some people, though as I say, I imagine that this is typical of a Riad. Further to this, no door to separate the bathroom and bedroom (in our room a curtain) may be an issue to some, but certainly was not to us.
Food and drink was excellent throughout our stay - alcohol was obviously hard to find out and about, so wine on the roof terrace was well enjoyed at night!
The service and friendliness of the staff was superb. Yosef only spoke French and Spanish, but was very patient with us and we got by. Layla spoke some English and recommended restaurants as well as booking us on a trip which included walking up the Atlas Mountains.
As mentioned on other reviews, there are a maze of alleyways and no signs to help you out, but once we worked our route to the main square (Djemaa el-Fna) 5 minutes walk, we were fine. On the one occasion where we were unsure, one of the many offers to help by pedestrians (for a tip!!) were over-keen to help!
We would happily have stayed longer here and my wife would have happily have filled another suitcase with purchases from the many market stalls through every passageway we walked!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jervisolidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

This lovely little riad in the center of the old town (Medina) is a really good stay in Marrakesh. The staff is super friendly and will help you with anything from booking a hammam, making you dinner to offer you mint tea.
The riad is located only 5-10min from the Djemaa el-Fna plaza and the staff will provide you with a map and/or show you the way the first time.

I really recomend to take the transfer-service from the airport, because there are no signs to the riad and you can't find it without knowing where it is. Off course the transfer is more expencive than a taxi.

Some comments have been about the staff only speaking arabian or french. That's not really the case; one of the sisters that work at the riad also speaks english and the other one spanish.

The only thing I can complain about is that I thought that the bed was a bit hard (we stayed in the red room).
I must also say, that the room is really really quiet during night and it is a perfect spot to relax.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We enjoyed our stay there. The staff although speak little english, very helpful and friendly. The riad is very pretty, central (10min walk through the souk to the square) but hidden. Although very overpriced (150dh as opposed to 65dh by petit taxi), it is advisable to ask the riad to pick you up from the airport. you will not be able to find it yourself. We took the patio room. It was clean and very nicely decorated YET with little privacy as it was right next to the common room. and could get quite noisy when people is having dinner outside. there were orange juice, mint tea, coffee, tea and bread for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xdorax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

This was our first visit to Marrakech and I'm glad we chose Riad Darna. The owner and the Moroccan staff really went the extra mile to help us - restaurant selection, sightseeing options, even buying tape on the last day to help us pack. The food at the Riad is also highly recommended - we'll never forget Valentine's dinner with the five couples staying at the Riad!...
We suggest everyone to take the transfer on the first day, since it is very tough to find the Riad alone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonyPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#99 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#138 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,391 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Darna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Darna

Property: Riad Darna
Address: 2 Derb Boucetta Sirgh Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #980 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Darna 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Darna: " our house " Placed right in the heart of the Medina (old town of Marrakesh), this Riad benefits from an exceptional geographical situation. On one hand in two minutes on foot of the museum of Marrakesh, rich in culture and in traditional art, near Medersa Ben-Youssef ( Koranic school), near library guard of the former(ancient) papers. His(Her) owners live there all year long. Riad Darna ( our house) is hosts' house of big comfort, he wants to be a harbour of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Darna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Darna Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing