We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“You get what you pay for!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amalay Hotel Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amalay Hotel Marrakech to your Saves list
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Bd Mohamed V, Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #460 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

30 minute walk to the souks, not 10/20 as they have mentioned! the hotel itself is a bit out of date, but for the price we could not complain. staff were friendly, cleaners clean the room everyday, there was only one remote to share for the AC for the whole hotel! for your t.v remote you have to ask the reception for one.

BREAKFAST....where do I start from!!!! 1 piece of bread, 1 dried chocolate croissant, 1 small sachet of butter and 1 small sachet of apricot jam...if you feel brave then ONLY ask for extra butter or jam, if looks could kill, me and my partner would have been dead over and over again!!
1 small glass of orange juice, and either tea or coffee, that is what we got during the full stay of our holiday for breakfast.
We bought coffee from outside to take to our room, I got shouted at for not using their restaurant downstairs. The lift can JUST ABOUT fit 2 people and 1 suitcase. The water temperature in the room was good. The wall socket (1) in the room was hanging loose. The bedding was OK.
To have the heating on or off you have to ring reception. They took our passport off us and left them behind the desk, on few occasions we walked in and the reception desk was unattended, we had no choice but to ask for our passports back.
If you were using the stairs to go up you have to switch the lights on yourself. The balcony doors had no locks on them. Nothing went missing from our room though.
No unexpected guests was seen (ants, cockroaches,). No hairdryers in the room, and no pool in the hotel!!
There was only 1 lift in the whole hotel. Overall we would rate this hotel 5/10, as mentioned in our title above YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    33
    14
    19
See reviews for
17
39
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 double rooms in advance for us and my partner's parents and got 2 single rooms instead. Our room stank of cigarettes despite booking a non smoking room. To get rid of the smell we tried to air the room by opening the balcony window but the close proximity of the busy road made the room stinkier with car fumes and also made it incredibly noisy. The sheets were clean but the bathroom was dirty. There were shower gel marks in the bathtub, hair on the floor and dirty toilet seat. There were no English tv channels and there was a safe in the wardrobe that could be used after paying additional 3 pounds! Also, we were requested, by a rude receptionist, to leave our passports in the reception which we didn't like. Breakfast next day consisted of bread, jam and coffee which was plain and not worth the money. Overall we found this place horrible and would not recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EwaPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Good points: Lots of hot water. Reasonably priced restaurant. Handy for taxi to Djemma el Fna, train station and airport. Fairly clean.
Bad points: If you asked for a non-smoking room when you booked, the staff probably won't take any notice and will be dismissive when you complain.
Ill fitting plug (or no plug at all) will mean that you need to use about three bathfuls of hot water per bath.
Some rooms will have tv remote (and you may even find the chambermaid lying IN one of the beds, watching tv when you arrive a bit early) or no remote at all. In the latter case you will need to ask at the reception desk and you may find the receptionist is quite irritated when you ask why some rooms have remotes IN the room and others don't.
The worst thing about this hotel is the off-hand and unhelpful attitude of the reception staff, (such a contrast to every other hotel we stayed in during our trip) the only one who was at all welcoming was the one who wanted to sell a trip to a fantasia. Yes, only three star but all the points I have made, would cost little or nothing to rectify. Go elsewhere. We won't stay there again.
PS lots of traffic noise day and night - you may need ear plugs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Its worth for the nice price. Very good location, close to the gare of Marrakech. Good staff, especially the guy who stays there on afternoons, but caress of better acommodations. When I arrived there, they didnt have the confirmation I'd paid in advance. But they solved the problem on the day I checked out, which is important to state. You can find better places to stay, however.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViniciusAlvarenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I, both 60 and fairly seasoned travelers have just returned from a 4 night break based in the Amalay. Before we went we read the feedback and were quite concerned. HOWEVER
It's a 3* hotel and that's what we got.
> it was clean and comfortable with loads of hot water
>staff were very friendly and helpful
>located at the junction of 3 main boulevards we were offered a choice of a "Quiet" room at the back or one with a view at the front overlooking the junction. We opted for a "room with a view" and sat on the balcony waching the traffic - in Marrakesh that is a hair raising sight - with the window closed even my wife, a light sleeper, had no problems.
>again location; at the heart of the new city - vibrant and "buzzing" but about a 40 minute walk to the Medina (did it once but a short (cheap) Taxi ride... remember to negotiate your price before you get in.
>breakfasts were a bit on the skimpy side, but did us until lunch.
All in all it was perfectly ok - others may have higher, even unrealistic expectations.

Marakesh, especially the souks and even more so Jenna el Fna Especially at night) is simply ....WOW.
Us oldies had a great time.

Room Tip: Go for the front rooms and watch the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brycet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Noisiest Hotel Ever.

The lift clonks and bangs like a bag of spanners all through the night. It echoes around the whole building and is very loud.

At 7:00 the maid started her giant washing machine which shook the whole building.

We booked for 6 nights but only stayed for 1 then left first thing next morning and found another hotel

The man on reception didnt seem to care - i guess he must be used to sleepy people checking out early

Room Tip: find a different hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the worst hotel i've ever been. The service was very bad. On the first day our passports were withheld as a deposit. We had to pay 160 dirhams tourist tax on the last day for 7 days per room. Then we should get our passports. These were forgotten and we almost missed our flight. No apology from the hotelier and no taxi offer. He told us to take the bus. The breakfast is the same every day. A bread, a croissant, a glass of orange juice and bad coffee. If you ask for an extra croissant or orange juice you only get to hear an unkind no. The room was not cleaned in 7 days. On the first day I killed a large cockroach. after seven days it was still on the ground. The doors are broken and the bathroom is all broken. Toilet paper must be rationalized because there is very little. I had to ask four times for a new role. The air conditioner can be turned on or off only at the reception. But you do not want air conditioning because it is very noisy.

NEVER AGAIN!!

Room Tip: Take a different Hotel or a Riad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#417 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#434 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#440 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#396 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#436 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#387 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalay Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalay Hotel Marrakech

Property: Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Address: 87 Bd Mohamed V, Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #460 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalay Hotel Marrakech 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amalay hotel is an attractive 3-star hotel in the heart of Gueliz in the city of Marrakech, a few minutes of the Medina, highly comfortable accommodation facility as well as excellent services and amenities are available at this three-star property along with warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amalay Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing