We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisiest Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Ranked #448 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Noisiest Hotel Ever”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Noisiest Hotel Ever.

The lift clonks and bangs like a bag of spanners all through the night. It echoes around the whole building and is very loud.

At 7:00 the maid started her giant washing machine which shook the whole building.

We booked for 6 nights but only stayed for 1 then left first thing next morning and found another hotel

The man on reception didnt seem to care - i guess he must be used to sleepy people checking out early

Room Tip: find a different hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    36
    15
    19
See reviews for
18
40
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the worst hotel i've ever been. The service was very bad. On the first day our passports were withheld as a deposit. We had to pay 160 dirhams tourist tax on the last day for 7 days per room. Then we should get our passports. These were forgotten and we almost missed our flight. No apology from the hotelier and no taxi offer. He told us to take the bus. The breakfast is the same every day. A bread, a croissant, a glass of orange juice and bad coffee. If you ask for an extra croissant or orange juice you only get to hear an unkind no. The room was not cleaned in 7 days. On the first day I killed a large cockroach. after seven days it was still on the ground. The doors are broken and the bathroom is all broken. Toilet paper must be rationalized because there is very little. I had to ask four times for a new role. The air conditioner can be turned on or off only at the reception. But you do not want air conditioning because it is very noisy.

NEVER AGAIN!!

Room Tip: Take a different Hotel or a Riad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel is located in a fairly good location in the city, directly opposite stop one of the City Tour bus route (which itself is a great way to get round). I have to be honest and say that we had a very good deal on coming to the city, which included the hotel and the flights; so I suppose I do not want to seem to be complaining as we only paid £175 for the package. However, the service in the hotel was nothing short of abysmal most days. In other hotels where we've paid similar prices (we love a bargain!) nothing has been too much trouble. This one, on several occasions, left us feeling like we were an irritation or an inconvenience.

The room was dated, the cockroaches made my travelling companions skin crawl (I named them, and, generally, we just let each other go around our business without paying each other much attention). There was no pool, although we knew that beforehand .....

As other reviews, you had to ask to have the air conditioning turned on; although I understand why, it would be great to control this yourself, particularly as the temperature reached 47C during our visit.

The Bar/Restaurant seemed to open on the whim of the person running the place on the day. We didn't try the food on principle because of all of the above, but the beer was fairly reasonably priced, and, if you haven't visited Morocco before, it's not necessarily that widely sold; although the bar/restaurant appeared to close no later than 10PM (dependent on the mood of the waiter on the day!)

Would I visit Marrakesh again? Yes, one day. Would I visit this hotel again ..... no!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

arrived late at hotel given the key to our room distinct smell all the time ,patio door opened onto a brick wall too close to the next building could not operate the air conditioning had to phone reception to turn on /can`t be regulated/ very noisy every night and day with doors being banged guests not told to keep noise down. outside hotel stunk of sewers all the time. drains etc never been cleaned all in all a rotten holiday... beware of thieves two days into hols had a snatch and grab / would never ever go there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank km1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

a bit far from jemaa el fna but near majorelle garden.
its a good location with supermarket around
the room is ok
you get what you expect for your money
was there with my mum an my sister, is good hotel for family staying.
the breakfast is good, but a bit boring when you get the same think every day

Room Tip: call them before for any extra and ask how much is it, as they changes the prices when you get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnaoui m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here in MARCH 2013. Hotel located in the new town close to the airport and a 30 minute walk from the main square and souks.
Bad Points - Hotel is dated and in need of an update. It's clean but traffic noise is a serious problem if you are located onto the main road. Staff mostly friendly but it would help if you speak French. Breakfast OK but by the end of our stay we were sick of the French roll, pan o chocolate and apricot jam; the coffee is terrible, very bitter. Hot water a plenty but there was times when you had to ration toilet paper.......On day of departure we went for breakfast only to discover the maid had removed our towels and we checked out without showering!!
Good points - The restaurant serves beer and wine :-) The restaurant food was ok and reasonable priced.
Would I stay there again - NO. All the people we spoke to recommended staying in a Riad within the Medina.

Room Tip: Stay in the Medina in a Riad to experience Morrocco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

A friend and I stayed in this hotel in Feb 2013. The hotel was close to the airport and we were greeted by very friendly staff upon our arrival.

The hotel was clean, warm and full of very cheerful staff throughout our stay, each happy to help. The room was a twin; it was a good size with a large bathroom equipped with a clean 4 piece bathroom suite and a power shower. Clean towels and bed linen were provided everyday - although the domestic staff sometimes forgot to knock!

We stayed bed and breakfast, which was a simple continental breakfast with fruit juice and coffee. We ate in the restaurant twice during our stay; the food was hot, very reasonably priced and tasty.

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to the medina and just opposite a bus stop for the tour busses which circulate the city. It was a great place to come back to after a hard days haggling! For the very reasonable price we paid it suited our needs perfectly.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good, budget night’s sleep in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#437 of 500 in Marrakech
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#441 of 500 in Marrakech
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#430 of 500 in Marrakech
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Al Kabir
Hotel Al Kabir
#453 of 500 in Marrakech
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#435 of 500 in Marrakech
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#399 of 500 in Marrakech
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalay Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalay Hotel Marrakech

Property: Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Address: 87 Bd Mohamed V, Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #448 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalay Hotel Marrakech 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amalay hotel is an attractive 3-star hotel in the heart of Gueliz in the city of Marrakech, a few minutes of the Medina, highly comfortable accommodation facility as well as excellent services and amenities are available at this three-star property along with warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Amalay Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing