We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Lapis-Lazuli
Ranked #291 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2012

On the plus side, the staff is amazing. The breakfast is super. The owner is so communicative and offered help at every turn. The value for the room is great. The rooms are so quiet and the style is so well put together! It was a pleasure to wake up and a definite pleasure to come home each night to this quiet sanctuary!

The decorations are lovely and the bed is perfect. Every detail of the riad is very well done. We stayed in a room on the first floor and the bathroom and room were 99% perfect.

Wifi would be a much appreciated thing...but it's also nice to disconnect. We were able to use the owner's computer to check email once and that was a big help. Also the owner provided us with a taxi to the airport for 16Euro which was well worth it!

1 thing that can't be fixed is the location, which requires a taxi from the main square. We were only there 2 nights, but had been in the medina before. Trying to find the right combination of streets was hard, especially at night and both nights we were hassled by local boys who want to show you the way and then charge you money. It's a little scary. So, if you stay here, take a cab to the local taxi stand and then walk the final 500m. And definitely take the taxi service there on the way into the city.

Also, 1 thing that could be fixed is the plumbing on the first floor room left an odor that sometimes was unpleasant. I understand that it's an old riad, but the smell was often strong enough to wake us...it's the only thing that prevented a 5-star rating.

Still, we would definitely stay there again if we're even in Marrakech...

Room Tip: The ground floor room, we think, was the only room with the odor since it is on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YogaTricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 215 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

I agree with most of the reviews here, it is a gem, it is an oasis of tranquility, it has really nice rooms and a wonderful rooftop terrace included flowers and turtle, welcoming hosts and good food! We spent 2 days of trying and failing of finding our way back to the guesthouse, but then we learned it! The first day however, we felt lost when going to find something to eat after arrival. Tip: take taxi to the big square Jamaa el-Fna, that's where the restaurants are!

Staying with my son, I found it a bit difficult that there was no place to get some quick food for him in the evening, AND it was forbidden to have food in the rooms. This meant that we had to go out again in the evening after we returned from town and perhaps had tired legs and really wanted to stay in. The only other option was to book your dinner (tajine) in the morning at the Riad. The dinner was very tasty but still would've liked other options for Junior.

Apart from that, everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Just got back from the Riad Lapis-Lazuli. We stayed 4 nights and have only good things to say about the property and Abdu, Patrick ,Laurent and the lady who cleaned the rooms. Arranged for them to have us picked up and so glad we did. The Riad is in the Medina and we would not have found it. We didn't venture out once dark as it was easy to get lost, in the daylight we could retrace our steps and found we ended up coming in from the top of the Medina rather than through the souks to the Riad. If you pay for a 48hr ticket on the tourist bus you can get off between stop 2 and 3 of the Oasis tour and walk in through Khemis Gate to the Medina.
We ate twice at the Riad Chicken Berbere and Beef with prunes both dishes were beautiful and the Rose wine was good. Breakfast is simple but pancakes and crusty bread suited us fine. The room and the Riad are very tastefully decorated and the roof terrace so relaxing. Our flight back was not until 8.45pm and Parick arranged our transfer back and allowed us to have use of our room until we left to go home.

Room Tip: we stayed in Mekena and it was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0rkshireLass40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

If you are looking for a clean, calm and beautiful base from where to explore Marrakesh, then this is the place. The hosts, Patrick and Laurent, are very welcoming and helpful, as is Abdu, the guy who takes care of the Riad on the night-shift. He will help you with anything you might need! Staying in the medina lets you experience Marrakesh in an authentic way, if that's what you're after. If I had to return I would choose this Riad!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlastairMallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We have just come back last saturday from Riad Lapis-Lazuli and all we can say is that this place is better than it looks, the only hotel we have stayed in that actually looks like its photos.

We had an excellent time and this was bettered by staying at the Riad, the star of the place is Abdul or Abdou as some call him, he is an assett to the Riad and if we were ever to open a hotel he would be the first person we would employ. He went out of his way to help us and when I wanted to buy a Tagine to take home he went and bought one for us at half the price we were being quoted.

This Riad only has 6 rooms which is a good thing as you get to know the other people and is quite cosy, we got to know 2 English lads and a Dutch couple who were really nice.

The orange juice at breakfast is the best in Marrakech and try the Tagine at the Riad, you wont be dissapointed. The place is very clean, in fact it is spotless and credit goes to the cleaning lady as she cleans it inside out.

Do be carefull of the locals as they try to rip you off but if you ignore them then they will go away. if you want a true Morrocan experience then visit this Riad, although it is a little walk away from Jaam el finaa and other tourist hotels it is well worth it.


p.s accept the hotel transfer as taxi drivers will find it difficult to find.

Room Tip: ask to see the other rooms if theyre free and then decide which one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wajleeds a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This a beautiful riad, and is only a few minutes walk away from the heart of the soukhs and main areas but nestles in the maze of streets that make up old Marrakech. The hosts are so helpful and considerate, the central area and rooftop are beautiful and restful. All our needs were catered for, including my food allergy, and we were made to feel so welcome. The riad can be a little difficult to find at first so suggest that you get them to arrange your taxi from the airport or arrival point but they are extremely considerate organizing transport or for you to be accompanied to/from restaruants - they'll evne come and find you if you get lost - just make it to the taxi ranks. After a busy day shopping in the soukhs this really is an oasis of peace, coolness and tranquility. I will return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y_Ddraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The staff were really friendly here especially Abdul, who drew a map for us to the main square. The location was good once you know where you're going, about 15 minutes to the main square Djemma el Fna. The room was clean and tidy, as was the shower and toilet . I would recommend this Riad to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaniaA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Riad Bayti Marrakech
Riad Bayti Marrakech
#77 of 1,170 in Marrakech
376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zara
Riad Zara
#89 of 1,170 in Marrakech
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Radya
Riad Dar Radya
#385 of 1,170 in Marrakech
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
2,086 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lapis-Lazuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Address: 90, Zaouia Al Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem Toualt - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $40 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lapis-Lazuli 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Lapis-Lazuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lapis-Lazuli Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing