We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“no fuzz place, but right in the heart of it all...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Mamoune

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Al Mamoune
Ranked #245 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“no fuzz place, but right in the heart of it all...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

you get to this Riad by going inside the Souks and it is a stone's throw from the Spice Market. Don't let the narrow alleys to get there daunt you, behind the big low door is an oasis to chill and relax after a day's walking around the old city. Sit at the roof top garden to cool off. The staff were friendly but discrete, Manu, the owner's son, picked us up at the airport (only if you're staying 3 nights or more) and they were all helpful and informative. The local breakfast was very filling and nourishing. If you are not looking for a 5-star accomodation, not a fuzzy guest, not complicated, this place is definitely worth staying in. And it is very close to a local hammam. Go ahead, treat yourself to one...

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank tumbleweed_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    34
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
66
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 days in early May. The location is great, its about 5 minutes away from the main square which makes it nice to retreat to for a nap or just too relax. The owner, manager, and cleaning ladies were extremely helpful and nice and went out of their way to help you and make your stay enjoyable. The manger whose name was "Said" pronounced "Sy ee d" was amazing. I cannot say enough about him. He met us in the main square when we arrived to go to the hotel (which is hard to find for the first time) to take us there. He made us fresh orange juice upon arrival. He even went out of his way to help us navigate through the souks and to advise us on where to go. He was one of the most friendly and enjoyable people to be around. The rooms were very clean as well as the hotel. We stayed in the blue room and it had a really neat shower. Was egg shaped lol. The only thing negative that I would have to say about the hotel is that there were no locks on the door. They gave you a key to get into the door from the outside of the hotel but once you were in it seemed like an open door policy. They had a lock on the outside of the door of your room but you could not lock it from the inside. It was rather strange. They do have safes inside the room which was a plus. I really never felt scared or anything like that but just having an inside lock might have added more of a sense of security. The breakfast was amazing....they had fresh orange juice, coffee, and mint tea. To eat they had Moroccan pancakes (yummy) and bread with 4 different types of jam. To sum everything up....this was an awesome trip and we would love to stay at this hotel again when/if we ever get the chance to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank au205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great value riad in the heart of Marrakech. We stayed here with another couple and their baby. Manu and his staff took great care of us - picked us up from the airport, made dinner bookings for us, cooked amazing breakfasts, arranged babysitting and gave us others tips and recommendations. The riad was wonderful - rooms were great, lovely roof terrace for breakfast or afternoon relax, fantastic location close to the main square, Spice Markets and souks. A wonderful stay overall. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsmith1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at the riad for 3 nights at the end of our trip, and it was the perfect ending. From the moment we arrived we were impressed at the personal service and comfort of the riad. Sayid went our of his way to make our stay pleasant - including walking us to the restaurant to make sure we did not get lost! The breakfasts were very good and filling and served in a comfortable setting. Our room was small but more than enough room for two of us and we appreciate the fresh flowers that were there on our arrival. The location is excellent - very close to spice square but in a side street so you are away from noise of the main part of the medina. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandaksf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Riad Al Moune is very close to the souks & to El Fna square All the staff are very friendly and helpful. They serve excellent typical moroccan breakfast (home made pancake & bread) with plenty drink (coffee, mint tea, orange juice) You can have dinner in the riad (cost Eur 15 pp) which is very tasty and big portion. They change the towels every day and if you use the jacuzzi, they give a dressing gown. Rooms are small, but clean and there are everything what you need. (Side lights would be useful if you want to read in the bed) We stayed in this riad for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. There is a roof terace, where you can relax if the weather is nice.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, close to the centre.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabbage57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magellan123
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

Extremely friendly staff made our stay very memorable. Good location only minutes from the Jemaa el Fna. Clean and decent breakfast. Very good value.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Magellan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixton, London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed here recently for five nights, over the Easter period. This really is a wonderful Riad (although the first one I have been to!), the hosts are charming, helpful and welcoming and our stay here really added to the enjoyment of our trip.

We were met at the airport by Manu (part of the family who run the business), who took us directly to the Riad, the last part by foot through the wonderful souks. The Riad was lovely - beautiful courtyard at the bottom and a gorgeous roof terrace. The room was beautiful as well, ours led straight to the courtyard, which was great as our nearly two year old often wanted to go straight back out to the 'garden' as soon as we shut the bedroom doors!

The location is also fantastic, right in the souks and two minutes away from the 'spicy' square, which is a home to a wonderful cafe where you can watch the world go by. It's also only a five minute walk or so to the square. Location I think would be hard to beat.

The hosts also made the trip, great help, really friendly - and even babysat our daughter on our last night! The breakfasts are lovely, and try the food here at least once - we had a fantastic meal here.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — People, service, surroundings, food, location
  • Disliked — We loved everything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissDBrixton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Samarine
Riad Samarine
#182 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Jaguar
Dar Jaguar
#266 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#52 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Magellan
Riad Magellan
#77 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#8 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#41 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Mamoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mamoune

Property: Riad Al Mamoune
Address: 140 Derb Aarjane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Mamoune 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Al Mamoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing