We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“camel”
Review of Riad Al Mamoune

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Mamoune
Ranked #253 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Riad Al Moune is very close to the souks & to El Fna square All the staff are very friendly and helpful. They serve excellent typical moroccan breakfast (home made pancake & bread) with plenty drink (coffee, mint tea, orange juice) You can have dinner in the riad (cost Eur 15 pp) which is very tasty and big portion. They change the towels every day and if you use the jacuzzi, they give a dressing gown. Rooms are small, but clean and there are everything what you need. (Side lights would be useful if you want to read in the bed) We stayed in this riad for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. There is a roof terace, where you can relax if the weather is nice.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cabbage57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 170 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2008

Extremely friendly staff made our stay very memorable. Good location only minutes from the Jemaa el Fna. Clean and decent breakfast. Very good value.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Magellan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed here recently for five nights, over the Easter period. This really is a wonderful Riad (although the first one I have been to!), the hosts are charming, helpful and welcoming and our stay here really added to the enjoyment of our trip.

We were met at the airport by Manu (part of the family who run the business), who took us directly to the Riad, the last part by foot through the wonderful souks. The Riad was lovely - beautiful courtyard at the bottom and a gorgeous roof terrace. The room was beautiful as well, ours led straight to the courtyard, which was great as our nearly two year old often wanted to go straight back out to the 'garden' as soon as we shut the bedroom doors!

The location is also fantastic, right in the souks and two minutes away from the 'spicy' square, which is a home to a wonderful cafe where you can watch the world go by. It's also only a five minute walk or so to the square. Location I think would be hard to beat.

The hosts also made the trip, great help, really friendly - and even babysat our daughter on our last night! The breakfasts are lovely, and try the food here at least once - we had a fantastic meal here.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissDBrixton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

Riad Al Mamoune was an amazing place to stay whilst in Marrakech and really made our entire trip. We booked out the entire Riad for our group of 12 and found it to be the perfect sized group. The location could not have been more ideal – except that since you are so close to the Souk and it closes during the night it can be quite fun trying to find your way back when it gets late! Manu, Patricia and all the staff (who speak French and English) were extremely hospitable and helpful and we certainly recommend staying in for a home cooked meal for at least one night - we enjoyed the meal at Al Mamoune more than the expensive, slap-up dinner we had at Le Foundouk! Book this place and you’ll have a fantastic Marrakech base and a great trip. I’ve already recommended it to my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SamboWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Just stayed here for 4 nights June 2007. Excellent Riad…exactly what one may expect…set in the heart of the ‘souk’. We were met at airport
by Rishad who ensured that we were looked after for our whole stay. Breakfast on the roof terrace..beautiful!! All staff here really really friendly….also beer available..£1 per drink…(the only place in Marakech we actually found any). Staff arranged taxis, day trips etc. Nothing is too much trouble…lovely people…rooms very traditional
..which means small..but exceptionally clean…As you are within the Medina..expect to hear the call to prayer at 4AM…it woke us some nights but not others..it only lasts a few minutes and adds to the genuine atmosphere. Thoroughly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAULKILLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

Our flight was delayed by 2 hours and we arrived at Marrakech Airport at 3am...Manu, the owner's son was waiting to collect us with a smile! The hospitality at this stunning Riad was exceptional. Manu proved very tec savvy at connecting our PDA to his wireless network. Rashid, who is the resident host, had a great sense of humour and can converse in most languages.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mikel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Riad Mamoune was one of the first of three Riads I stayed in in Marrakech, because I kept going to other places in Morocco. I would have liked to stay there again but they didn't have availability. When you get there, its no surprise why it’s so popular, because it’s lovely! The Riad is a stunning building and kitted out with Moroccan furniture. The manager welcomed us and we sat down with him for at least an hour talking about Morocco, how to negotiate around the souks, etc. As with most riads, we were given mint tea to welcome us, but Mamoune also gave us freshly squeezed orange juice, which was v welcome after our sweating walk through the Djemma and souks. We stayed in the blue "Mogador" room on the ground floor and it was absolutely gorgeous. The shower especially was very cool because it was egg-shaped. The bed was very comfortable too. Breakfast the following morning was very yummy - Baghrir pancakes and fruit. All in all, a great stay. Only thing I would say is don't try and find it yourself, you will need to pay someone in the Djeema to bring you there. If you are near the spice section of the souks you know you're going the right way. The first guy we asked to help us find it, brought us east of the Djeema to a restaurant called Mamoune, so make sure whoever you ask knows it’s a Riad!

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmmoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#49 of 502 in Marrakech
414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#63 of 502 in Marrakech
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 502 in Marrakech
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Riad Zarka
Riad Zarka
#257 of 502 in Marrakech
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,170 in Marrakech
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Mamoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mamoune

Address: 140 Derb Aarjane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $56 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Mamoune 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Mamoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing