We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A quaint place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Mamoune

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Al Mamoune
Ranked #239 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A quaint place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from three nights at Riad al Mamoune and would recommend to others who are looking for central, good value for money and welcoming accommodation in Marrakech. The Riad is located just off the main El Fna Square, takes about 5 minutes to walk there from the square. The Riad is not accessible by car, so be prepared to walk the last bit of your journey. The owner, Manu, came to meet us so there was no problem finding the place...... It's quite tucked away! The hotel staff are very attentive and special mention must be given to Ali who works in the Riad doing a great job of welcoming guests, giving local info, arranging trips and excursions, making tea and generally keeping everything going. There are six rooms, some quite small but we stayed in elf Lila wa Lila room which is very large and has a seating area in addition to the bedroom section of the room. The bathrooms are small and rustic with plenty of hot water. Overall, the rooms are rustic and traditional. There's air conditioning, a must in the 45 degree heat of July, and safe for valuables. There are no locks on the outside of the bedroom doors, that took a bit of getting used to! Once inside the room, you can lock from the inside. Breakfast was simple but nicely done, with green tea or coffee, pancakes and freshly squeezed orange juice with eggs as an optional extra. We went on an excursion to the Atlas mountains one day which was a good trip, make sure you wear good walking shoes as does involve some climbing. We also did the hamman bath and massage which was a fun experience!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank intrepid_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    34
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
71
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Overall I enjoyed our stay here very much except the fact that my mother who is 63 years old and has knee problem can't walk very far but the hotel is located deep in Medina (good for shopping though). Ali is a staff who met us at the meeting point and guided us to the Riad. He was very patient with my mother and took very good care of her. Other staffs are very friendly as well. We also used their city tour service. Basically, the son of the owner is a driver and showed us around.

The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast is served on the roof top with traditional Moroccan breakfast. Roti & pancake are very good.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay. Despite the long walk, my mother was very happy there. If you do not have a problem with walking, then this is a perfect place for you. (Personally it isn't very far for me.)

Room Tip: Wifi signal on the second floor is very weak, you might need to sit down outside the room or to come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oh-no-tabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. I was met by Ali and shown to the riad through the maze of streets of the medina. He then provided me with drinks and information about Marrakech. My room was clean and comfortable and cleaned daily. There were no locks on the bedroom door but the room had a safe to keep any valuables.
Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and consisted of very nice orange juice and bread/ crepes. Eggs were available for an extra charge.
The riad is a nice pace to be but noise is carried throughout the riad so not as sound proofed as a conventional accommodation.
The riad is conveniently situated about a 5 minute walk from the main square. It is at the end of a dark alley. For people who feel a little vulnerable, this could be quite intimidating, but I found that appearances are quite deceiving in this city, and felt safe.
Wifi is available in the reception area. Alcohol can be purchased at the riad.
Overall, a good value place to stay, with Ali always on hand to give advice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClintBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Thanks to the Trip Advisor reviews, we booked to stay over Christmas at Riad Al Mamoune and couldn't have chosen a better place. It is in an excellent location, just behind the spice market. The riad is calm and tranquil, our rooms were superb, breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious and nothing was too much trouble for Ali and his assistants, who smile all the time. Manou, the owner, was very kind too, and took us on a fabulous trip into the Atlas Mountains, arranging mule riding for us, a wonderful lunch at Les Lumieres and, on the way home, mint tea and beer by the lake. An awe-inspiring trip, and Manou was such good company.
There are countless well-reviewed riads in the Medina (we have stayed in two of them) but what makes Al Mamoune really stand out is the quality of relationships. The charm, the genuine friendliness, helpfulness and politeness of the owner and his staff made us feel very special. For example, we saw Ali probably five times a day and every time he greeted us as valued friends. And when you are far away from home, it’s good to know that there is someone you can totally trust and rely upon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed 4 nights. Room was clean, bed comfortable and shower good. We were meet at the airport as they had emailed week before arrival. Being shown down souk street and alley was daunting at first but easy once there. Alli welcomed us with drinks and showed location on map. He was always around and full of advice and directions.
We enjoyed the roof top terrace and found it quiet and relaxing despite the madness nearby.
Small pool downstairs was just for show and jacuzzi in small room.
The rooms faced the central patio and we found noise echoed around it.
This riad is central near spice square and therefore no nasty smells to pass.
Nothing wrong with riad but if we were going again we would stay further out at hotel with large pool.
If you stay here take euros to pay bill. Charge 3.5 percent on cards and does not take pounds. We used atm and paid with dirham.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniondale, penna
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

just returned from a girlfriends trip to marrakech. riad al mamoune was a real gem. manu picked us up/took us back to the airport. ali gaves us many good tips about restaurants and places to visit. they along with the staff were extremely gracious and helpful. i would go back. the trip thru the souks was at first a little overwhelming, we soon learned to ignore the merchants and just keep moving. we didn't feel afraid but a few more lights in the alleys would have been nice.
we had dinner in the riad one evening, it was quite delicious as were the daily breakfasts.
i would chose a different month to visit, july is extremely hot.
if you decide to take a side trip to essouira take the bus, it's clean and cheap.

Room Tip: we stayed in the upstairs suite (nejma) it was very comfortable,toilet and bathroom are separated, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amnoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

great staff, very friendly
the place is gorgeous, quiet the only noise you can hear is the nature, even if this riad is right in the heart of the medina
You can even enjoy a relaxing jacuzzi by the end of the day, a nap on the terrasse...
I would definetely recomend this place to anyone I know!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camillej0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Noor Charana
Riad Noor Charana
#214 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#289 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#100 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#91 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Samarine
Riad Samarine
#182 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Karama
Riad Al Karama
#67 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Mamoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mamoune

Property: Riad Al Mamoune
Address: 140 Derb Aarjane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Mamoune 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Al Mamoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing