We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Riad Al Mamoune

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Mamoune
Ranked #236 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. I was met by Ali and shown to the riad through the maze of streets of the medina. He then provided me with drinks and information about Marrakech. My room was clean and comfortable and cleaned daily. There were no locks on the bedroom door but the room had a safe to keep any valuables.
Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and consisted of very nice orange juice and bread/ crepes. Eggs were available for an extra charge.
The riad is a nice pace to be but noise is carried throughout the riad so not as sound proofed as a conventional accommodation.
The riad is conveniently situated about a 5 minute walk from the main square. It is at the end of a dark alley. For people who feel a little vulnerable, this could be quite intimidating, but I found that appearances are quite deceiving in this city, and felt safe.
Wifi is available in the reception area. Alcohol can be purchased at the riad.
Overall, a good value place to stay, with Ali always on hand to give advice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClintBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 174 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

Thanks to the Trip Advisor reviews, we booked to stay over Christmas at Riad Al Mamoune and couldn't have chosen a better place. It is in an excellent location, just behind the spice market. The riad is calm and tranquil, our rooms were superb, breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious and nothing was too much trouble for Ali and his assistants, who smile all the time. Manou, the owner, was very kind too, and took us on a fabulous trip into the Atlas Mountains, arranging mule riding for us, a wonderful lunch at Les Lumieres and, on the way home, mint tea and beer by the lake. An awe-inspiring trip, and Manou was such good company.
There are countless well-reviewed riads in the Medina (we have stayed in two of them) but what makes Al Mamoune really stand out is the quality of relationships. The charm, the genuine friendliness, helpfulness and politeness of the owner and his staff made us feel very special. For example, we saw Ali probably five times a day and every time he greeted us as valued friends. And when you are far away from home, it’s good to know that there is someone you can totally trust and rely upon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed 4 nights. Room was clean, bed comfortable and shower good. We were meet at the airport as they had emailed week before arrival. Being shown down souk street and alley was daunting at first but easy once there. Alli welcomed us with drinks and showed location on map. He was always around and full of advice and directions.
We enjoyed the roof top terrace and found it quiet and relaxing despite the madness nearby.
Small pool downstairs was just for show and jacuzzi in small room.
The rooms faced the central patio and we found noise echoed around it.
This riad is central near spice square and therefore no nasty smells to pass.
Nothing wrong with riad but if we were going again we would stay further out at hotel with large pool.
If you stay here take euros to pay bill. Charge 3.5 percent on cards and does not take pounds. We used atm and paid with dirham.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

just returned from a girlfriends trip to marrakech. riad al mamoune was a real gem. manu picked us up/took us back to the airport. ali gaves us many good tips about restaurants and places to visit. they along with the staff were extremely gracious and helpful. i would go back. the trip thru the souks was at first a little overwhelming, we soon learned to ignore the merchants and just keep moving. we didn't feel afraid but a few more lights in the alleys would have been nice.
we had dinner in the riad one evening, it was quite delicious as were the daily breakfasts.
i would chose a different month to visit, july is extremely hot.
if you decide to take a side trip to essouira take the bus, it's clean and cheap.

Room Tip: we stayed in the upstairs suite (nejma) it was very comfortable,toilet and bathroom are separated, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amnoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

great staff, very friendly
the place is gorgeous, quiet the only noise you can hear is the nature, even if this riad is right in the heart of the medina
You can even enjoy a relaxing jacuzzi by the end of the day, a nap on the terrasse...
I would definetely recomend this place to anyone I know!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camillej0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Just arrived back from a 5day break to Marakkesh,Stayed at the Riad Al Mamoune,after reading all the good reports on here.I went with my daughter,who is 27,the Riad is ab stunning,you can not ask for a better,cleaner,place to stay.The only draw back is the walk to and from the Riad. The alleys are VERY VERY DISTURBING, and i would never stay there again, unless i was with a man! we were followed by a guy high on glue,and the last night 2 lads followed us on moped,and actually grabbed my daughter.and asked her for sex.! the alleys are very dark,I have been all over the world,and have never beeen so scared in all my life.walking back home at 10pm at night.We had to go out for food etc.... the owners kept saying its safe? but it does not feel that?. we met 3 gals from the USA who were staying there and they said the same. and to be honest it spoilt the Riad,I only chose it as some 1 put on here that a man was employed to take you back at night? well we never found any1?? only men who wanted to be paid to show us the way? or so they said???. i would go back but would stay in a hotel on the main road. The city is wonderfull,vibrant,exciting, the best meal was Cafe Agare right on the square.good food,good prices. we didnt eat on the square at the barbies.but would do if my tum wasnt sensative.lol. hated the monkeys,sooooo cruel and so wish they would ban them... we did an amazing trip,to the Atlas mountains,visted a Berber home,a coop of women making products from argane oil... BECAREFUL i got stung for £65.00 750 dirhams for a 50ml bottle of oil!!! my fault.. we had a guide meet us and take us up to see the waterfalls. very very slippery and hard if you are a bit unfit. but well worth the visit... all in all the trip was a wonderful experiance, and would recomend it to every 1 except for familys with young children.why drag them araound in thet heat??. if any 1 would like any more tips or advise please message me on here,and i will be happy to help.ps booked the day trip with the hotel and had jamal he was amazing,so kind and very patient, the cost was excellant 700 dirhams,approx £65.GBPpickes up at 9am and arrivved back at approx 5pm. very good value..

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krissywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed at Riad al Mamoune back in February and have been meaning to write this for some time.

Excellent, romantic, place to stay - would recommend to anyone, a haven of tranquillity right in the centre of the souks and very friendly, helpful non - pushy staff.

Was impressed enough to remember to write this 6 months after the event!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#57 of 500 in Marrakech
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#96 of 500 in Marrakech
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#80 of 500 in Marrakech
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Mamoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mamoune

Address: 140 Derb Aarjane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $58 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Mamoune 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Mamoune is a 16th century guesthouse located in the heart of the old Médina of Marrakech and conveniently located within only a few minutes walk to the famous Jma El Fna Square, the Spice Market, Madrasa Ben Youssef, the wonderful Souks and many other important monuments and cultural treasures of this enchanting imperial city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Mamoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing