We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great marrakech experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Al Mamoune

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Al Mamoune
Ranked #259 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uniondale, penna
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great marrakech experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

just returned from a girlfriends trip to marrakech. riad al mamoune was a real gem. manu picked us up/took us back to the airport. ali gaves us many good tips about restaurants and places to visit. they along with the staff were extremely gracious and helpful. i would go back. the trip thru the souks was at first a little overwhelming, we soon learned to ignore the merchants and just keep moving. we didn't feel afraid but a few more lights in the alleys would have been nice.
we had dinner in the riad one evening, it was quite delicious as were the daily breakfasts.
i would chose a different month to visit, july is extremely hot.
if you decide to take a side trip to essouira take the bus, it's clean and cheap.

Room Tip: we stayed in the upstairs suite (nejma) it was very comfortable,toilet and bathroom are separated, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amnoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    37
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
73
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

great staff, very friendly
the place is gorgeous, quiet the only noise you can hear is the nature, even if this riad is right in the heart of the medina
You can even enjoy a relaxing jacuzzi by the end of the day, a nap on the terrasse...
I would definetely recomend this place to anyone I know!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camillej0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Just arrived back from a 5day break to Marakkesh,Stayed at the Riad Al Mamoune,after reading all the good reports on here.I went with my daughter,who is 27,the Riad is ab stunning,you can not ask for a better,cleaner,place to stay.The only draw back is the walk to and from the Riad. The alleys are VERY VERY DISTURBING, and i would never stay there again, unless i was with a man! we were followed by a guy high on glue,and the last night 2 lads followed us on moped,and actually grabbed my daughter.and asked her for sex.! the alleys are very dark,I have been all over the world,and have never beeen so scared in all my life.walking back home at 10pm at night.We had to go out for food etc.... the owners kept saying its safe? but it does not feel that?. we met 3 gals from the USA who were staying there and they said the same. and to be honest it spoilt the Riad,I only chose it as some 1 put on here that a man was employed to take you back at night? well we never found any1?? only men who wanted to be paid to show us the way? or so they said???. i would go back but would stay in a hotel on the main road. The city is wonderfull,vibrant,exciting, the best meal was Cafe Agare right on the square.good food,good prices. we didnt eat on the square at the barbies.but would do if my tum wasnt sensative.lol. hated the monkeys,sooooo cruel and so wish they would ban them... we did an amazing trip,to the Atlas mountains,visted a Berber home,a coop of women making products from argane oil... BECAREFUL i got stung for £65.00 750 dirhams for a 50ml bottle of oil!!! my fault.. we had a guide meet us and take us up to see the waterfalls. very very slippery and hard if you are a bit unfit. but well worth the visit... all in all the trip was a wonderful experiance, and would recomend it to every 1 except for familys with young children.why drag them araound in thet heat??. if any 1 would like any more tips or advise please message me on here,and i will be happy to help.ps booked the day trip with the hotel and had jamal he was amazing,so kind and very patient, the cost was excellant 700 dirhams,approx £65.GBPpickes up at 9am and arrivved back at approx 5pm. very good value..

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krissywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed at Riad al Mamoune back in February and have been meaning to write this for some time.

Excellent, romantic, place to stay - would recommend to anyone, a haven of tranquillity right in the centre of the souks and very friendly, helpful non - pushy staff.

Was impressed enough to remember to write this 6 months after the event!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at the Riad Al Mamoune for four nights over the 09/10 new year period.

As described in other reviews we were picked up by Manu and were guided through a maze of busy souks (narrow market streets) to a nondescript side alley. In this alley was a thick wooden door and going through the door was like stepping into another world!

The Riad itself has rooms based around a sun kissed courtyard which stays cool which is nice when you arrive from a day out in the heat. There is a side room where you can eat or have drinks and a gourgous plunge pool as well as Jacuzzi. On the next level are more rooms and then the level above that a gourgous rooftop terrace where you can eat, drink or sunbathe.

We stayed in the Mogador room (This name relates to the colour that the room is themed on, blue) which was clean and the perfect size for two. The shower was always hot and with good pressure (a must when on vacation in a warm country) and again the bathroom was clean. The room had a safe, hairdryer, closet and good sized vanity with mirror.

In other reviews it has been mentioned that the door had no internal lock which was strange and a little offputting. Personally I never had a problem with this although my girlfiend would have preffered one. This did not mean that we did not feel safe or felt that any of our belongings were at any risk but for privacy reasons only.

The staff at the Riad were simply the best I have ever experienced in my fairly exstensive travelling experience. Small touches such as fresh flowers in the room, mint tea as we arrived, a full run down on sights to see and places to go combined with the big touches, guiding us personally to where we needed to go, delicious dinners and filling breakfasts made it the perfect destination to visit this unique and beutiful country and city.

A special thanks goes out to the new manager at the Riad, Babouch, who's extensive knowledge and frienldiness made our stay the best ever.

I recommend this Riad as a place to experience the friendliness of Morrocco and Marrakech, and its people!

P.S. Go to the hammam, one of the most relaxing and rejuvineting experiences around at half the price of a spa in any Western Country.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Begpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

you get to this Riad by going inside the Souks and it is a stone's throw from the Spice Market. Don't let the narrow alleys to get there daunt you, behind the big low door is an oasis to chill and relax after a day's walking around the old city. Sit at the roof top garden to cool off. The staff were friendly but discrete, Manu, the owner's son, picked us up at the airport (only if you're staying 3 nights or more) and they were all helpful and informative. The local breakfast was very filling and nourishing. If you are not looking for a 5-star accomodation, not a fuzzy guest, not complicated, this place is definitely worth staying in. And it is very close to a local hammam. Go ahead, treat yourself to one...

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank tumbleweed_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 days in early May. The location is great, its about 5 minutes away from the main square which makes it nice to retreat to for a nap or just too relax. The owner, manager, and cleaning ladies were extremely helpful and nice and went out of their way to help you and make your stay enjoyable. The manger whose name was "Said" pronounced "Sy ee d" was amazing. I cannot say enough about him. He met us in the main square when we arrived to go to the hotel (which is hard to find for the first time) to take us there. He made us fresh orange juice upon arrival. He even went out of his way to help us navigate through the souks and to advise us on where to go. He was one of the most friendly and enjoyable people to be around. The rooms were very clean as well as the hotel. We stayed in the blue room and it had a really neat shower. Was egg shaped lol. The only thing negative that I would have to say about the hotel is that there were no locks on the door. They gave you a key to get into the door from the outside of the hotel but once you were in it seemed like an open door policy. They had a lock on the outside of the door of your room but you could not lock it from the inside. It was rather strange. They do have safes inside the room which was a plus. I really never felt scared or anything like that but just having an inside lock might have added more of a sense of security. The breakfast was amazing....they had fresh orange juice, coffee, and mint tea. To eat they had Moroccan pancakes (yummy) and bread with 4 different types of jam. To sum everything up....this was an awesome trip and we would love to stay at this hotel again when/if we ever get the chance to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank au205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#119 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#50 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#255 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#76 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#88 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Wiam
Riad El Wiam
#262 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Mamoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mamoune

Property: Riad Al Mamoune
Address: 140 Derb Aarjane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Mamoune 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Al Mamoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing