We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating your cash”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Si Said
Ranked #215 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Eating your cash”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Went for an evening meal here and was bitterly disappointed. For such a high class riad the quality of the food was poorer than other more modest restaurants in the medina. The beef tagine was tough to the point of being inedible and my fruit de mer pastilla contained only one microscopic prawn and two one centimetre whole baby squid. The cost of three starters and three mains and a bottle of water came to the princely sum of 1092 dhirams. I have no objection to paying high prices for high quality but this was not the case.
The ambience and service was very good and the surroundings very lovely but don't come here if you have high gastronomic expectations, those will need to be discovered elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra t t, Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Si Said, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Gloria866,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Your comment concerning the restaurant is very constructive and we work continiously to ameliorate the quality of our products.

We regret that you where not satisfied concerning the food and this motivates us to work on our weak points.

The restaurant staff is of course pleased to read that you enjoyed the service and the ambiance.

Whenever you might plan to give it a second try, please let me know. It will be a pleasure to ensure personally that you will pass a nice evening.

With best regards,
Petra Trapp
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    51
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
108
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Beautiful lunch of the freshest shrimp and divine avocado. Glad I don't drink, as a pint of Heiniken was £13.20.

Lovely surroundings next to Dar Si Said, and it looks like a beautiful hotel.

Blew my budget for the day though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boniface8th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here as a lone woman traveller Nov 18-22nd. What a beautiful place. The room was divine, the staff were so helpful and considerate, nothing was too much, the food was excellent and the quite central location was perfect. Turn left out the door and wander to the souks, turn right for the car park and outside the city. Many travellers I met on excursions were staying out of the city and more or less imprisoned in their hotels. I loved the traditional decor and feel of the place, and the rooftop garden and space is a tranquil haven. And they are nice to their cats.

Can't say enough how good the staff were, and the travel rep (Kuoni).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just returned from Marrakech and stayed four nights in the Angsana Si Said Riad. It is beautiful, stylish and everything you could wish for if you are looking for a typical Moroccan experience.

Being in the old Medina, there is some background noise as daily life goes on but it was never an issue. We stayed in the Africaine Suite which had two separate bedrooms and a separate living area so was incredibly spacious and ideal for 3-4 people sharing. Lovely furnishings, great bathroom (only the one) and very nice sun terrace.

This is a great place to stay with respect to location with Taxis, Palaces, Souks & the main square all within 5-10 minutes walk. What makes the Angsana exceptional is the staff and a big thanks to Abdellah and his team for making our stay so enjoyable. Organising taxis, meal reservations, transfers and suggestions for trips ... nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile and humour.

Trips - If you are in Marrakech for 4 days+ I would recommend taking a trip out to the Atlas Mountains. There are various options ... waterfalls, Toukbal and better to arrange directly yourself (600 - 900 dirhams for the day). Jardin Majorelle is also worth a visit.

Shopping - difficult to give guidelines as prices for same items can vary so much between stalls. In one shop a cushion was 1200 dirhams, the same one elsewhere was 150 dirhams. Typically pay no more than 1/3 of the asking price but ultimately pay what you are comfortable with.

Eating Out - we went to some of the "highly recommended" places such as Dar Moha, Kozy Bar, Cafe Arabe but have to say all were disappointing. Bt far the best food experiences were in the local restaurants where you can get an amazing Tagine for ~ 40/50 dirhams

Overall for both Marrakech and especially the Angsana Riad a 5/5 and HIGHLY Recommended.

Room Tip: Angsana Heritage Suite (Africaine) is a gorgeous suite and would recommend for two couples rather th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is like taken out of Lawrence of Arabia, we stayed in the Angsana Heritage suite, and the room is a large 3 room apartment. Beatifuly decorated in a 1800's Riad which is kept in a mint condition.

The service here is nothing far from perfect.

Food and breakfeast is also always top notch.

Nice quiet, rooftop terrasse is ideal for tanning.

Will recommend this to anyone wishing to experience a true morrocan historic paradise hotel.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin_kaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Lets call this four and a half trip advisor stars - but you will not be disappointed in this fabulous hotel. General romantic atmosphere and especially the wonderfully attentive front of house staff will make your stay memorable. Location is simply ideal - brilliant for the souks and the historic sights of the city; transfer only 15minutes from the airport (we used Ma Navette). Take your time and get lost in the alleyways, check out the friendly local shops.
Minor negative points around food offerings at the hotel - simple and rather limited, and the enthusiastic serving staff are a little out of their depth. It would have been great to have a working heated hot-tub to sooth away the aching limbs from hours of exploring.
Outside of the rather limited in-house menu, there are plenty of top restaurants - but be warned you need to be very quick and book ahead.
We tried Pepe Nero - just not to be missed. Dejeuner de Marrakech was good for lunch and dinner.
Easiest cash machine is at the Post Office ATM (car park - turn left towards Bahia Palace)

Room Tip: This is an historic building - expect a little noise from below and the adjacent alleyways - but gen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antiblackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We found this small riad welcoming and friendly. It was very clean, and the breakfast was simple (rolls, pastries, fruit and eggs) but fresh and attentively served. We had a suite for three people, with the third bed placed in a sitting room. It was more than ample and the furnishings were attractive and elegant. The bathroom was very well appointed, and there are lots of toiletries. A little more light would have been appreciated (especially in the main bedroom and bathroom).

The roof terrace is lovely, quiet and atmospheric, although it is a very steep climb if the lift isn't co-operating (the steep steps are the same in all the medina hotels and restaurants however).

It is in a side street, so it is quiet, but close to a main taxi rank, as well as a main route to the Jamaa el Fna (about 10 minutes walk) in one direction and the El Badi and El Bahia Palaces 5 minutes walk in the other. One tip - don't let the hotel arrange tours for you - we thought we would go with them despite the extra cost but found that it was really only taxi hire, without a guide. We enjoyed it very much anyway, but could have had the same service much more cheaply by talking to the taxi drivers directly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSAD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.8 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#23 of 499 in Marrakech
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#26 of 499 in Marrakech
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#207 of 499 in Marrakech
525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 499 in Marrakech
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Si Said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Si Said

Property: Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Si Said
Address: N 1-2-4 Derb Abbes El Fassi | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Si Said 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like royalty as soon as you enter this splendid all-suite riad, which is beautifully decorated in opulent gold and soothing cream hues. As you... Feel like royalty as soon as you enter this splendid all-suite riad, which is beautifully decorated in opulent gold and soothing cream hues. As you admire the intricate zellij or mosaic tiles surrounding you, take comfort that your stay will be an unforgettable one. For total relaxation, indulge in the jet pool or a hammam, traditional bathhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Si Said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Si Said Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing