We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Riad Zarka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Zarka
Ranked #266 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Riad Zarka is a classy, well maintained Riad. We booked a room with a/c which was a must. It was between 40 - 45 degrees when we stayed.... phew it was hot... The Riad was awesome and we loved it. The only problem was that there was no radio in the room. Before we left we confirmed our booking and transfer and everything was fine. Aziz from the hotel greeted us with a big smile and a van, he then escorted us through the markets to our hotel. We would of got totally lost without booking this transfer. The street lighting around the hotel was adeque at night time. There are always plenty of locals so no need to worry about safety too much (as long as your with a male). There is a cute little boy that lives just outside the hotel that will give you a high five at the drop of a hat. We loved Marrakech, but we felt that three nights was enough. We would of loved to travel to the mountains and maybe the coast.

We ate at the souks in the main square at night time. It's a real experience, and complete chaos, but fun none the less. There are also local deserts and spicy mint teas you can drink for next to nothing. We managed to find a place near the main square that sells beer! it took a while, but i managed to find booze pretty quickly. The Riad also sells beer and wine for a reasonable price. Just shout for Aziz and he will get you a beer from the fridge. The beer could of been a little colder, but beggars cant be choosers!.

If you are considering staying at this Riad - I wouldnt hesitate to stay with them again

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisbh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 95 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2008

We had a pleasant stay at the Riad. I would recommend that you book airport pick up. The best of the whole stay was our host Assis, who answeared all of our questions. The location is in the middle of the Souks, I got a little scared at the beginning but then when you learn your way out, there´s no problem, everybody in marrakech was very nice. Two things: 1. It´s a little expensive for what they offer: no tv, no air conditioning and poor light in the room, I was expecting marrakech to be a little less expensive than it is, prices are like in europe. And 2. Since location is in the center of the Medina, we were recommended not to leave the Riad after 10pm for security reasons, so nights were little boring. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank yarelicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

our airport transfer did not turn up as confirmed. In fact, we received an email from the owner 2 days after our arrival to confirm our transfer! No apology offered.

Breakfast is shocking for the price - a slice of cheap brioche and OJ. On our last day, they forgot we were leaving and we ended up paying the cleaner instead of the owner. No receipt given and we left a stranded guest there whose airport transfer hadn't turned up - no surprises there!

The room was clean and comfortable - a bit small but we were hardly there. The location is close to the souqs but there was no atmosphere. It was not welcoming and we could not ask the staff for tips or anything. We never met the owner the whole time we were there - never asked if we needed anything etc.

If i were to go back, I would rather stay in a riad owned by local Moroccans probably for half the price and contribute to the locals.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guiltypleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We had a very, very nice experience at Riad Zarka (April 08) .

I would echo the advice of other reviewers that you MUST arrange to have them pick you up, as you will NEVER find it by yourself (even though getting back is easy once you know the way). When we called about this we got a French only speaker, but we then emailed in English and heard back from the proprietress and all was fine.

It is lovely. Pretty general areas. Rooms small but nice, clean, and comfortable. Conveniently located, a few minutes walk from the main square. Staff extraordinarily accommodating (though linguistically limited - not a problem for us, perhaps more for others)

Nevertheless worth noting to the negative side: the included breakfast is very modest indeed. And perhaps more seriously, though we had absolutely no problem, some may feel uneasy walking back to the Riad after the shops along the way have closed (9:30-10) - not a problem for us at all since our habit is a not too late dinner then back to the Riad for a glass of wine and to bed early enough to get up and going pretty early the next day; but perhaps more serious for someone who habitually wants to return late from the club scene or whatever.

But for us a very happy stay - we'd defintiely go there again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Estesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

While difficult to find upon first arriving, Zarka is a gem that is nearby to the souqs and the centre of the medina. We stayed in the Green room, but every aspect of the riad that we saw maintained the same charm and flavour, and everything was decorated with both taste and comfort in mind. The staff was also very helpful and friendly. We highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torontotandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

Two women travelling alone for the first time in Marrakech and can't wait to return. Riad Zarka could not have been more conveniently located. Staff extremely helpful, and breakfast brilliant. Great to sit in the courtyard in the evenings. We stayed in the blue room, which was really authentic, and the shower was lovely and the complimentary toiletries were great. We went shopping and returned with our bargains on a regular basis as Riad Zarka really is less than two minutes from the madness that is Marrakech. What a wonderful city and what a fabulous place to stay. Can't wait to bring our families back.

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank shefftrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

We stayed at this little hotel in Feb 07 for some couple of days. The hotel, which is an authentic old riad, is very well located in the medina, very calm but close to the souk. A lot of effort has been made in decorating the court yard, roof terrace and the rooms. Our room located on the groundfloor was very small but clean and with nice pieces of furniture. We recommend.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank My0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#259 of 502 in Marrakech
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Eliane
Riad Dar Eliane
#361 of 502 in Marrakech
323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#48 of 502 in Marrakech
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#281 of 502 in Marrakech
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Fabiola
Riad Fabiola
#288 of 502 in Marrakech
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
#289 of 502 in Marrakech
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zarka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zarka

Address: 143 Derb Aarjane | Rahba Lakdima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $55 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Zarka 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Zarka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zarka Marrakech
Riad Zarka Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing