We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A place in the sun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad de l'Orientale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad de l'Orientale
Ranked #333 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place in the sun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013


The place is absolutely fantastic. The staff are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The riad's manager, Latifa, is very aproachable and gave us lots of great tips for our trips around Marrakech. Couldn't ask for more :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamMPGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
69
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kleve, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Riad de L'Orientale is a very nice small hotel. The staff is really caring and very nice. Breakfast is yummy. There is also a nice roof top with a cosy corner where you can sit in the shadow when it is a bit windy or when the sun is to hot.

We really enjoyed our time there :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just had a five day break at the Riad de l'Orientale. The temperature was up to 45 degrees so the lack of air-conditioning and a fan which was on a timer were a bit of a disadvantage. But it was good value for money, well located (if a bit difficult to find at first) and Latifa and Rashid could not have been more helpful. Be aware that the area is traffic free and therefore you have to walk a fair way in the heat to get to the hotel. We did not try the dinners, but the breakfasts were good with home made cakes, jam etc. All in all a very good value break with lovely people looking after the riad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were recommended the Riad by a friend and couldn't have been mor epleased. I had been to Marrakech before and stayed in a lovely Riad however the location was so difficult to find that we needed a mobile phone to call the Riad in case we got lost - Riad de l'Orientale was however so perfectly located just tucked into the Medina minutes from the main square which made it so easy to find once the souks closed down in the evening. The staff were so friendly and I loved Mimi the beautiful house cat. The room was a lovely size and they had a beautiful terrace where we ate breakfast and soaked up some of the Morrocan sun. Would highly recommend staying here.


Stayed May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This jewel in the middle of the medina is what you have been looking for, really. Everything about this place is perfect. Others have already described the riad well, but the true gem in this riad is Latifah. Latifah is the manager of the riad and she will make everything about your stay wonderful. She will help you with your riad reservation, getting to the riad from the train/plane, suggesting places to visit, etc. Look no further than the Riad de l'Orientale if you want to enjoy a great time in Marrakech.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank foodfreakSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi - thank you for your kind words. I couldn't agree more re: the real gem in the riad - Latifa is utterly fantastic and we're very lucky to have her with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that it lived up to expectations. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future. All the best, Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, null, Uganda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited Riad De L'Orientale with a large group of friends and had a wonderful weekend. The food was delicious and the staff warm and welcoming. The medina is just around the corner as is the main square where we ate many a delicious morrocan meal. - Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We hope we'll see you again in Marrakech in the near future... Best wishes, Latifa & Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Loved staying here, in the middle of all the action but still quiet at night. The best was breakfast- fig jam on chapati or toast still dream about it and very friendly staff. Would def head there again if I get chance to go back to morocco.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawberryhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for the comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully see you again in the future! Hugo & Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#279 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kssour Agafay
Kssour Agafay
#406 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Mai
Dar Mai
#767 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Le Rubis
Riad Le Rubis
#274 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Lebakoua
Riad Lebakoua
#980 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Agdim
Riad Agdim
#262 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad de l'Orientale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de l'Orientale

Property: Riad de l'Orientale
Address: 8 Derb Ahmar | Quartier Laksour Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad de l'Orientale is a small, family-owned riad, situated in the heart of the Medina in Marrakech. The riad, a two hundred and fifty year old Moroccan courtyard house, has been traditionally restored and has uniquely attractive rooms, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing