We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place in the sun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad de l'Orientale
Ranked #268 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013


The place is absolutely fantastic. The staff are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The riad's manager, Latifa, is very aproachable and gave us lots of great tips for our trips around Marrakech. Couldn't ask for more :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamMPGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Riad de L'Orientale is a very nice small hotel. The staff is really caring and very nice. Breakfast is yummy. There is also a nice roof top with a cosy corner where you can sit in the shadow when it is a bit windy or when the sun is to hot.

We really enjoyed our time there :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just had a five day break at the Riad de l'Orientale. The temperature was up to 45 degrees so the lack of air-conditioning and a fan which was on a timer were a bit of a disadvantage. But it was good value for money, well located (if a bit difficult to find at first) and Latifa and Rashid could not have been more helpful. Be aware that the area is traffic free and therefore you have to walk a fair way in the heat to get to the hotel. We did not try the dinners, but the breakfasts were good with home made cakes, jam etc. All in all a very good value break with lovely people looking after the riad.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were recommended the Riad by a friend and couldn't have been mor epleased. I had been to Marrakech before and stayed in a lovely Riad however the location was so difficult to find that we needed a mobile phone to call the Riad in case we got lost - Riad de l'Orientale was however so perfectly located just tucked into the Medina minutes from the main square which made it so easy to find once the souks closed down in the evening. The staff were so friendly and I loved Mimi the beautiful house cat. The room was a lovely size and they had a beautiful terrace where we ate breakfast and soaked up some of the Morrocan sun. Would highly recommend staying here.


Stayed May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This jewel in the middle of the medina is what you have been looking for, really. Everything about this place is perfect. Others have already described the riad well, but the true gem in this riad is Latifah. Latifah is the manager of the riad and she will make everything about your stay wonderful. She will help you with your riad reservation, getting to the riad from the train/plane, suggesting places to visit, etc. Look no further than the Riad de l'Orientale if you want to enjoy a great time in Marrakech.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank foodfreakSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi - thank you for your kind words. I couldn't agree more re: the real gem in the riad - Latifa is utterly fantastic and we're very lucky to have her with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that it lived up to expectations. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future. All the best, Hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited Riad De L'Orientale with a large group of friends and had a wonderful weekend. The food was delicious and the staff warm and welcoming. The medina is just around the corner as is the main square where we ate many a delicious morrocan meal. - Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation! We hope we'll see you again in Marrakech in the near future... Best wishes, Latifa & Hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Loved staying here, in the middle of all the action but still quiet at night. The best was breakfast- fig jam on chapati or toast still dream about it and very friendly staff. Would def head there again if I get chance to go back to morocco.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strawberryhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for the comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully see you again in the future! Hugo & Latifa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#258 of 502 in Marrakech
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Al Kounouz
Riad Dar Al Kounouz
#106 of 1,170 in Marrakech
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Maialou
Riad Maialou
#52 of 1,170 in Marrakech
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
2,086 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad de l'Orientale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de l'Orientale

Address: 8 Derb Ahmar | Quartier Laksour Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $60 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad de l'Orientale is a small, family-owned riad, situated in the heart of the Medina in Marrakech. The riad, a two hundred and fifty year old Moroccan courtyard house, has been traditionally restored and has uniquely attractive rooms, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing