We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel---don't miss it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad de l'Orientale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad de l'Orientale
Ranked #334 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A jewel---don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This jewel in the middle of the medina is what you have been looking for, really. Everything about this place is perfect. Others have already described the riad well, but the true gem in this riad is Latifah. Latifah is the manager of the riad and she will make everything about your stay wonderful. She will help you with your riad reservation, getting to the riad from the train/plane, suggesting places to visit, etc. Look no further than the Riad de l'Orientale if you want to enjoy a great time in Marrakech.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank foodfreakSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi - thank you for your kind words. I couldn't agree more re: the real gem in the riad - Latifa is utterly fantastic and we're very lucky to have her with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that it lived up to expectations. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future. All the best, Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
69
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jinja, null, Uganda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited Riad De L'Orientale with a large group of friends and had a wonderful weekend. The food was delicious and the staff warm and welcoming. The medina is just around the corner as is the main square where we ate many a delicious morrocan meal. - Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We hope we'll see you again in Marrakech in the near future... Best wishes, Latifa & Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Loved staying here, in the middle of all the action but still quiet at night. The best was breakfast- fig jam on chapati or toast still dream about it and very friendly staff. Would def head there again if I get chance to go back to morocco.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawberryhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for the comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully see you again in the future! Hugo & Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Malden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Riad De L'Orientale was recommended to us by friends of friends and we were not disappointed, a true oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech Medina.

Latifa and Zacharia made us very welcome and were very helpful.

The meals we took at the L'Orientale were beautifully presented and delicious!

The accomodation is lovely and as described.

Good value for money and very different from a hotel. I would highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Julie - thank you for taking time to write these kind words an I am happy you had a good stay. We look forward to seeing you soon. Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We came across this place as it was recommended by one of my friends who had stayed a year ago. We were warmly greeted by the staff and they were all very friendly throughout our stay. The Riad is in a great location, very close to the main square. The rooms are a good size, very clean and safe and the breakfast gave a great start to the day. High recommended and would definitely book again on my next visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for the comments and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully see you soon! Hugo & Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

1. reasonable price
2. wifi is accessible in room (at least my room, number 3)
3. hotel staffs are really helpful (booking taxi, restaurants etc. on).
4. close to the medina ( old market), which is really easy to walk around
5. the breakfast is good and they will customize your order for free

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piaf_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Manager at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we're pleased you found us good value and hope to see you again one day. All the best, Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a great stay at Riad L'Orientale! Latifa and Zacharia were fantastic, answering all of our many questions and giving good tips for getting around and seeing the city. They even procured a couple bottles of wine (not necessarily an easy feat!). The rooms (we had the top floor suite) were clean, quiet (despite proximity to Jmaa el Fna) and cozy and had airco/heating (we turned on the heating the last night - brr!). We even had our own terrace for a little sunbathing. And the whole place had an authentic Moroccan feel. We were also able to do laundry onsite - very handy when traveling for a longer period of time. We had dinner at the Riad one night and it was the best Moroccan meal of the trip - by far - do it!! There was also bottled water and offers of tea (mint or English) whenever we wanted. And we're still dreaming of those Moroccan pancakes! Don't be put off by the rather long and dark passageway leading from the square to the Riad - it's perfectly safe and adds to the atmosphere! A little oasis just minutes from the crazy chaos of Marrakech - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Ashleigh - thanks very much for the kind words.

We hope you had a great trip. I know I'm biased, but (worryingly) I can't get enough of the pancakes too!! Hopefully we'll see you again one day.

All the best - Latifa & Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#280 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kssour Agafay
Kssour Agafay
#406 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Mai
Dar Mai
#767 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Le Rubis
Riad Le Rubis
#272 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Lebakoua
Riad Lebakoua
#980 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Agdim
Riad Agdim
#273 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad de l'Orientale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de l'Orientale

Property: Riad de l'Orientale
Address: 8 Derb Ahmar | Quartier Laksour Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad de l'Orientale is a small, family-owned riad, situated in the heart of the Medina in Marrakech. The riad, a two hundred and fifty year old Moroccan courtyard house, has been traditionally restored and has uniquely attractive rooms, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing