We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful, wonderful hospitality (unlucky on our last night)”
Review of Riad Al Faras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Faras
Ranked #898 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After booking 3 nights at Riad al Faras through hostelworld, we were immediately contacted by Anne marie via email, she was really helpful and even helped us book an overnight trip to Zagora, finding us a cheaper option when the private tour was beyond our budget. Definitely get an airport transfer or arrange to meet Youssef by the square as it isn't easy to find first time.

The riad was beautiful, clean and a wonderful escape from the noise and intensity of the city. Yousef was very friendly and helpful, answering questions and marking things on our map. Breakfast was served whenever we appeared in the downstairs lounge area and the roof terrace was a wonderful place to watch the sunset.

We liked Al Faras so much we asked to stay there again for one night when we returned from our trek. There wasn't a double available but the twin on the first floor was great. My only complaint with the hostel was that we did find a dead roach in the room when we arrived and another scuttled across my face (!!) in the night. I think this was mostly just very poor luck as the riad was otherwise very clean and well kept.

Al faras became our home from home in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinzx_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent a wonderful time in here, amazing entrée to Morocco for us. Staff was friendly and helpful. It's in great location, just a short walk from Jaama and not that hard to find after one or two trips. The offer of pickup from airport was really appreciated by us. Even though it's bit more than the price you should pay for taxi yourself, but taxis from airport often screw you up. And since we came at night we weren't in mood for arguing with them and he left us directly at Riad which we wouldn't find ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you are looking for the perfect Riad i cannot recommend this one enough. the staff are amazing and the Riad itself was just beautiful. The location was perfect and within a 5 minute walk from the main square it was a delight to return ' home' to the tranquillity and coolness of the courtyard, It reached the dizzy heights of 53* c during our visit and returning to the pool and air conditioned room was bliss. very relaxed and adorably approachable staff, We had the best week in Marrakesh and even though it was in Ramadam it made no difference to our holiday. Our room was clean and simply furnished and woke to the sounds of birds in the beautiful flowers tumbling from the roof sun terrace. Look no further as this is the peace of heaven you are looking for. Mel Wilshire UK

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melwangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were looking for a simple comfortable place to stay for our first few days in Morocco before setting off on a three week vacation in Morocco. We selected Riad Al Faras because it had air conditioning and a pool and the forecast was for extremely hot weather in Marrakech. We weren't all that interested in luxury or a full service riad. Riad Al Faras exceeded expectations on most every count. Breakfast was excellent, common spaces were immaculate, and service was very pleasant. My one piece of advice is don't try to find this place on your own. You won't. Resign yourself to paying some kid in the Square to guide you there or, better yet, arrange for Yousef to pick you up. You will save yourself considerable time and frustration. Once you have found it, getting to and from the Square is quite easy.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This riad is lovely in that it is charming and authentic! It is also very clean and has a lovely atmosphere.

The breakfasts were also really good and the location was perfect...right in the medina and close to everything.

What made it special was Youssef...kind, relaxed and pleasant host, and always wanting to help. In addition, there is also a lovely lady working there, her daughter and her granddaughter. They were all really lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I only intended to stay at Riad Al Faras for a few days but actually ended up returning there towards the end of our trip- we loved it! Yousef was unbelievably helpful, not only in picking us up when we got lost (free of charge) but in providing us with a lovely breakfast and information on where we could find the places we wanted to go. The room was clean and the bathroom had a great little dipping pool. Access to the roof terrace was available at all times, which is spacious and quiet- a wonderful place to retreat from the hustle and bustle of the medina.

It may not have been as glamorous as some of the other riads we stopped in but it was still absolutely breathtaking to walk in and find such a beautiful place hidden away in a seemingly normal street. For the price and experience it was by far our favourite.

(Do take Yousef up on his offer of picking you up from the airport- the taxi drivers at the airport will charge you three times the actual fare and ours dropped us off in the middle of nowhere. Yousef to the rescue!)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

A welcoming host Yousef, lovely rooms, comfortable sleep, beautiful decor and excellent central location in the medina. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Hadika Maria
Riad Hadika Maria
#636 of 1,187 in Marrakech
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#76 of 500 in Marrakech
2,136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,339 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#269 of 500 in Marrakech
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Faras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Faras

Address: 35 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #898 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $44 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Faras 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Moroccan house is located close to famous Jamaa El Fna Square (five minutes walking), in the heart of the best neighbourhood of the old Marrakech: The medina and its souks. This Riad has 6 rooms stylishly decorated to combine simplicity and comfort. The helpful staff at the guest house will be happy to organise a range of activities on your behalf such as cooking lessons. The staff members enjoy welcoming travellers from all over the world : lovers, families, friends or groups. Each room is decorated differently with charm and authenticity and has private bathroom and toilet facilities. The whole upper-floor is air-conditioned. You will appreciate the swimming pool in the patio and the nice roof terrace, where you may relax or enjoy some meals. Services : WiFi free access Meals (lunch or dinner) available on request Snacking Airport transfer available on request Blankets, fresh linens, pillows & towels are provided Activities in the Riad : Moroccan cooking lessons, diners with classic musicians, introduction to oriental dance, … Bedrooms: “Croissant de lune” : twin room, with 2 single beds, on the upper floor “Ciel d’ailleurs”: double room on the ground floor, “Caravane”: double room on the ground floor, “Etoile du Sud”: double room with four-poster bed, on the upper floor, “Reve d’Orient”: suite with four-poster bed, on the upper floor, “Deux mille et une nuits”: suite with four-poster bed on the upper floor. The staff could also help you for organizing activities such as excursions, horse-riding, hikes in the Atlas mountains or the desert, golf, hammam . . . Groups & Exclusive Use The Riad can receive up to 15 guests and can be hired exclusively, whether for a corporate event, hent party, birthday, or just a great opportunity to escape with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Faras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing