We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Haven in Marrakech!!! A Must-Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #52 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
1 review
“A Haven in Marrakech!!! A Must-Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Upon arrival to Marrakech back in March 2009, me and my partner arrived via an arranged pick-up to this hidden gem known as Riad Karmela!

Hidden in a dark, yet safe alley way with a large lowered door, we were asked to take a seat where we waited in the central courtyard of this place. We were greeted with Moroccan tea and pastries after we had taken in the beautiful scenery of the orange trees, little turtle (what a delight) and the tranquil water piece!

Nadia and Phillipe were amazing! We couldn't have asked for more, everything we would have wanted to know or ask about was addressed in the most thoughtful and informative manner before we were given a guided showing to our room and the rest of the Riad.
This would be home for a few days!

The website for Riad Karmela shows a tranquil and relaxing haven away from the busy streets of Marrakech. What can be seen from the website is an understatement!

The staff were amazing! They made an effort to ask us everyday if we would like to have dinner at the Riad during the evenings so that they could prepare through-out the day. First off - if you get a chance to eat here - do! The food is INCREDIBLE! Home cooked with amazing flavours, served with much care and manners as any 4 or 5 star restaurant! The staff do an amazing job - the center courtyard is transformed into an amazingly serene and romantic ambiance for dinner with mood lighting and wine if you so desire!

After a few tries, me and my partner decided we felt no need to experience dinner anywhere else - it was way to nice and relaxing to eat at Riad Karmela.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were able to arrange taxis, directions, a bottle of wine or drinks, field questions, organise spa treatments and offered as much help in the most polite and friendly manner. Staying here felt like we were both friends and/or Queens and Kings!!!

We were given the Aicha standard room - it was very quaint and the small details were lovely - the tiled bathroom and cast iron on the windows looking to the courtyard!

If I could find anything to complain about I would be really have to be picking - but the room can let a little noise in at times - however this IS Marrakech and any sound is of the culture and the city and something to be experienced!

Also the lack of locking the doors may concern some, however the whole time I was here I felt very safe and in a secure location.

Besides the absolute outstanding patronage of the staff, the Riad itself is very well-taken care of - it is obviously a product of passion for the owners. It is clean, well-kept and deliberately made for it's stayers to feel welcome, relaxed and comfortable.

After a few days of experiencing the busy Souks and finding our way through the bland Guerliz, we decided to stay the whole day at the Riad and relaxed atop with wine and olives - I don't think I had quite feltl this relaxed on a holiday in many years!

I would love to go back to Marrakech again, just to stay at this Riad.

I thank the staff, Phillipe & Nadia for their attentiveness and their beautiful home/Riad and only apologise it has taken me this long to write a review! Ten Stars, stay here if you go to Marrakech, you could not possibly be disappointed! In fact, book a trip to Marrakech just to stay here!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    271
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
198
475
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed with the Riad in June of 2009. From the moment we arrived, we were in for a treat. Knowing fully that this was a Riad and not a hotel, we got MORE than we expected. The staff, Nadia, Joel, Jimela, Abdou..all incredibly helpful, welcoming and warm. We were especially delighted to find a huge dinner with music and dancing planned the day after we arrived! We have plans to return with friends!

We stayed in one of the other nearby properties (but had full access to all of the services in the mail Riad), but enjoyed the trip back and forth, feeling as if moving around the streets was just part of the overall experience.

Centrally located and convenient, this is a GREAT Riad.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodtoGoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed in Riad Karmela which is in a great location North East of the Jma El Fna square in the medina. A short walk from the square, either through the Souk or another choice of winding alleys brings you to a solid looking door, behind which is a tranquil retreat from the excitement of Marrakech. The roof terrace, which looks out over the city is the perfect place to soak up some desert sun in the afternoon or to relax on the cushioned seating in the shade. There's also a jacuzzi which offers a little temparature control in the hot sun. Our room was beautiful with a four poster bed and a balcony which overlooked the courtyard. The owner and staff were all friendly and very accommodating. I would highly recommend Riad Karmela to anyone wishing to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa del Sol
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We have just returned from four days at the Riad Karmela. It is tucked away in the Medina within walking distance of the Jemma El Fna square (8 mins). The Staff and owner are very friendly, efficient and speak perfect English. Day trips from the Riad can be organised, we visited Ourika Valley, a great trip, and it gets you away from the hustle and bustle of the city for a day. It has a beautiful courtyard, a roof terrace for sunbathing with a small dip pool to cool down in, when in need of a rest from the souks. The contrast between the peacefulness of the riad and the lively bustle outside is wonderful. Dinner is recommended; we had a fabulous fish Tagine on our first night. The Riad is a peaceful, calm retreat, It is very good value, I would recommend Riad Karmela to anyone who wants to stay within the old Medina, and experience what Marrakech is all about.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nushka50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Suprised my husband with a holiday for his birthday. Not what I expected to be honest. Thought it would be more for tourists but is a proper village. However its about 8 minutes walk to the main square where there are stalls and a few restaurants so its close for this. Firstly the flight was delayed and awful flying with easy jet. Got to the riad later than expected. The first thing was we were told there was a mix up with the rooms. We had a choice of two rooms. We saw one which is in another building opposite and the other building is like a minutes walk but noone opened the door so we settled for the first one. I requested a double room but got 2 single beds put together. The standard room was not what i expected. Quite small and no toilet door just a thin sheet. We were given the suite for the last two nights which was lovely and worth staying in a suite. There are no locks on the outside for the doors. No room card or key. People can walk in and out but it seemed pretty safe to leave it unlocked. They have a safe in the room for valuables. For food there is no menu!! For about £18 it is a set menu. For me as a vegetarian there is a very limited selection. I got a morrocon salad which is seansoned vegetables and Veg Tajine which is cooked vegetables mainly potato with seasoning mainly. My husband who eats meat had chicken Tajine twice and lamb tajine for the 3rd meal. The food was definatley overpriced and not very nice at all. Dont get me started on the drinks !! A glass of wine is about £10 and a vodka and mixer is about £7. Horrendous prices. We asked for a massage and Hammam but on the day were told the Hammam was not working but the massage was very relaxing and lovely. The staff were really friendly. Nadia as mentioned in other reviews is very lovely and Mohammed is also very helpful. They organised some lovely excursions. Overall nice Riad and nice people but not nice food and definately not nice prices !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bina08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espelette, Owner at Riad Karmela, responded to this review, June 4, 2009
Thank you very much for the overall good comments on your stay and the staff. I am sorry about the confusion at arrival but the intention was to give you diferent choice over the 3 properties we manage. It is true that the one you finaly selected has a slightly lower confort (no doors but curtains in the bathroom ) but price is also lower . I will look at feasibility to add doors in the close future in the bathrooms. There must be a mistake on the cost of the drinks. A glass of wine is 2.6 £ and the full bottle is 12 Euros so 10 £ so i assume that even compared with UK it is reasonnable. Regarding the food, the Morrocan specialities are mainly Tagines and Couscous. It is true that you should not have had chicken twice and i am sorry about this. Comments on food are usually very good so i am surprised. I will see with the lady chef and improve the offer for vegeterian but this should not be an issue as thre are lot of possibilities to provide large variety of vegetables locally. We do not pretend been a restaurant and offer a la carte food, and this is why the menu change daily with full flexibilty when guests want something special or different.Once again , thank you for the nice comments on the staff friendliness and sorry for the few confusion during your stay . Best regards Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Cannot recommend this place enough! The Riad was magical, a peaceful haven in the madness of Marrakech. The short walk to the Jeema-El-Fna through the souks was a daily treat but returning to the Riad after a hectic day touring & fending off sellers was wonderful. We ate at the Riad twice during our stay and the food is highly recommended, definitely the best local cuisine! All the staff are friendly & more than happy to help. We stayed in the Kaiss suite which I'd recommend as it has a balcony overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

We were three women (three generations) staying at Riad Karmela. Overall, it was one step above the other riads we saw. The Riad is very calm, cozy and charming. The service is impeccable and very friendly. They work with a network of very competent and trustworthy guides and drivers, who can provide a great experience whatever you want to do. The food at Riad Karmela was the best we had during the whole trip, with carefully selected and freshly cooked ingredients (compared with the precooked and reheated food in many other places).
Special thanks to Nadia for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerLausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#18 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#75 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#59 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#68 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#28 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Property: Riad Karmela
Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing