We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Karmela
Nearby Hotels
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$56
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$399
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$635
$443
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$361
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$321
$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,070
$1,027
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$458
$439
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,404)
Filter reviews
1,406 results
Traveler rating
1,041
308
33
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,041
308
33
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmint tearoof terraceorange treesatlas mountainsan oasisthe hustle and bustlethe main squarebusy medinavisit marrakechplunge poolnarrow streetsjunior suitespa treatmentsbreakfast and dinnertagineairport transferpeaceful haven
Filter
Updating list...
838 - 843 of 1,406 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I packed a bag to go for a long weekend and thoroughly regretted not staying longer!

The food from the hotel dinner i had one night was THE BEST! (Ask for the deer with peaches and dates...)

When i go back i will be staying atleast 1 - 2 weeks with this Riad (or possibly in the 'Le Sultan' suite at their sister house - Make sure you ask about it... very cool secluded spot)

If i had to say anything negative...5 minutes later i'm still thinking...Oh - maybe a fridge in your room would be nice? but, they let you use their fridges in the kitchen anyway...So i really can't say anything negative - These guys even posted me some stuff i left behind in the rush for the airport! (i.e. Nintendo DS and games + jewellery)

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chris7231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Riad Karmela helped make our stay in Marrekech wonderful.

I booked it after reading the fantastic reviews as we wanted to stay somewhere that would give us a traditional and more moroccan experience rather than a bog-standard hotel outside the Medina. We were *not* disappointed in the slightest...

The riad is located on a side street about 10 mins walk from Jemaa Al Fna, and in the middle of the chaotic Souks. Although once inside the riad, it is hard to imagine that you are surrounded by chaos. It has a very peaceful and serene feel to it, with hardly any noise.

We booked to stay in Aisha room, but unfortunately the A/C was having problems so they put us in the Oum Kaltoum apartment - which was absolutely AMAZING! The decor is stunning with extra authentic touches everywhere. We did stay in the Aisha room for one night which was equally stunning. The rooms are much better than most of the 5-star hotels we have stayed in.

The staff were fantastic in accommodating our needs. We really appreciated their efforts, especially with our CONSTANT request for Mint Tea!!! - almost every night when we got back after dinner, we shared a pot of mint tea in the courtyard before bed and relax a bit which was just lovely.

I would recommend pre-booking a taxi through the riad to save any problems or hassle on arrival to Marrekech. We also booked the day trip to Ourika Valley through the riad (about 90 Euros) which was FANTASTIC and worth the extra cost. The driver spoke very good english and was able to answer all our questions. And the 1hr30min hike around the waterfalls was great.

Definitely recommend it.

(Photos to follow, but the rooms look exactly the same as they do on the website, if not better).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

I went to Riad Karmela with my family.
We were 8 people and we spent our Christmas holidays there.
Among all the riads that are available in Marrakech, I chose this one because it had a good quality/price ratio.

The place is really nice. When we got in through the small entrance door... wow! we thought we were in a small paradise.

The patio has a jacuzzi, orange trees, sofas, tables and a fireplace. Very relaxing.
The rooms are not luxurious, but cosy and well decorated.

And the most important thing:
the owners helped us a lot when we where in trouble!

A few months before arriving at Marrakech, we had booked a big 4X4 car for a seven days trip in the High Atlas. The car agency (I cannot remember its name) was supposed to bring us the car at Riad Karmela the day of the check out, but...... Surprise! There was no car waiting for us! The rent-a-car agency just called us the very same day they were supposed to give us the car, saying they were sorry but they had no car available for us.

Well, the owners of Riad Karmela found a 4x4 car for us, which is almost impossible during peak season such as Christmas and new year's eve.

If it was not for Riad Karmela, our vacations would have been a nightmare!

Last observation: meals at Riad Karmela are very good too.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ember26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Half a year later and we're still reminiscing about our Christmas at Riad Karmela. What a perfect place - gorgeous, serene, yet close to the souks in the Medina and only 8 minutes walk to Place Jemaa El Fna.

The owners and staff, Philippe, Joel, and Nadia were particularly helpful, extremely efficient and always gracious.

The food was always scrumpuous and varied, from the ample breakfasts to the tasty dinners.

We loved the decor and the variety of rooms. The inside garden and rooftop garden are delightfull with trees, fountains, pools plus secluded as well as general use areas for our convenience.

We highly recommend Riad Karmela and look forward to returning there.

Sincerely,
Craig & Diana Drossel
Key West, Florida, USA

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank STRAWBERRYKeyWest_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

A group of us took 7 of the rooms at Riad Karmela at the end of April 08. What a fabulous place - all very different but pleasant rooms, lovely courtyard, unbelievably quiet, good breakfast and very firendly staff. It's just a 10 minute walk to the Djemaa el Fna, once you know the way! I'd strongly recommend it to couples and small parties.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elgordoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews