We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“very spacious with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #52 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very spacious with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A big thank you to Riad Karmela
Firstly tho, I WOULD SUGGEST GETTING THEM TO ORGANISE A PICK UP FROM THE AIRPORT as its really not that easy to find first off. Once you know where it is its fine tho. Positioned right at the top of the souks so great location to the attractions up there like maison photographic etc.
The Riad was beautiful and huge! it had a lovely roof terrace with lots of different areas to sit at so not always under peoples feet. There is even a hot tub hidden up there, see if you can find it as we took a while :)
we were upgraded to the lovely suite Al Monsour which was a very generous size and had a bathroom i would like to replicate back in the UK.
Breakfast was varied every day which was nice, didnt have dinner tho so cant let you know thoughts on that.
Would certainly recommend, its wonderfully peaceful yet still a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    281
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
207
486
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harelbeke
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fantastic place, hidden in a narrow street just next to the souks, a real surprise and wow feeling when you arrive. Beautiful interior, we had a very quiet room and a delicious dinner on the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

It really is, as others have described, an oasis of calm. We loved it and will def stay again when we return. Lovely welcome. Beautifully decorated Riad, really stylish and simple. rooms are spacious. We kept discovering little courtyards and places to relax. Hats left for people to sit outside was thoughtful. The female staff were quite chilly to us during breakfast but everyone else was so helpful and friendly. We booked a good tour through the Riad. Great location too as its a short walk to the main square and the souks are on the doorstep along with the veg market, coops, hamman and a lovely little place to eat. Def recommend others to stay. brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid directly being over the courtyard if possible. The rooms are fine but it can get a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked here for 5 nights on our arrival in Morocco, we had an airport transfer (recommended as it would have been virtually impossible to find on our own) we were taken down lots of small streets that didnt look like anything special and then entered a tiny doorway into the riad - WOW! the whole place just looked incredible, running water, candles, trees was just beautful. Our room was great as well and the rood terrace - WOW again. beautiful place to sit and have a drink while listening to the call to prayer and watching the sunset :) It was a lovely peaceful sanctuary where we were able to get away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We loved it so much we ended up booking in for another two times while on our 2 week trip. I would highly recommend. GREAT value for money, the staff are so accommodating and kind. Just a wonderful place :)

Room Tip: Miriam (or something along those lines) is wonderful, but all the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyF1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Let me start by saying I am not what you would call an experienced traveller, so maybe a Riad in the heart of Morocco old town was not a good start. What I can say is thank god that the reviews I had read did not lie.

Joel & Bouchra are brilliant hosts. Nothing is too much hassle. The food was fantastic, the rooms were lovely.

there are so many little nooks and crannies to this riad, I think half a day should be set aside jsut to explore this! The roof terrace is a beautiful place to while away the afternoons too.

If you are looking for the full Morocco experience then this Riad is perfect, right in the heart of the Medina. The medina itself is, as expected, mental! Very busy, a real travelers experience. You do need to keep you wits about you when out and about.

as you can probably guess I cannot recommend Riad Karmela enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich197436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here a few weeks ago and from start to finish had a wonderful experience. We were picked up from the airport as arranged, even though we were quite delayed and our arrival time had changed a number of times. We were very glad of the guide to take us to the Riad as we would never have found it ourselves!! Stepping into the Riad was almost surreal as it was so peaceful, beautiful and tranquil! We stayed in the Hassam room which was spacious, comfy and clean. Initial I was a bit unsure as it opened up onto one of the ground floor patios, but it was quiet and felt very private. The riad was beautiful and well maintained; the patios cool and relaxing, so lovely with trees, comfy seating and tortoises! The terraces split into different areas for relaxing, sunbathing and eating. The service was amazing and the staff were all very helpful, treating us wonderfully and ensuring we had a comfortable stay. I would certainly go back again and recommend Riad Karmela to anyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flynn_thecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was returning to Morocco and what a return it was... Riad Karmela is not just a riad is my Moroccan home!
We had some delays at the airport and traffic so we were quite delayed, we booked a meal and at our arrival (10pm) the table was still waiting for us.
Anyway originally we booked the riad for one night, as wee were going to do a week of visiting friends and seeing Morocco, due to work commitments we had to change the booking to which it didn't seem a problem at all! nothing you will ever ask to any member of staff is ever too much trouble. On our return from the road trip we had our suitcases where we left them and they very kindly kept our laptop in reception.
We stayed 13nights here and met/revisited amazing friends Kamal, Mustafa, Said, Joel, the ladies everyone is kind and EXTREMELY helpful. If I go back to Marrakech I will not stay anywhere else! this place is paradise, a 10 min walk from the main square a 5 min walk from "la place des Epices" and you can almost touch the souques.
I feel privileged to have stayed here 2 years running.
Thank you ALL so much for making my time there unforgettable!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, however if you stay in the rooms by reception you may here the voices of peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArleteMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#43 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#66 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#44 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#51 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#60 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Property: Riad Karmela
Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing