We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Riad full of character!”
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #46 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Riad full of character!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Riad Karmela is a fantastic hotel, full of character. We stayed as a group of young 6 girls and loved our time there (End of March 2013). We sorted transfers with the hotel before we left England, and we had Kamal pick us up. This is recommended as taxi's can't get to the hotel as it is located within the heart of the old town. The hotel is in a great location, 10 mins walk from the main square and markets (suks), hidden within the alley ways of Marrakech.

On our arrival, we were served peppermint tea with Moroccan sweets and our luggage was taken to our rooms for us. Then we were given fantastic information about what to do/not to do in Marrakech e.g. not let local boys guide you to places and how much discount to get for items at the markets. The hotel made suggestions for us on using a spa, going to a Water Park (A MUST!) and places to eat. We even had restaurant door man walk us to and fro late at night back to the Riad.

The hotel were very good at arranging our taxis to places and our pick ups as well. It made our holiday stress free. Any thing used by the hotel was paid at the end of our stay, we didn't need to pay upfront for using their own taxis.

Rooms were clean. Fresh towels were provided and beds made each day. Cleaners are friendly too! We had two rooms, which were opposite each other. Rooms had a hairdryer too. Between both rooms, we had a little court yard with sofas. This was lovely when we wanted to relax after a busy day out. Rooms have a safe and rooms are locked with a padlock. Room has air con, but we weren't able to get hot air, when it became chilly at night.

Breakfast was continental....fresh orange juice, toast, english tea, coffees, cornflakes, jams and hot food such as omelettes and pancakes served. It was lovely to see the two pet tortoises out for breakfast too.

The hotel has a lovely roof top terrace, with gorgeous sun loungers and sofas. It was lovely to chill out after a walk in the square or to soak up the heat. The hotel very kindly also gave us extra peppermint tea as we loved it so much - complimentary.

As a group of 6, we wanted to enjoy the nightlife in the new town, so the hotel organised for us to go with Kamal. He took us to the best clubs and shisha bars in Marrakech. Great choices of clubs!

At the Riad, we could also change our money at a good rate.

Great hotel, would return again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FUDGE_BROWNIE85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    291
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
223
533
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

in march 2013 we´ve been the 5th time in riad karmela (7 days). and we´re again thinking of coming back as soon as possible - inshallah. we don´t know all of marrakech, but we guess, the karmela is one of the best places in this town to rest, to sleep, to talk, to chill and to eonjoy the absolute kindness of the staff and the charming furniture, ambience and atmosphere.
the team of patron joel is the best he could get, therefore is only few change. the girls and boys are all polite, helpful and the kindest in town. they always have time for a talk, for giving advise, and last not least for teaching a little bit of arab.
they don´t let you feel beeing a stranger in a strange country, they make you feel beeing at home in a fascinating culture and marvellous town and country.
we almost can´t await, saying merhaba to all again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPeHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Riad Karmela is a real gem. The place is calm and tranquil in the midst of the craziness that is Marrakesh. You have to walk down a maze of allies to find the place which just adds to it's character. We stayed there in the beginning and again at the end of our trip and when we arrived for the second time it felt like we were coming home. Joel and Bouchra were very helpful in arranging transportation and sightseeing excursions, they even stored our luggage for a few days while we did a trip to Zagora. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahoetravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgess hill
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you want a place to stay that is within the walls of the Old Town, I would strongly recommend the Riad Karmela. I generally stay in chained multinational hotels and I wish that the customer service offered by Joel and his staff was replicated by them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhhtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Riad Karmela.
All the staff were very friendly and were great at reccommending activities etc for us to do which they also took the time to help us organise. This included a trip to the Atlas Mountains and evenings out.
Would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicefitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great staying here, it really does look exactly like the pictures, maybe even better. It's in the heart of the authentic Old Town, so lots of locals as soon as you step out of the door, but if you ever need a break you can pop back in.

Am a huge traveler of various budgets and this is one of the best places I have stayed.

Room Tip: Choose El Nour for a more 'private house' feel. It's connected to the main Riad still.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyChalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This riad is at the end of an amazing small street - even smaller dead end alley - even smaller kind of covered alley (almost a corridor, o my god where are we going?) experience. Amazing and intriguing (and, as far as I could say, safe).
Situated in the heart of the old town, the first day you'll probably get lost trying to come back from the main square. This is probably the only inconvenience you'll experience, because once understood where to turn (in fact it's easy) you will appreciate the location of this hotel. Some hundred meters from the main square, just on the other side of the souk.
The contrast is strong between the area around the hotel, very messy and decadent (but very interesting for a few days) and the interior of the riad, where the only sound is the gurgling of the fountain, while you are taking a tea in one of the courts (the main one with the orange trees was my preferred). No real luxury, but the right decoration. You really feel the atmosphere of a wealthy merchant's house at the feet of the Atlas (snow capped) at the edge of the desert. The staff was very, very kind. The restaurant is good. Do not miss the green tea (3-4 a day was the average, any excuse was good), with the little local sweets (delicious, not too sweet and very tasty, the best I could find in town). The hammam of the hotel seems good (I didn't try it) for sure the massages are great (and cheap).
We used this hotel in January for 3-4 days and It was a perfect accommodation to see the town and run the half-marathon. Great place for a great town (particularly in January, escaping the winter), just consider that the taxi has to stop 50-100 meters from the hotel (book the transfer from the airport with the hotel, it is cheap and reliable) if this is not a problem for you I would really recommend this riad!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 499 in Marrakech
936 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#71 of 499 in Marrakech
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#36 of 499 in Marrakech
1,319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#68 of 499 in Marrakech
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Property: Riad Karmela
Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Karmela 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing