We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Moroccan Tardis. Never been anywhere like it, fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #49 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“It's a Moroccan Tardis. Never been anywhere like it, fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Riad is 8 minutes from the square. It is 10 yards off of a major walkway. It is down an alley that you wouldn't be advised to walk down because it is clearly for locals only. And then there is a door in the wall. And then you walk into the most peaceful, relaxing space. It is stunning. The highlights: Joel is an incredible host and Bouchra an incredible hostess. Nothing is too much trouble. The evening meal was sensational (three times!). Not cheap but worth every penny. The rooms have real charm. We had one on the roof which was great but the call to prayer was certainly heard. Our kids had one on the ground floor and they never heard a thing. The courtyards inside were incredible, the roof was an amazing area for total relaxation. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. Kamal picked us up from the airport and took us back, he was great (you must get them to pick you up as you will never find it on your own). The girls had a massage which they said was great. The internet was free at their 2 computers. If you go to Marrakesh stay in this Riad!

Room Tip: For isolation go to the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    266
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
195
472
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Now we have been the 4th time in the riad karmela - and we want to come back again - inshallah.
Marrakech is a great city, morocco a marvellous country - and the riad karmela is the place to rest, to settle down, to relax after the run through the souks and elsewhere.
The rooms are typically furnished, comfortable and you can feel like at home, joel, bouchra and her charming team always are kind, gentle and helpful - anytime, any situation. they fullfill your wishes.
this is my 3rd review about this riad, so i only could repeat me (if i would not stop here).
try the riad karmela, i am sure you will agree.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPeHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

A very pleasant riad, in a quieter part of the medina - and this is a good thing. Don't worry about getting lost - the vegetable market is close by, and a good landmark for finding your way back.

The superior room was very nice - spacious, clean, and nicely decorated.

We had a lovely dinner at the riad on one night, and made use of the hammam (which was very good and very reasonably priced).

Didn't have much chance to use the roof terrace due to poor weather, but there seemed to be lots of quiet areas that were well equipped with sun beds, chairs, etc.

Overall, very good value for money.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eynon-E-Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Lovely stay at this Riad, thanks to Joel and the charming staff: They were all really helpful before, during and after our stay. We spent three nights there, they also recommended us places to eat, visit or stay in other cities. Dinner was delicious, with a good choice of Moroccan wines. Breakfast is fine, be sure to be there on time or you'll miss warm bread! Thuis Riad is a must, with a nice terrace to relax and enjoy breakfast, a great courtyard, clean and quiet. Absolutely recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Núria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Despite initally being a little concerned on the approach to this Riad - it actually turned out to be ideally placed. The medina is a strange place and takes some getting used to with all its little twists and turns and narrow dusty alleyways, but this Riad was really beautiful. Walking distance to everything in the Medina, but out of the busiest areas so it's nice and quiet.

The staff were all lovely and very friendly. Upon arrival we were given mint tea, a map and a short talk on some highlights of the area. Particularly handy was the directions we recieved and hints and tips on where and, more importantly, where not to go a certain times.

The building is so pretty, several inner courtyards (look out for the two tortoises who amble around the main courtyard) with comfy chairs and sofas and a lovely large roof terrace that provides plenty of separate little areas affording privacy. A great sun trap in the afternoon.

The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated, all individual. The bathroom was great with a fantastic shower, always had hot water. Breakfast was fine, plenty of fresh fruit, breads and various other options and the coffee was good. For the evening their house red wine was also very nice - helpful considering it's pretty difficult to get one in the restaurants unless you are willing to spend quite a lot. Definately plenty of lovely places to sit and enjoy a glass after dinner out.

All in all this Riad was excellent and very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

It has all been said before! The location, 50 meters from the Souk, is so convenient but make sure you arrrange a taxi collection from the airport. The ambience is delightful, it has local character and most was most relaxing; lovely courtyards and roof seating. The staff were 5star charming. We had 2 meals both very good but not cheap. Breakfasts were excellent and the Riad's size meant they could be flexible, but, as in other Riads, you are dependant on other guests respecting your needs ie not being noisy at breakfast! We would love to return for another stay.

The only slight disapointmant was our day out. As there were just 2 of us, the Riad, passed our tour to the Ourika Valley to Sahara Expeditions who consolidated lots of travelers into a 14 seater coach. It took 1hr 10mins to get us all together and from then on we were in a rush. Arriving back late they droped us off on the opposite side of the souk!

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The riad was excellent and a beautiful oasis from the chaos of the medina. There were lots of places to chill out and the ambience was relaxed, quiet and very Moroccan. Food was fine and the hammam/massage was superb. Getting an airport transfer is essential if you want to have any chance of finding the riad. Joel and staff were very helpful with maps, restaurants, recommendations etc. My only caveat is that you need to feel confident navigating through the medina at night if you're going to make the most of the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 908nicola3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#55 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#53 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#22 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#62 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Property: Riad Karmela
Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing