We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #50 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a place like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Now we have been the 4th time in the riad karmela - and we want to come back again - inshallah.
Marrakech is a great city, morocco a marvellous country - and the riad karmela is the place to rest, to settle down, to relax after the run through the souks and elsewhere.
The rooms are typically furnished, comfortable and you can feel like at home, joel, bouchra and her charming team always are kind, gentle and helpful - anytime, any situation. they fullfill your wishes.
this is my 3rd review about this riad, so i only could repeat me (if i would not stop here).
try the riad karmela, i am sure you will agree.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPeHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    271
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
197
475
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

A very pleasant riad, in a quieter part of the medina - and this is a good thing. Don't worry about getting lost - the vegetable market is close by, and a good landmark for finding your way back.

The superior room was very nice - spacious, clean, and nicely decorated.

We had a lovely dinner at the riad on one night, and made use of the hammam (which was very good and very reasonably priced).

Didn't have much chance to use the roof terrace due to poor weather, but there seemed to be lots of quiet areas that were well equipped with sun beds, chairs, etc.

Overall, very good value for money.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eynon-E-Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Lovely stay at this Riad, thanks to Joel and the charming staff: They were all really helpful before, during and after our stay. We spent three nights there, they also recommended us places to eat, visit or stay in other cities. Dinner was delicious, with a good choice of Moroccan wines. Breakfast is fine, be sure to be there on time or you'll miss warm bread! Thuis Riad is a must, with a nice terrace to relax and enjoy breakfast, a great courtyard, clean and quiet. Absolutely recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Núria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Despite initally being a little concerned on the approach to this Riad - it actually turned out to be ideally placed. The medina is a strange place and takes some getting used to with all its little twists and turns and narrow dusty alleyways, but this Riad was really beautiful. Walking distance to everything in the Medina, but out of the busiest areas so it's nice and quiet.

The staff were all lovely and very friendly. Upon arrival we were given mint tea, a map and a short talk on some highlights of the area. Particularly handy was the directions we recieved and hints and tips on where and, more importantly, where not to go a certain times.

The building is so pretty, several inner courtyards (look out for the two tortoises who amble around the main courtyard) with comfy chairs and sofas and a lovely large roof terrace that provides plenty of separate little areas affording privacy. A great sun trap in the afternoon.

The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated, all individual. The bathroom was great with a fantastic shower, always had hot water. Breakfast was fine, plenty of fresh fruit, breads and various other options and the coffee was good. For the evening their house red wine was also very nice - helpful considering it's pretty difficult to get one in the restaurants unless you are willing to spend quite a lot. Definately plenty of lovely places to sit and enjoy a glass after dinner out.

All in all this Riad was excellent and very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

It has all been said before! The location, 50 meters from the Souk, is so convenient but make sure you arrrange a taxi collection from the airport. The ambience is delightful, it has local character and most was most relaxing; lovely courtyards and roof seating. The staff were 5star charming. We had 2 meals both very good but not cheap. Breakfasts were excellent and the Riad's size meant they could be flexible, but, as in other Riads, you are dependant on other guests respecting your needs ie not being noisy at breakfast! We would love to return for another stay.

The only slight disapointmant was our day out. As there were just 2 of us, the Riad, passed our tour to the Ourika Valley to Sahara Expeditions who consolidated lots of travelers into a 14 seater coach. It took 1hr 10mins to get us all together and from then on we were in a rush. Arriving back late they droped us off on the opposite side of the souk!

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The riad was excellent and a beautiful oasis from the chaos of the medina. There were lots of places to chill out and the ambience was relaxed, quiet and very Moroccan. Food was fine and the hammam/massage was superb. Getting an airport transfer is essential if you want to have any chance of finding the riad. Joel and staff were very helpful with maps, restaurants, recommendations etc. My only caveat is that you need to feel confident navigating through the medina at night if you're going to make the most of the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 908nicola3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We had a wonderful four night stay in Riad Karmela last week. The staff were friendly, funny and helpful with a perfect balance of formal hospitality and informal friendly banter. The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout and around every turn is a new place to sit, another sun terrace or a private corner. Breakfast was carried up to the roof each day for us to enjoy in the sunshine surrounded by beautiful flowers and birds enjoying the rooftops. The food was great - highly recommend to book for an evening meal (one days notice required) and the Argan oil massage was highly enjoyable! We took a day trip up the Ourika Valley to the Atlas mountains, organised by the Riad which I would recommend as a very interesting day out with a friendly driver.
The only (very minor) problem with our whole stay was as we were in the Yacout Terrace Suite on the rooftop we were woken every morning at 5am by the very loud call to morning prayer...so pack some earplugs!

Room Tip: Bring your earplugs if in the rooftop room as calls to prayer from the mosques very loud at 5am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#55 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#19 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#67 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#48 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#69 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#29 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Property: Riad Karmela
Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing