We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A well curated beautiful place to get lost in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Dallah

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Dallah
Ranked #799 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“A well curated beautiful place to get lost in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I highly recommend Dar Dallah if you are looking for an adventure with a great home base. I arrived in Marrakech with very little idea of what I should see or do and Patrick the owner opened up the city to me. Arriving in the middle of the Souke was a little confusing at first but made for an amazing adventure into actual life in Marrakech instead of a classic hotel life. Be sure to have his driver pick you up at the airport. Patrick recommended numorous great things to do while in the city and arranged a trip out of the city as well. The house is an amazing oasis with great funishing and an amazing staff. Breakfast on the roof every morning was an amazing bonus with a nice view and a great setting. The only drawback if there is one is that you might get lost finding your way home but thats where the adventure begins!
All in all, a great place to stay if you want to really get into the heart of the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamintalleysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Have just stayed here and it was amazing. Patrick who runs the Riad is the most helpful man and the area is beautiful. Use his driver Karim as it is near impossible to get close if you get your own taxi from the airport as we did, however at the nearby square he came and met us and walked our bags to the hotel by cart anyway. Rooftop balcony is beautiful and the walk through the souk to the main square, only 8min is lovely. Definately recommend to any friend to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strunky_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Just lovely - first time in marrakech and would definitely return. We preordered tagine on our first night and the setting and cooking was so good we did the same on our second night. Monaim could not have been more helpful and although our stay was brief we were made to feel at home and thoroughly spoilt at the same time. Hopefully we will get the chance to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjcurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

I've visited many places globally, on a local level, but I've never visited Medina, Marrakech before until last month.

You can read lonely planet, you can google Medina, you can base your preparation on scenes watched from movies (Sex and the City), however, you haven't lived and breathed Marrakech, till you've booked your stay at the Riad Dar Dallah.

I'm not going to take any credit here for choosing Marrakech as our short luxury getaway destination hobo style, nor finding Riad Dar Dallah, nor meeting the impeccable host and owner Patrick De Maillard who is responsible for creating this affordable haven for those with not only exquisite taste for adventure, but also catering creature comforts. I owe that to my boyfriend, who has all of that, plus a keen eye for style. This was his chosen destination for his birthday. Talk about breath taking Moroccan decor, wood burning fireplaces, rooftop breakfasts overseeing the city, aromatic teas, pancakes and the loveliest staff to help you settle in to this new culture with ease.

Can I even consider using the word "proximity," when I present the distance of this hideaway from Djemaa El Fna square? The best answer is Location location location - this place is in the heart of the buz,z the local colour and smells, the hustle and bustle from the people of the square, however, Riad Dar Dallah is stategically nestled peacefully within the life of this city, allowing guests to also enjoy a great nights rest.

Immersing in with the locals is one of my key elements of adventure. In the absence of this, you could very well be in any globally placed, all catered holiday. Patrick organised an array of visits for us, from a unique visit to walk in the Atlas mountains energised by a private cous cous feast prepared by a local family, to a Berbere Eco museum and back around closer home, to some exclusive photo galleries. Patrick also organised a special birthday celebration dining exerience for my bf at the Riad Dar Dallah, which was wonderful.

Riad Dar Dallah service, the suite we stayed in, the decor, the dining, the detail, the location, the hospitality and Mr. de Maillard made our visit to Marrakech a memorable one which comes highly recommended to anyone who is planning a trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babbeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stylish and elegant riad with excellent breakfast on the terrace. Patrick was charming and took great care with his directions, recommendations and instructions. This enabled us to access the area with maximum enjoyment in a brief visit. No air conditioning in our bedroom which in very high temperatures could be a problem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ford09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

After picked up by the taxi and walking through the souks, our first impression of Marrakech was overwelming. But then we got to a frontdoor and Patrick says: "Welcome in my house, which is now for 6 days your house".
Dar Dallah is a place where you can relax after visiting the attractions of Marrakech or walking through the Souks. Great rooms, with excellent service for all visitors, good and fresh breakfast every morning. We never forget our experience here! Thanks for our great honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Patrick the owner was away in Spain selling carpets. We were ably looked after by Monaim and his wife. He arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport. Because Dar Dallah is in the pedestrian (and moped) area of Marrakesh the last part of the journey was on foot with someone taking our cases on an old cart. It was the Volcano Ash period so the previous guests had been unable to leave. Monaim was able to provide additional accommodation next door until they could get a flight out. He also organised for someone to show us around and get our bearings free of charge. I say foc because you will never find anyone except a fellow tourist (or sometimes a local woman) who will show you the way without payment. The going rate seems to be 10 dirhams. Anything less is disdainfully described as "that nothing". If you look the slightest bit lost, even if you don't want to be shown the way you will find yourself surrounded by enthusiastic boys who lead you to wherever you are going and then demand money. The key is to walk slowly, get your bearings and NEVER look lost... although I have to say that is easier said than done. Marrakesh is a never ending rabbit warren which adds to the excitement.
The bedroom was a delight. All rooms have an en suite shower and overlook the courtyard. The huge breakfast was taken on the rooftop. Tea, coffee, fruit, croissants, rolls, toast, marmalade and eggs cooked anyway you like.
There was a mosque at the end of the road. The recording of the Immam calling people to prayer was set to go at 04:10 every morning. To be honest there are many mosques in Marrakesh so wherever you are you will be in earshot of the call which happens several times a day.. The sound spreading across the whole city is one of those moslem memories that you will treasure for life.
Monaim organised a personal taxi for the day to go into the Atlas mountains, supposedly to go where we wanted, but in fact there will always be preplanned stops along the way where you will be descended upon by people selling herbal remedies, jewellery, argon oil. If you don't want to do that you have to be extremely tough with your driver. Having said that we went along with his plan and had a great experience, even having lunch in the mountains with a genuine Berber peasant family.
All in all, once you have acclimatised to the way of life and perfected your bargaining techniques, the whole experience was never to be forgotten, and you could always call upon the services of Monaim to help out. We paid Monaim for everything at the end, even the taxi to and from the hotel and the day out in the Atlas Mountains, but they don't accept credit cards so it had to be in cash, either euros or dirhams. Getting cash was easy from ATMs or currency exchange booths.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Crusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#140 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#98 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#146 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Dallah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dallah

Property: Riad Dar Dallah
Address: 107, derb El Cadi | Azbest - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #799 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing