We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay - highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Auggy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Auggy
Ranked #149 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay - highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We selected this Riad based on the comments on Tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. The Riad is in a great location, a short and interesting walk from the main square and souks. The owners Michel and Anne-Marie were very welcoming - Michel even greeted us at the airport! - and had many useful recommendations regarding restaurants and attractions. We tried several restaurants on their recommendation and weren't disappointed. Our room was of a very high order and was serviced daily. Breakfast which varied daily was tasty and served on the roof-top terrace which had great views over Marrakech. I would highly recommend this riad for its hospitality, great location and Moroccan style - better than a traditional hotel anyday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandC94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

When we arrived we stayed at the Meridian for a couple of days to unwind (really lovely hotel) and then went to Rabat. On our return to Marrakech Michel had offered to book us a taxi from the train station for roughly £10, we originally agreed but changed our minds once we realised how overpriced it was - we ended up getting a taxi for 40 dirhams (just over £3). The rooms were clean (only saw two cockroaches) and the beds were reasonably comfortable but we both had trouble sleeping. Food at the Riad had to be booked in advance so we ate in the main square, the food was excellent and I'd highly reccommend the two stalls at the farthest end from the Riad. When we left we asked Michel to book a taxi for us to the airport, he told us we had to pay 100 dirhams to the driver and he would pay the man with the cart (the Riad is down narrow alleyways so the driver waits at the nearest road) but the driver insisted we pay the man with the cart on top of the taxi fare - this seemed as though it could easily be a regular scam? I emailed Michel to let him know what had happened and suggested he stopped using that driver - I did not get a reply. In my opinion it was overpriced at 80€ a night, the Meridian was cheaper than the Riad! I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alx09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

My wife and I visited this riad on several times during April 2011. The owners visited us every morning and were exceptionally nice and helpful as were the other staff. A very welcoming group overall who certainly added to the pleasant holiday. They were also all eager to help in any way they could when we had different requests. The pictures of the riad are a bit misleading but the riad itself is very nice, clean, and the rooms are very nice. The air conditioning worked well too which was great since it was very warm when we visited. It is very close to the main square which is convenient even though trips out of the old town area were a nice break. Overall, I would definitely recommend the riad especially for the wonderful owners and staff. They were great, funny, and very kind.

Room Tip: All the rooms were equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bccskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

Our Riad Auggy stay was perfect in every way. Michel and Anne-Marie had arranged an airport pick-up for us and the taxi took us to the Medina gate nearest the riad and from there our bags were taken by a hand cart through the cobbled streets. We were greeted with a warm welcome and mint tea and shown around the beautifully restored building. We stayed in room 1, on the ground floor just off the courtyard, which was lovely. Michel showed us the other rooms too and all of them are very impressive. Michel and Anne-Marie don't live in the riad, but one of them was there each morning and Abdul, Rita and Soumia looked after us perfectly. Huge breakfasts are served on the roof terrace and the peaceful lantern-lit courtyard awaited us on our return from the souks! This was our first riad experience but we can't see how it could have been better. Highly recommended! Jonny & Samera, London.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

Seriously great Riad - clean, great location, very helpful owners, good value, plunge pool, very chilled courtyard and nice roof terrace, good breakfasts, close to ..el Fna square and souks. Stop searching any further and book this one, you won't regret it. We ate a meal in the Riad too and that was a nice way to spend the last evening (lemon chicken tagine).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Sensible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

Found this Riad via ilovemarrakech.com but booked directly with the Riad on the phone. Nothing was too much trouble from the moment I first contacted the owners Anne-Marie and Michel.
They arranged a local taxi to collect from airport ( I believe each Riad may have one or two trusted taxi drivers affiliated to their Riad ) which costs around £10, from the moment we stepped foot into this beautiful Oasis in the hot hot dusty city our every need was catered for.
The location could not be better only 10 minute walk from Place Jemaa El Fna ( the main square), right on the edge of the vast Souks, and within a short taxi ride of everything else, thogh it was alot more fun walking across the city to the places of inerest. The staff are very friendly, breakfast very filling, fresh and served impeccably either in the cool court yard or on the sun terrace.
The live in Manager was very knowledgable and advised us on local restaurants, and helped arranged for their affiliated taxi to be our personal driver into the Orika Valley and the foothills of the Atlas Mountains- a day well worth the early start and a bargain at only £50.
The lack of opportunity to buy alcohol throughout the Medina was a disappointment but we found that at the end of each evening a bottle of wine or two bought at the Riad and drank on the roof top terrace helped us un-wind from the hussle and bussle of Place Jemaa El Fna.
The street food served in the main square was fantastic and very cheap, but the stall owners may talk you into having the selection of fish which is by far the most expensive item. I was surprised to find that the visitors to the square at night seemed to be mainly locals and tourists seemed not so obvious which all added to the sense of adventure.
Other sights we visited were:
Jardin Majorelle ( £2 in taxi and £3 entry) which was very pretty and relaxing.
The Souks where a map is virtually useless and be prepared to haggle (we bought a cedar wood salad serving set which starrted off at £16 and was bought for £2),
Palais Badi and Tombeax Saadiens ( very cheap entry 25 min walk )
The Tanneries which was extremely smelly, hardly any tourists (free entry but the local "guide" will expect a couple of pounds for his troubles)
Madersa Ben Youssef - an old redundant Islamis College which was very interesting ( £7 entry and couple of pounds for an un-official guide).
Jardin Menera - don't bother very ugly and tatty basically an olive grove around a very dirty smelly resevoir.
A guide book is a must. we found the AA one very good.
Locals will spot you a mile off and attach themselves to you as an impromptu guide and will expect paying.
the Atlas mountains are well worth a visit - a full day in your own personal taxi and driver was £50 and with added bous of his own personal knowledge.

I have to say after a packed few days it was the Riad Auggy and it;s staff that made our stay as good as it was.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan2008Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

This really was a great find. The Riad is just as it looks on the website and the owners are very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the service was excellent.
Transport to and from the airport was arranged and they even arranged our visit to the coast and the mountains.
The Riad is just a short 10 minute walk from the main square.
The rooms were clean and well decorated and towels were changed every day.
All in all a great experience!!

  • Liked — Quality, Hospitality, Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbh1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.2 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#91 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#71 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#316 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#107 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Auggy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Auggy

Property: Riad Auggy
Address: 129, Derb Snane | Mouassine - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing