We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamkast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamkast
Ranked #886 of 1,162 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2007

A friend and I stayed at this place early January - it was absolutely devine. The staff were fantastic, very helpful, friendly and informative. We stayed on the bottom floor and had our own private terrace which was a little chilly in January but would be wonderful in the warmer months. The bathroom was huge, rather like our own private hamman. The roof terrace was gorgeous and a sun trap - we had breakfast there every morning and then lazed on the lounge chairs reading until midday - even in January we picked up a good tan. The riad is in the old town but an easy walk to the souks which we found enchanting - we had no problems walking back in the evenings. I would definitely recommend this riad especially at this price its a real find.

  • Liked — Friendly informative staff, roof terrace, huge bathroom, cosy bedroom,being in old town & close to souks
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2007

This lovely Riad is a serene haven a million miles away from the bustling souks (though actually only a couple of minutes walk!). We had our own tiled courtyard, bathroom and rooftop terrace as well as a shared balcony area. The Riad has been beautifully restored and has an air of total tranquility and luxury.
The Staff were all pleasant and friendly. We were greeted with mint tea and Moroccan biscuits and, for the two nights we were there, absolutely nothing was too much trouble. We had a delicious meal at the Riad on the first night and, for our last night, they recommended a fantastic restaurant.
I would definately want to stay here again - just need an excuse to return to Marrakech!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank debdancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

After a disastrous week in Barcelona staying in an apartment that smelt like sewerage, we were apprehensive, particularly because Tamkast is so reasonably priced. We arrived at midnight and it was like something from a dream, a beautiful, spacious place with a courtyard, private balcony and roof. As there were 5 of us we had the whole first floor to ourselves. While the staff are very discreet they are extremely helpful. Tamkast is in the middle of the medina and next to the souk. Getting cabs to anywhere else is a bit difficult, even the small taxis have trouble in the tiny streets.

Highly recommended especially for families

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank fashmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2006

Tamkast is a beautiful little riad in the northern end of the Medina. The owner is lovely and greeted us with mint tea and pastries our own private courtyard while talking us through a map of Marrakech and explaining how to find the place (which is a little tricky). He was also happy to arrange bus tickets for us and give recommendations for restaurants and nights out.

The riad is exactly as beautiful as the website suggests. It also serves food and alcohol (relatively cheaply) and the lovely staff are only too happy to take your breakfast tray up to the roof terrace. The only downside is that it does not have air conditioning which would be useful in the summer. Best of all it was only 55 euros a night which was a real bargain - it was the cheapest of the three riads we stayed in and also the nicest!

  • Liked — The building, location, beauty, staff
  • Disliked — Lack of air con
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BG0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.6 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#90 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#73 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#156 of 501 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamkast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamkast

Property: Tamkast
Address: 10 Derb Sidi Bou Amar | Zaouiat Lahdar, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #886 of 1,162 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamkast is a familial guest-house located in the center of the medina of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tamkast Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing