We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning oasis of tranquility”
Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palais Sebban
Ranked #72 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Upon entering the old walled city, you walk through a windy alley, and I must admit, 'Blurghhh, where have I come to' goes through your mind. That is until you enter the thick wooden door of Palais Sebban.... Oh..My..God! What an enchanting and beautiful place. The first thing that hits you is the perfume that permeates throughout the building. The intricate and ornate craftsmanship of the décor is simply outstanding. Our suite was beautiful and perfectly appointed. There is a small courtyard with trailing Azaleas surrounding a plunge pool, and steps that lead up to a roof terrace - which is private and secluded, and perfect for a spot of sunbathing.
We had breakfast there, which was quite limited, but certainly enough to start off the day.

Making your way to the main square, is a little confusing to start with - there are a myriad of alleyways, but follow the crowd and you won't go far wrong.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 638 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Dont be put off by the alleys you have to go through to get to hotel, it is worth it!

Great room in tranquil garden that was very near Medina but far enough away to relax. Close to Kosybar and restaurants, very handy for shopping and all sights.

Bit perturbed as to why the fly attraction table is put out a breakfast? Pretty grim to have a million flying objects eating sugar beside you!

All in all. Superb accommodation, good staff and a restful experience.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rubedoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed with my wife at the Riad for four nights from 11th - 15th August. The Riad is amazing! The Riad is situated amongst winding old alleyways but once you are inside you will be mesmerised by its traditionally styled décor that gives it an almost palace like look. The pool/ dinner area look beautiful and are an ideal place to relax and wind down after a long tiring day.
The bedrooms are really well maintained and again, beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style. The room we had was comfortable and air conditioned. The only downside was that the air con was very noisy! For a couple, you really can not go wrong by staying at this Riad.

Upon arrival, you will be welcomed by Mustafa and some delicious mint tea and then escorted to your rooms immediately. Mustafa was very helpful, informative and pleasant at all times and was very frank with all his advice. All the staff were brilliant but spoke little or no English. Might be an idea to brush up on your French.

Although it is located in a couple of alleyways, the place is completely safe and my wife and I had no problem waking through the old, cobbled streets late at night. The main square/medina is only a 5-10 minute walk away so you are not far from the hustle and bustle of old Marrakech. Surprisingly, you will hear nothing from the ranting and raving of the street entertainers in the main square. If you stay close by here, do not pay more than 30 dirhams to go to the New part of Marrakech and not too much more than a 100 dirhams to get to the airport.

Transfers and excursions organised by the Riad are a little on the expensive side so I would recommend you organise them yourself. Breakfast was also a little on the limited side for a 5 star Riad so you may want to eat else where.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place just not the breakfast or the excursions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saracen786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. It is an amazing place.

Excellent location for exploring the city. Staying here, you get a true feel for the culture of Morocco.

Only 5 minutes walk away from the main square. Do not be put off by the winding alleys you have to negotiate on the approach to the Riad. You soon get used to them!

We ate here on our first evening, and although the menu appeared limited, the food was excellent.

We were upgraded on arrival to the Mogador Suite which was lovely.

The buffet breakfast was very good.

The pool and surrounding area are lovely, and it was great to return to use these after a day out around the hectic city!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This Riad is a beautiful oasis of tranquility in the the centre of Marrakech. The location is a few minutes away from the main square, yet inside the building is stunning. Our rooms were huge and decorated very traditionally. Downsides were the initial impression given by its location down a back alley and a less-than-friendly receptionist. However, these were soon surpassed by the amazing Riad and all the other staff couldn't do too much to help. Breakfast and the small pool were good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_CWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The staff were mostly very friendly apart from one of the receptionists who wasn't. Luckily the Director of the company was staying and she couldn't have been more helpful when we wanted a late checkout which British Airways had said we had. The Dades room was spacious and the bathroom adequate. I was horrified to find a cockroach about 2 inches long under the hairdryer on the first evening and never really relaxed after that. The breakfast was OK but a bit of variation would have been good. Nisham the waiter was lovely and extremely helpful. We wanted lunch but there was only one menu which was extremely poor if you were eating there in the evening as well. The first day the chef made us a sandwich of tomato, cheese and egg with chips but refused to do so on any of the other days saying that he had his menu and would only stick to that. They really need to consider a lighter offering for lunch as it is hard to eat a huge meal at lunchtime in that heat. We ended up eating a plate of chips and a boiled egg. There are only so many tagines you can eat in four days! Lovely terrace to sit on in the evening which was very relaxing after visiting the horrendous Medina Square!!
The spa is the worst one I have ever seen abroad with one person available. I had a massage and had to lie on the same towel as the man that went in before me with wet trunks. They should really change the towels for each person. It didn't smell nice and there was no relaxing music.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mojosbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We transferred to our new accommodation after the previous two nights in another Riad which was included in our tour. Thought we'd left and moved into the palace! The room was large with a good sized bathroom and separate changing area. The best breakfast we'd had in fourteen days! The staff were friendly and helpful. Good location close to the square. Luxurious surroundings, lots of areas to sit in, pool included.

Room Tip: We stayed in "kountabia" room-not sure if spelt correctly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belindas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#76 of 502 in Marrakech
556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 502 in Marrakech
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#62 of 502 in Marrakech
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#83 of 502 in Marrakech
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#99 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $93 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing