We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palais Sebban
Ranked #67 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and my friend have just arrived home from our stay at Palais Sebban, we stayed for 4 nights and I have a lot of positive things to say about my stay;

The riad really is absolutely stunning and the pool area is a lovely and quiet place to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech

The staff were extremely polite, helpful, attentive and friendly, they really made our stay special and made us feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived. I really would suggest that if you don't speak any French that you make an effort to learn some basics before you go as it is really appreciated! Our room was kept very tidy and clean by the maids every day, the air conditioning was very efficient and quiet and we heard absolutely no noise at night.

It is in a good location and only a short walk from the square so it doesn't take long to find your bearings!

Thank you Palais Sebban!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPolwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    131
    35
    15
    8
See reviews for
97
304
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We arrived quite late, so after checking in, we left our luggage in our rooms and went down for dinner. 10 minutes later, I returned to the room to collect something I had forgotten only to find the porter in the room. When questioned, he claimed that he was looking for a cat. We found that very bizarre !!
It is veryyyy expensive and the food is average. It is a very pretty place but nothing else is good about it. The breakfast is very poor and when you ask for more juice then they want to charge you extra. I have not come across any 5* hotel in the world when they do this.
There is no air-contiditoning anywhere except in the bedrooms and the pool is the size of a jacuzzi .
I would not come here again. Not worth the money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maylis A, Responsable commercial at Palais Sebban, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
hello,
we thank you for taking the time for giving your opinion.
I find it a shame that you do not garlicky m talking about the story of a cat, it would be nice to know what it was like the person who told you that.
Once your luggage is filed, the client retrieves the keys and therefore we can not rerentrer in the room, except the maid the next day under the responsibility dde governess
for the price of the restaurant prays vary from 60 to 180 drinks from 20 to 180 also, if I Donnier your travel dates, we could understand why it does not like you and so correct.
for the pool you have noticed during your stay as we contruisons second.
it's really unfortunate that you do not hate it m talking during your stay and we sincerely regret having been n satisfy you.
Remaining at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

A calm and tranquil retreat from the bustling medina-this riad is superb.The staff were all lovely-especially the man who met us outside the medina and carried our cases there. We were upgraded to a suite with a private terrace-our sons had a standard room which was also great. The best thing was the roof terraces-great views and comfy sofas and chairs dotted about to provide privacy. Small pool but deep and cool-in a beautiful position with amazing tiles (actually-amazing tiles throughout!) on the ground floor courtyard.
Food was served here-had breakfast and one dinner-v good with helpful staff.
This felt like staying in a friends (very very) smart house-highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goudhurstgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maylis A, Responsable commercial at Palais Sebban, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
hello,
we thank you for taking the time to put your Chill on our Palace. It is important for us to meet and are happy to help you relax.
We commended the gacon you waited, you appreciate your attentions.Nous remain at your disposal, and we wish you a good life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Riad itself is beautiful and a very comfortable place to stay. It is very well located and the pool and terrace are excellent. We had a wonderful stay. However, on returning home, I found that a number of valuable items had been taken from my bag whilst it was left with the reception staff on the last morning. I was extremely disappointed that this had happened and hope the staff will address this.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maylis A, Responsable commercial at Palais Sebban, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello,
you have booked a standard room and you had an upgrade in prestige.
You stayed with us until Friday, August 10.
Rooms are assigned to clients from 14h to 12h.
You stayed with us until Friday, August 10 and all is well spent.
You have left the hotel at 11:30, you could have left your luggage in your room, if you go down the reception it remains your responsibility as it is displayed in the lobby.
You called to report two hours later that you forgot on the terrace or poolside a scarf that we have indeed found in the pool with a book that we wish you the second time you were talking about a scarf, a book and 200 pounds, the third time after 1/2 hour you were talking about a lack of headscarf and cosmetics.
The fourth call on Aug 12, around 18:30 hours (local) you called to demand the absence of a scarf (that you forgot at the pool) in cosmetic products, a shirt, and a book.
Finally, today you're saying that you noticed the lack of make-up once we arrived home.
Finally today, you are missing a necklace so important that you set for four days you notice his absence.
I am surprised that your list grows relentlessly.
The Palais Sebban is a serious enterprise with a dedicated staff, it is incomprehensible that an employee can put games in the loss of its use for the object of no interest to them.
We never them this kind of claim, please kindly send us your instructions to get your scarf and your book. We are sincerely sorry that you can believe that we could come to your abused.
there are very important to us that you believe in our honesty, the whole team is old and serious, and was really shocked that you may have suspicions about their honesty.
We hope you eventually find your items, at least here only your scarf and your book unsupported by quequ'un but forgotten by you is at your disposal.
Professionnaly dedicated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The staff here are the friendliest and most helpful I have ever come across. As soon as my boyfriend and I arrived we were given five star service. We were meant to be in the Mogador suite but we were actually upgraded to the jaw-dropping Berbere suite which has its own large private terrace. Not that you would need it as the roof top terrace is very large, stunning and almost always secluded. I was celebrating my 21st birthday at the Hotel and the management organised a special dinner for my boyfriend and I on the highest part of the roof terrace. They scattered flowers up the stairs and lit candles everywhere and even carried a sound system up so we could have music playing! We were made food off the menu which was completely delicious. Our main course was actually a dish made only at moroccan weddings! I would recommend having a few meals at the hotel, the food was the best we had tasted in Morocco and also get one of the lovely massages. The management was helpful in every single possible way they could. They went beyond themselves to give us a great experience. Thank you Palais Sebban! Hopefully see you soon.

Room Tip: Berbere suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hi I recently stayed for two evenings, the building itself is very well restored and elegant. The service at the restaurant area was poor, and the food was average at best (I think i'm being gracious, it was very overpriced and barely as good as food available for a fraction of the price nearby). A few let downs as there was no wifi in the room, and again for the price, I would have expected someone to meet us at the medina gates and walk us into the hotel as it is quite difficult to find. I have stayed in Marrakech before at a riad in the medina for less than a quarter of this price of the Palais and the upcharge wasn't worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andruski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsable commercial at Palais Sebban, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Hello,
We wish to thank you for your feedback. It was important for us to know the room and the dates of your stay to better understand your complaints. Unfortunately I can not find your name in our file. For the price it is important to compare the comparable, in Marrakech you can find any such classification and the price. We offer a premium service for a reasonable price compared to establishments offering the same criteria as our establishment, all our employees the wages for labor legislation and all have social security cover and insurance. This we think is a priority and is as important as the architecture and the situation of the institution. The Palais Sebban is a genuine place of 17 ° s we enjoy every day we strive to be the most in tune with the expectations of our customers that is why in autumn you will find a heated pool.Wifi for the traditional thick walls is a great inconvenience and some do not allow room to enjoy it but you will find in the reception of the keys to connecting with you.
Our Chef Hussein offers contemporary cuisine combining traditional to modern requirements, and on two cards, a snack lunch and a restaurant, you will find a range from simple club sandwich salads to sophisticated 80dhs between 150 and 180 dhs. A mixed grill to 100 dhs to michoui cooked to order at 150 dhs. The desserts range from 40 to 150 dhs. Our cuisine is prepared with fresh products of first quality.
We are mainly there to serve you better and make sure that every complaint is the subject of a study to provide the earliest possible improvement.
Remaining at your disposal, please contact us to better prepare for possible stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in June, pictures don't do it justice its so beautiful in reality. Staff are very friendly, we were prepared for the wake up call from teh Mosque at 4:30am by taking earplugs which worked! Lovely areas on the terrace to sunbathe relax away from the madness of Marrakech! Only advice really that I would have liked to have been aware of was the beers are expensive in the hotel, & its very difficult to get a beer with a meal etc outside the hotel within walking distance, we also tried (& failed) to find somewhere local to buy alcohol for our room fridge, we got some eventually (thanks to the very helpful reception at Palais Sebban!) but at an extotionate price. No negatives though, would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smokeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#69 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#56 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#36 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.8 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Property: Palais Sebban
Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing