We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palais Sebban” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palais Sebban
Ranked #61 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Palais Sebban”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

A spectacular place to stay. Excellent location and a wonderful cultural experience. We rented two luxurious rooms for a family of 4. Staff were friendly, happy and helpful. No trouble with the food. You have to be a little tolerant on plumbing, electrical and privacy, as it is 100s of years old and a heritage experience, but it was very clean and we would gladly go there again. My only complaint is with the WIFI, which was up and down a bit and limited to one public area.

As with most Riads, the outside is unkept and one has anxieties as one approaches the property, but once inside it is like Dr Who's Tardis and is a wonderful
Oasis in the Medina.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littondoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    129
    35
    15
    6
See reviews for
95
300
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Highly recommended. A tranquil place away from the hustle and bustle of wonderful Marrakech. Friendly staff always willing to help. Enjoy the calling from the mosques from the roof terrace

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skiboywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We visited this Hotel on the 7th Decmber 2011 until the 12th December, we were greeted by the traditional Mint tea, and the staff were very friendly, we were immeadiately upgraded as the hotel did not seem to be busy due to approaching off season j( Jan - March) but that suited us fine, its a wonderful place, does not feel like a hotel, more like a big mansion, on site massage available, they will cook the food the way you would like, 2 workers spoke basic english which was good enough, this hotel is literally in the old town area, when you are inside you do not hear any noise, as soon as you step out and walk onto the main street it is manic, its literally a 5minute walk to the Famous El fana square, where it is extremely busy, taxis are available outside the hotel, although be sure to arrange a price before getting in, 50 dirhums is ok, however if there are more people in our case 6 we had to get two taxis and they charged us 100-150 dirhums ( £4-12) its best to find a driver before you go, we found one whilst out there and he took us to all the places we wanted to go to, the clubs are on the new town side which is approximately 5 mins away in taxi... overall a fantastic hotel, for me i just wished it was in the new town area, as i didnt like the busy roads and the hussle and bussle.. i would stay there again as the staff were excellent and the food was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h20_nav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I just got back from a 5 night stay at this beautiful riad and miss it already!! I booked it based on the reviews from this site and was not a bit disappointed! Every inch of this riad has been beautifully designed and furnished and leaves you in a spin with its swirls of mosaic, stunning decor and hints of jasmine which are burned at every corner.

The staff were fantastic, especially the reception staff who are always on hand to help and ask about your day, and they went so far to make the 5 days memorable for us. They even went and found us Imodium after an unfortunate night at one of the stalls, and got a huge bunch of roses delivered to our room for my birthday!

The riad is a 5 minute walk from the jemaa el fna and main mosque but is so lovely and quiet in comparison. It is located down a few dimly lit walkways, which slightly worried us at the beginning, as they seemed very remote and a bit eerie, but after a night or two we realised how amazingly atmospheric they were, as the lights cast shadows across the next forked walkway, and often spent ages on our way home at night taking photos and exploring!

If you are wanting to visit Marrakech and don't want to stay in one of the hotels on the outskirts (I wouldnt, having seen them-I don't see how you could possible experience the real Marrakech by staying in one), book this riad, I just don't see how it could be beaten!!

Room Tip: We got a free upgrade to Tichka room as it was my birthday, which was very grand-on three tiers with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

My fiancé booked a 4 night stay at the Palais Sebban for my 30th birthday, and as it was our first time in Morocco we were super excited about the whole thing!

The journey to the riad itself was a little scary at first as it is down quite a few winding streets - but we later learned EVERYWHERE is like that - location and outside appearance seem to have very little impact on what a place is like once you step foot through the door! So don't be put off by first impressions!

The definition of a ‘Riad’ is basically a central courtyard with rooms stacked high around it – there is usually a terrace on top too – we were told that we should stay at a riad for a more traditional experience in terms of cuisine and lodgings. We were not disappointed!

The Palais Sebban is like some sort of perfect paradise - from the mind blowing beauty of the mosaic tiling, to the delicately perfumed air of jasmine, to the labyrinthine terraces for exploring....pure heaven! Especially after a hard day haggling in the souks, this place has a magical ability to instantly relax and calm the mind and body...

We stayed in the ‘Telouet’ room which has a private terrace above the pool area – overlooking the main courtyard. It is perfectly decorated in green polished plaster, orange mosaics, intricately painted wooden doors, and beaten brass fittings. We had everything we could possibly need, including fluffy bath robes, a giant bed, and a safe for all our travel documents and spare cash (not that there was any of THAT left by the end of the trip!) I am absolutely in love with the ‘Telouet’ room and would definitely ask for it again!

The riad staff were attentive and well mannered – they all went to any length to make our stay special... and we can both recommend the onsite restaurant, bar, and mini-spa! I had henna designs drawn on my hands and feet and they were absolutely gorgeous - I chose to have this done at the spa rather than cheaper on the street, as I have heard that the black henna the street vendors use contains chemicals - being a sensitive sort I stayed on the side of caution! We ate breakfast each day at the riad which was wonderful - lots of ham, cheese, fruit, and a selection of crepes - I recommend the savoury Moroccan crepes with lashings of spready cheese and a sweet hot chocolate... yum! We tried many of the tagines on the evening menu too - including a speciality version that had to be ordered 48 hours in advance so it could be cooked slowly in a bakers oven in the medina...it was pure heaven to eat - the meat simply fell off the bone...truly delish and heavily recommended!

Basically I could rant about our trip all day long, so in short - we visited many of the sights in Marrakesh and did most of the ‘recommended activities’ all of which were a dream – if like us you are just two Brits in search of a ‘different’ place to visit I cannot recommend the Palais Sebban and Marrakesh enough – we most definitely be back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: The 'Telouet' room has a private terrace on top of the pool building and overlooks the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 66Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had a suite which was lovely - only issue was it overlooked the main courtyard which is where the resturant is, the windows to the rooms are not that tight fitting so you could hear the music and chatter etc until every one had gone home..... the same problem in the morning from, 6am staff are setting up breakfast. So kept awake until late, then the next morning woken up agian. Otherwise a nice place, with good service and very nice food (we ate in the resturant 2 evenings) Breakfast was okay nothing special and there were quite a lot of insects buzzing around whilst you are eating (but that maybe the time of year ?).
The best thing about this Riad is if you want to relax during the afternoon it is really peacful and perfect setting.

Room Tip: Don't book around the main courtyard as too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNewell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in October and would highly recommend it to anyone/everyone.

Room: we stayed in one of the standard rooms (Imilchil) which was absolutely lovely. If you want to spoil yourself, go for a more expensive room/suite but you won't be disappointed by the standard rooms. Very comfy bed, lovely furniture, small mini fridge, decent enough hairdryer, aircon, quiet (although you could hear people walking past the internal window if they were talking), safe (with key lock), enough wardrobe space etc. Small toilet and shower room which was very clean. Shower was fine (and better than I expected in terms of water pressure but not very strong).

Riad: Very very very clean! The team started cleaning in the morning and didn't finish until the evening - they cleaned it from top to bottom every single day! Also, stunningly beautiful. Check out the pictures on the website but believe that they don't do it justice. The furniture is all gorgeous and I wanted to take it all home. There is a resident cat and tortoise!

Food: Breakfast was great - lots of pancakes (different styles), fruit, bread, eggs (hard boiled/fried/omelette), yoghurt and the most amazing fresh orange juice ever. Constantly re-stocked during breakfast hours so it didn't matter what time you got out of bed.

Lunch/dinner/drinks: We're both vegetarian and there were a couple of veggie dishes that were very tasty (veg cous cous, veg pasta with argan oil, and a starter of moroccan salad which is several chopped spiced veg dishes on one plate and quite filling). Drinks - good choice. We had a very nice moroccan red wine (Medallion I think it was called) and Casablanca beer (lager) was good.

Staff: brilliant. Very friendly and helpful but not at all overbearing. Reception staff helped us to book a day trip to the Atlas mountains (more later). Waiting staff were just lovely and happy to chat.

Top tip: Go up on the terrace at night to look at the stars and also at dusk to listen to the call to prayer from all angles. Magical!

General Marrakech stuff:
- vegetarians - it's very tricky but we enjoyed a very cheap pizza at Venezia Pizza (now called something else and part of a hotel) on Mohammed V ave. (views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the noise of the cars on Mohammed V), Earth Cafe (venue not v nice but food was excellent and cheap), and Narwama (Thai, Moroccan and European food, good veggie choice, expensive, brilliant decor).

- pay £40 and spend a day at the Mamounia hotel poolside and be treated like a rock star (take your own lunch as it's v expensive to eat/drink there). We spent the day in the pool and then got showered and changed (they have lovely showers with soap/shampoo and hairdryers/mirrors) and went for cocktails in the Churchill bar (gorgeous but £25 a cocktail!!!)

- if you go on a visit to the waterfalls in the Atlas mountains be warned that you pay extra on top of your trip cost to be guided to the waterfalls. It's totally unnecessary but our guide (Mustafa) was lovely and pulled me up and down the rocks when I was wearing stupid shoes so we didn't mind too much.

- all the rest is in the guide books.....

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Imilchil is a standard room but was perfect for a couple. No need to spend a lot of time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#58 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#69 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#95 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Property: Palais Sebban
Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing