We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar R'mane
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$237
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$468
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$455
$308
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$425
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$250
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,058
$1,020
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
63
19
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
19
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful riadmoniqueelfrenchterracesouks
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 89 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We have just arrive back after staying in Dar R'mane (apparently this is Arabic for House of the Pommegranite) from 7th - 17th July 2008.

The hotel itself was found at the end of a labyrinth of alleyways that we thought we'd never find our way out of (but was actually very easy to navigate once we stopped and looked).

Stepping through the doorway into the riad was like stepping through a portal and leaving the noise of Marrakech behind for an oasis on calm.

Our room was as authentically and beautifully accessorised as the rest of the riad, it was certainly worth visiting to see the decor alone!

As the other reviews have stated, the staff at the riad don't speak a lot of English, but we were in Morocco so didn't expect this - the language barrier was certainly not a barrier to their hospitality. In fact, on a number of nights we sat up until late, improving our French, talking to Moo-moo (short for Mohammed) about everything from the practicalities of the best places to find Moroccan delicacies and where to visit to the differences between our cultures. A lovely guy and all this with our very poor French!!

The rooms are basic (if you are used to the luxuries of big hotels), but are clean, comfortable and authentic. It was amazing how cool the rooms stayed when it was 40c plus outside. Because all doors opened onto the central courtyard, it was easy to hear what was going on outside, but the rooms themselves remained private.

My one criticism would be that the "bar" quoted in the brochure, was manifest in only a couple of cans of beer and bottles of wine in the kitchen fridge - but you have to recognise that alcohol does not play the same part in Moroccan culture, as it does in other countries.

The Djem el Fna was apx 3 or 4 minutes walk away (although it can take longer to negotiate the souqs, especially if buying) and was everything I expected (and more), never before have I encountered a better place to fit the term "melting pot", everything that makes Morocco unique was there - a fascinating place.

We had a thoroughly pleasant stay in this lovely little riad and would recommend it to anyone, who wants to sample a bit of relaxed Moroccan living.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarLinStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed at Dar R'mane last week.we booked with Kuoni via our local agent.As the previous reviewer explained it is entirely French speaking and so my smattering of french was a life saver.We stayed in room Nawar. Not good for lovers, partners , or couples attempting to rekindle romance as the room may as well be doorless. Anyone in the courtyard (and there were always a lot of chattering people) may as well be in the room with you as they could hear everything and we could hear everything.Also the rooms in the brochures and on the websites look lovely and claim that all rooms have heating ( we had an electric plug in heater),a reading area (not so Nawar) and air conditioning (not that either).The loo was off our bedroom with a transparent curtain so it was most embarasing what with the usual deli belly! As for romance you could just about forget being intimate what with the human traffic outside our door.Oh, and if you do stay there remember to take a plug. Can you believe that we didn't have one in the basin?
You would think and expect nice soft towels,a working sink,a few toiletries,a hairdrier and someone who can speak your language when staying in even a bed and breakfast these days. It was disapointing but didn't spoil our holiday as we loved Marrakech.
The other rooms look sumptuous in the brochures and web pictures .Perhaps we were just unlucky but our room felt more for back packers than us with our Globetrotter and Mulberry luggage.
I will say that the couple running the place were very sweet and accomodating but it would have been nice if someone had been around to wish us Bon voyage on our day of departure.Not a soul in sight. Kuoni's transfere to the airport were nowhere in sight either!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

My mother & I stayed at this Riad on Jan 2 for 1 night. Its in the El Ksour area, which has a lot of antique & lantern shops & is a bit of a
walk to the Djemna El fna. If you stay in the Djemna el fna after 8 pm, these stores are almost closing as the streets get bare. Do not recommend for female travellers & if you do not speak French - do not stay here. No one speaks english. We had to catch a 6am flight to the airport & had a hard time explaining to the hotel staff to arrange a taxi for 4am. We managed with the help of other travellers who were French/English speaking.

We stayed in Room Foulla & had an en suite bathroom (the internet stated that its a shared bathroom - not so). The room & bathroom are large - there are 4 rooms in this riad - its clean & has character but
brush up on French.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveldivaNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

Hi there.
Booked a package deal thru thompson holidays which included 7 nights at Riad Dar Rmane and flights from Gatwick.
Dar Rmane was a lovely 4 bedroom Riad, and luckily we had the place to ourselves most of the time, and were well looked after by Mahmou and Malika (not sure how to spell thier names.) Only problem we had was we needed to speak more french, but we got by with lots of laughter and Mon Dieu's!. Moroccan breakfasts are not to our taste but beautifully served whereever you want - the terrace is great. If you love your cereal take a box with you. Milk is not a problem and they wont mind you leaving it in the fridge. A riad is just like staying in someones home, as you have the house at your disposal - courtyard, lounge room & terrace. Very close to the souks and the square. Beware of the intitial shock of being taken thru a lot of zig zags paths thru what look like crumbling buildings, but once your behind that wooden door you are in an oasis. We thought we would need breadcrumbs to find our way back each time, but after the first time we were experts. Highly recommend your stay. Dar Rmane has a sister Riad caled D'naima. This was larger and not as personable, and staff there did speak better english if you need it. Dar Rmane was like being at home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toute les 4 chambres.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews