We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad in the heart of Marrakech”
Review of Dar R'mane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar R'mane
Ranked #506 of 1,195 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Dar Rmane is a great place to stay, very close to Jamaa El Fna. Once Rachida opens the door you can see the orange tree and if you have never seen a riad you will be astonished by the beauty of the inner courtyard. The hosts are friendly and Mr. Bernard can show you some hidden corners that are amazing, just ask. The rooms and the entire riad are in perfect moroccan style, as well as the nice breakfast you can have on the terrace. Rachida is taking care of you during the day, providing a great stay. From 6pm, Mohamed is welcoming you back with some tips for restaurants. I strongly recommend you Dar Rmane! It was a pleasure stay there, thanks again to Monique, Bernard, Rachida and Mohamed!
Elena

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celimama, Propriétaire at Dar R'mane, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013
Google Translation

Merci Elena pour votre commentaire qui réconforte toute notre équipe.

Nous sommes heureux que votre court séjour à Dar R Mane vous ai donné toute satisfaction
Nous vous disons merci et à bientôt
Monique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 85 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great Riad, located in the Medina of Marrakech and in walking distance from the main square (Jamaa el Fna). Very friendly hosts that make you feel like home. Fantastic and healthy breakfast. Certainly recommended.

Room Tip: More intimate rooms are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athanasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Perfect location, easy to find, few minutes walk from the main square and at the same time extremely calm and inviting with its authentic characteristics and perfect hosts - staff Mrs.Rachida and Mr.Mohammed. They provided a great stay in the riad, were very helpful and friendly, told us everything we wanted to know and made as feel like home.
Breakfasts were very nice, most of the things were homemade but yoghurt was an absolute winner. Mrs. Rachida was so nice that she even wrote us a recipe for it. While she was in the riad during the day, Mr. Mohammed was there at night and we had great conversations with him as well as watching some sports together on TV.
The riad is very clean, rooms are charming and air conditioned, lounge and the roof terrace are very attractive, too. Although some basic French is recommended, they both speak little English but if you speak a bit slower they can understand more. Many thanks to both!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matejka108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

See Morocco authentically and comfortably. This beautiful riad is located 5 min from the Djem, but is so peaceful it could be a dozen miles away. Rooms were cozy and amazingly cool in the baking heat of the noonday sun. Staff, especially Moo-Moo (Mohammed), were so friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were simple, but so tasty. No air conditioning, no bar, no pool - no need, didn't miss them. Will return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarLinStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Dar R'mane from 4th March until 8th March and will definitely stay there if we ever be in Marrakech again. Waking up in the morning to birds chirping and having breakfast at the sun drenched rooftop terrace with view of atlas beyond was very refreshing.
Rashida (day time host) and Mohammed (night time) were both friendly and the nicest people despite the language barrier, we managed to communicate well! The services were superb and Rashida welcomed us with lovely mint tea and homemade pattisseries on the first day we arrived. I told her the pattiseries were so good that she made me 3 boxes to take home to england on the last day!!
We booked Dar R'mane as it suits our limited budget to stay within the central medina and close to the main square. But we were quite surprise that it turned out to be such a beautiful Riad, authentic and tastefully decorated considering the amount we pay and its location within close proximity to souks and only 5 mins to Jemma El-Fna. The rest of the riads we saw (when looking on the internet before booking) were either too expensive or too 'cheap-looking'. I must say, Dar R'mane is truly a gem within mouassine's area and we highly recommend it to anyone if you are looking for a more homely riad, this one has only 4 rooms. We were lucky to have given the opportunity to stay in two different rooms, the first two nights in Room R'mane on the ground floor and Foulla on first floor for the rest of stay. Both rooms are traditionally crafted with windows facing the courtyards. Living room is on the first floor overlooking the courtyard with antique furnitures, chairs and open fire giving you the real taste of morroccan living.
From the noisy souks, you have to navigate through small alleys leading to the riad and they are very quiet, clean and safe, in fact Marrakech is surprisingly a very safe city! If you were coming from Katoubia side or by the taxi, it is much more straight forward without going through the souks. There are few Madrasahs and mosques including Mouassine mosque within the souks not so far and the main Katoubia mosque about 10mins away and it was very pleasant to hear the azan (calling for prayer) from all around you 5 times a day!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are a lot warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1102rina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed in dar rmane for 7 days . Was apprehensive with the dingy approach but realised later that the windy roads are the charm of the inner city...

Room was comfortable, tastefully decorated and very nice atmosphere.Loved the breakfast on the roof top with birds chirping in the background.Home baked bread and fresh coffee was heavenly.

Riad guardian and cook were just brilliant, couldn't speak a word of English and i couldn't speak French but somehow we understood each other.....

Had one traditional dinner in riad prepared by the house maid... probably one of our best dinners in morrocco.

Location is good near djemaa al fna and neighbourhood was safe and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mkhan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We have just arrive back after staying in Dar R'mane (apparently this is Arabic for House of the Pommegranite) from 7th - 17th July 2008.

The hotel itself was found at the end of a labyrinth of alleyways that we thought we'd never find our way out of (but was actually very easy to navigate once we stopped and looked).

Stepping through the doorway into the riad was like stepping through a portal and leaving the noise of Marrakech behind for an oasis on calm.

Our room was as authentically and beautifully accessorised as the rest of the riad, it was certainly worth visiting to see the decor alone!

As the other reviews have stated, the staff at the riad don't speak a lot of English, but we were in Morocco so didn't expect this - the language barrier was certainly not a barrier to their hospitality. In fact, on a number of nights we sat up until late, improving our French, talking to Moo-moo (short for Mohammed) about everything from the practicalities of the best places to find Moroccan delicacies and where to visit to the differences between our cultures. A lovely guy and all this with our very poor French!!

The rooms are basic (if you are used to the luxuries of big hotels), but are clean, comfortable and authentic. It was amazing how cool the rooms stayed when it was 40c plus outside. Because all doors opened onto the central courtyard, it was easy to hear what was going on outside, but the rooms themselves remained private.

My one criticism would be that the "bar" quoted in the brochure, was manifest in only a couple of cans of beer and bottles of wine in the kitchen fridge - but you have to recognise that alcohol does not play the same part in Moroccan culture, as it does in other countries.

The Djem el Fna was apx 3 or 4 minutes walk away (although it can take longer to negotiate the souqs, especially if buying) and was everything I expected (and more), never before have I encountered a better place to fit the term "melting pot", everything that makes Morocco unique was there - a fascinating place.

We had a thoroughly pleasant stay in this lovely little riad and would recommend it to anyone, who wants to sample a bit of relaxed Moroccan living.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarLinStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#76 of 500 in Marrakech
2,167 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 500 in Marrakech
1,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#271 of 500 in Marrakech
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar R'mane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar R'mane

Address: No 27 Derb Snane | Mouassine Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 1,195 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $56 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar R'mane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent and beautiful riad in the medina of Marrakech, Dar Rmane has 2 doubles bedrooms and 2 bedrooms familiar confort with en suite shower room, a patio, a beautiful terrace overlooking the Koutoubia. Dar Rmane is located 2 steps from souks and 5 minutes walk from the famous Djemaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar R'mane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar r Mane Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing