We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“not as good as it should...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Aubrac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Aubrac
Ranked #218 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not as good as it should...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

The riad looks very well in the pictures and the reality is almost the same, but the things there are not very good are the services you are being offered:
1. They forgot to send the taxi to pick us up from the airport, although we received their confirmation and we had to wait more than 1 hour and a half for a taxi.
2. The location can not be reached by car and you have to walk a couple of minutes.
3. The wi-fi, even they said that is working in all the rooms, was working properly only on the ground floor where the router was. At the first floor was not signal in the rooms.
4. There is no bathroom door, there is only a curtain.
5. There is no heating system available and if you are going on a colder month like we did you are freezing.
6. No TV in any room, only in the lobby.
7. The services do not compare to a 4* hotel, but the prices are the same.
8. The area does not give you a save feeling, 'cause the streets to the riad are like a labyrinth.

The staff is not very friendly, we ask for some recommendations of good restaurants and they recommend what everybody could see some restaurants from Jemma el Fna which on all the sites had bad reviews.
In conclusion if you want to book this riad think again, 'cause definitely the price requested is much more than it's worth.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmin_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    78
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
242
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights on the Riad Aubrac oriental , we stayed in the Jacaranda room on the ground floor. It was spacious, a slightly odd set up with the bath and washbasins just by the bed but toilet was enclosed. The raid was beautiful a real oasis. It is down a small alley just off a busy street where all aspects of Marrakech life was visible. Inside the courtyard was very pretty , and the roof top terrace had lovely views. We arranged for the riad to send a driver to pick us up from the airport, he could not drive directly to the riad as the streets were too narrow. We were met by a fellow with a cart who wheeled our luggage for about a 10minutes walk to the riad.
We had supper there on our first night, it was a lovely lamb tagine, beautifully presented. Whilst there the reception arranged for a driver and 4x4 to take us into the Atlas mountains , this was a great day out and well worth doing. The riad is well situated for walking around the medina and getting to the main square. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. English is spoken and also French . Would certainly recommend it to stay if you visiting Marrakech ,and particulary if you want to experience the real Marrakech rather than stay in a face less international hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buchanan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed for two nights in Riad Aubrac Oriental (the second Riad operated by the Riad Aubrac owners and situated nearby) for two nights and had a great experience.
This Riad is very well located in the heart of the Medina, approximately 10 minutes walking from the central square and on walking distance from most of the monuments. A pick up by staff from a meeting point can be arranged at first arrival which is highly recommended. Once you know the location it is however easy to find back the Riad.
It is an amazingly quiet place to stay. No noice at all from the busy medina streets. The nicely decorated central atrium with open roof (where breakfast and dinner are served) makes it a special and very attractive environment. One would not expect to find this "palace" style after an entrance door at the end of a narrow street but this is Marrakech ...
Rooms are comfortable and clean and correspond to the description on the website.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull but the main reception is at the other Riad.
Meals are of good quality but should be ordered in advance (something went wrong with the reservation of our first dinner but as an alternative they guided us to a good restaurant and offered us a bottle of wine). A lot of services (eg . hamman, airport transfer, assistance for reserving a city guide .....) are available but not cheap.
It is certainly a place I would recommend for anyone liking to stay in the medina for visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: Look at the website - the rooms are well described.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etienne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Stayed here in September having taken advantage of a great special offer for that month. Everyone here is so friendly and helpful. A working knowledge of French is recommended but we got away with the bits we remembered from school! Room was comfortable and spotless. 5 minutes away from Jemaa El Fna once you know the way! We got horrendously lost on the first day but lovely Abdul from the riad popped up out of nowhere and guided us on our way. The food here is amazing, breakfasts so tasty and filling we did not need lunch, and we ate our best meals in Marrakech here. The local beer they serve here, Flag, is very tasty. We also went to Riad Oriental for massage and hammam and it was fantastic. The riad is laid out beautifully with lots of little comfortable snug areas you can hang out at in the evening. Highly recommended, my only regret is that I didn't stay for longer.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monochromic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Loved everything about the Riad Aubrac,I can't think of a negative thing to say about it.

The location is great, near to everything and yet far enough away from the madness of the square. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned which is a must when it is so very hot outside.

Breakfast on the terrace is amazing and yoghurt to die for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol123967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at Riad Aubrac Oriental in the Jaquaranda room for four nights and it was by far the best place we stayed in Morocco. The riad is centrally located and you're right in the hustle and bustle when you step out. The riad it's self is a tranquil retreat from the crowds and heat. The riad is decorated lovely and the smell of incense drifting throughout was great. The room itself was large with a quirky bathroom. There was a roof terrace for relaxing with a dipping pool which was great for cooling off. The breakfast was pancakes, yoghurt, bread and jams and freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee - delicious! We also ate in the riad on the final night, we had the lamb and prune tagine and the meal was amazing - I would highly reccomend it!

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when we return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Very nice Riad, tastefully decorated, in a quite location in the best part of old Medina, close to the main square. Breakfast on the terrace, nice view.
Excellent services. Annie would do anything to help, she even gave me some medicine for my stomach (be careful of what you eat in Djemaa el fna square...).
All in all highly recommended.

Πολύ προσεγμένο ριάντ, μικρό, καθαρό, ήσυχο, διώροφο με εσωτερική αυλή και ταράτσα, κιόσκι, πολύ χαλαρωτική ατμόσφαιρα, άρωμα ανατολής. Η ιδιοκτήτρια εξυπηρετικότατη, το προσωπικό ευγενέστατο.
Έχει δύο ανεξάρτητα κτίσματα, εγώ έμεινα στο πιο σύγχρονο. Πρώτη φορά είναι λίγο δύσκολο να το βρεις, όπως και οτιδήποτε στη μεδίνα, ειδικά χωρίς χάρτη, καλύτερα να κανονίσεις να σε παραλάβουν αυτοί.
Πολύ ευχαριστημένος, το συνιστώ ανεπιφύλακτα.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimiros_athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#16 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Cannelle
Riad Cannelle
#291 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Karama
Riad Al Karama
#68 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#88 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Lapis-Lazuli
Riad Lapis-Lazuli
#216 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Faiza & Spa-Hammam
Riad Faiza & Spa-Hammam
#242 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aubrac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aubrac

Property: Riad Aubrac
Address: 29 Derb Ben Allal | Ben Salah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aubrac 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Riad Aubrac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aubrac Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing