We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Honeymooner's Moroccan Dream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Aubrac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Aubrac
Ranked #174 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Honeymooner's Moroccan Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Why Riad Aubrac(Oriental)? It was a honeymoon present and a well chosen choice. Riad Aubrac had many good reviews and the location was great.
Location: We couldn't stop rattling on about how central Riad Aubrac was in the Medina The Room: We stayed in the Olivier Suite which had superb storage space, facilities, decor and a much needed controlled A/C for the 40c heat. The room was very clean when we arrived and was cleaned everyday by an amazing staff member Hafida. Every time we would leave the beautiful smell of amber incense would welcome us back to our suite. Food: Food was MARVELLOUS!! I would highly recommend the Lamb Cous Cous Royale (250dh ) which is for two and is a feast for ~£18. We were offered a Morrocan Gris wine on the house which worked a treat. :)
Services: 5*...We had an amazing hammam and massage and a private tour to the atlas mountains. The staff went out of their way to get us the best!!

Room Tip: The Olivier Suite is one of the largest room in the Riad Aubrac (Oriental) its stylish and really qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twosugarsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    81
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
250
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Fantastic Location. 5 Min walk to jemaa el fna. Very welcoming and knowledgeable staff. Great Value. Great breakfasts and dinner if you choose to eat at the hotel. Would recommend you arrange airport transfer through the hotel as a new visitor would find it very hard to find. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

After trawling the internet for Riads in Marrakech, we found the Riad Aubrac via TripAdvisor. The reviews were great and no-one had anything neative to say about it. Well, they were right. There were no rooms at the Riad Aubrac so we stayed in the Riad Aubrac Oriental (Olivier suite) and this is something that I would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for traditional Moroccan accommodation of great quality. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The breakfast provided was also very nice and traditional. We ate at the hotel on one occasion and that was delicious too. I treating myself to a Hammam and a massage at the hotel and that was a real positive experience. I can´t not mention the staff at the hotel, who were really very kind and nothing was too much for them. The location of the Riad is good - it´s about a 7 minute walk to the Place Jemaa el Fna and about 1 minute to the start of the souk. We were wondering about whether to eat at stalls on the Place Jemaa el Fna, but it really is something you can safely do without getting ill. Another good tip for eating good food is the Café Arabe (rue de Moussadine) with its loungy yet traditional feel. Bargaining in the souks is a real must. Never pay more than 30-40% of the first price they offer. If you say no and walk away, they will come running after you if your offer was in the right area after all!! Marrakech is a great city to explore for two or three days, and the Riad Aubrac Oriental is the perfect base to set out from.

Room Tip: Though all the rooms are really lovely, the Olivier room is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muk_muk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

The Riad Aubrac is tucked away down an alley in the souk that seems to lead to nowhere but once the ancient front door is open you step into paradise. The owner, Annie was very helpful & charming as was Khalid. The breakfast is to die for. It is served on the roof terrace & the local bees join in! We had a Hamman & massage at the sister hotel, the Oriental & it was pure bliss. We ordered a meal on one evening & it truly was the delicious. Thanks to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was our first trip to Marrakech and to Morocco and after a disastrous trip around India last year, I was naturally anxious about this. I has no cause for concern! I booked this Riad on the strength of reviews on trip advisor. Contacting the Road directly, all of my e-mails were answered promptly. They arranged to collect us from the airport, and when we arrived, sure enough there was the driver waiting for us. As the car could not get close to the Riad, another man was waiting with a cart to take our luggage down to the Riad.

We stayed for 4 nights at the Oriental- the sister Riad to the Aubrac. What a wonderful place! Clean and welcoming, we couldn't have been treated any better. Our meal on the evening of our arrival was delicious. Every breakfast was a joy; simple but exquisite. Do try the pancakes with honey, yummy.

The courtyard, provides a chill out area from the sun and the noise and bustle of the streets that surround the Riad. All of the staff were attentive, and unlike in India did not hold out their hands constantly looking for money. They deserved the tip we left at the end of our stay.

I had a massage one evening and gosh I felt so relaxed afterwards, highly recommend this to anyone.

Our flight back was in the evening, and they allowed us to still use our room, that afternoon, past check out time, so that we could rest and shower etc. What was even more wondrous was the fact that we were not charged for this!!!!! Where else in the world would a hotel manager not seize the opportunity to make some extra money from a guest....

I can not rate this place, the staff, the people of Marrakech highly enough....The people of India would do well to learn something from these people, especially when it comes to keeping streets and hotel's clean!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireLeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

This was our first trip to Marrakesh and we will definitely be back. Annie and her team was overwhelmingly helpful and could not do enough to make your stay relaxing and comfortable.

The Riad is enchanting, full of character and beautifully restored. They also have a sister Riad which is of the same standards.

We had the choice of eating breakfast on the roof terrace or ground terrace. Breakfast was delicious with home made yoghurt, a selection of breads with eggs, cheese etc.

We ate at the Riad on two occasions. Again the standard was fantastic. I would certainly recommend the Tagine or broquettes - DELICIOUS!

We will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_oruc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stay in Riad Aubrac Oriental (there another one jus Riad Aubrac, is the same owner, is 2m walk)...very nice place to stay...a great room....Twin Oranger, with 2 beds...a great breakfast...15m walk to Jema el Fnaa...no problem to came at night walking from Jema el Fnaa, lots of people in the streets...but for the first day, ask for a aeroport transfer, because the taxi don´t enter in the medina, and you have to walk 20/30m from here the taxi leave you...is better a transfer...Annie the owner provide you...The speak French and a little of Spanish.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#265 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#48 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#166 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Nimbus
Riad Dar Nimbus
#175 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#12 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Manissa
Riad Manissa
#510 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aubrac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aubrac

Property: Riad Aubrac
Address: 29 Derb Ben Allal | Ben Salah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aubrac 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Aubrac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aubrac Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing