We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful atmosphere and excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Taylor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Taylor
Ranked #433 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful atmosphere and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

The Riad has a wonderful atmosphere. The relatively large rooms are tastefully decorated. The small court yard and the roof top are great places to stay. The service from the two attendants could nor have been better. They took us on foot to remote corners of the medina, served us food late at night and breakfast on the roof top.
Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jette_DK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    3
    4
    8
See reviews for
6
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I have just re-read what this hotel offers and apart from the flat screen tv, with non-working satellite, it is a different hotel than the one I've just spent a week at! This is not a five star anything, apart from disaster area. The food is terrible, the hamman does not exist, the pool is a puddle and the owner is one of the rudest, most arrogant peolple that I've ever met. We were also stung for "a holiday tax" as we left, £40!
Having arranged a trip through them, we were told over breakfast out trip would involve the scenic route, viewing the airport whilst we dropped other guests off, for which they were being charged. When we refused 'Basil' threw a wobbler and stormed off waving his arms at us as he left. An odd odd place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ExeterJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Hotel is very difficult to find in a maze of unfriendly back alleys and narrow streets. Does not feel safe at night - alleys and streets leading up to Riad poorly lit.
Hotel is supposed to be 5 Star - don't make me laugh.
Getting weary by end of holiday of local youths asking for money to show the way to Riad.
Marrakech is an amazing place to visit - but choose somewhere else to stay instead.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrispyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rtmarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Taylor, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Google Translation
Monsieur en réponse a votre commentaire
A Marrakech la médina est constitue d'une dedale de ruelles, il faut le savoir, il n'y a eu aucune agressivite envers les touristes, les eclairages sont partout pareil ,on vous conseil de prendre un chauffeur la nuit lorsque l'on rentre tard, mais ce n'est pas une obligation .
il faut savoir que les taxis ne sont pas tres fairplay ,et quand aux enfants qui vous demande de l'argent pour vous accompagner au riad ,cela existe dans tous les pays !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

We had one meal there which was vastly overpriced and not very pleasant, far better quality and value is to be had from the market stalls in the main square at a quarter of the price. The riad arranged an English speaking guide which was good but we had to endure 3 visits to shops with an agreement with the riad for a hard sell. Be firm at the outset that you are not interested in buying carpets and save yourself a lot of grief. Also dont say you want lunch as you are taken to yet another place that the guides obviously have a deal with, for yet more vastly overpriced chicken tangines. My booking clearly stated room only and we only had breakfast once but was charged at the end nonetheless. I was told 'it is always free and included', there is a tourist charge added and a credit card commission of about 5%. Do not book the driving tour with the riad as you can get this for a quarter of the price from an agency in the centre. Also, if you like to have a drink bring it with you unless you enjoy getting charged £5 for a very small beer, wine and spirits can only be afforded by royalty. The riad also seemed to have a particular liking for playing Celine Dion music day and night which by day 6 felt like torture.

PS: Th e riad taylor is very very very very far from the center of the city, and it's difficult to come back at night (no light in these area)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godolf1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sardegna
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

There I found relief and relax, smiling faces, warm welcoming and everybody took care about me! I'm very impressed and I suggest you to discover the riad Taylor.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cianfrigna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

I had already read the Tripadvisor reviews before going to the Riad Taylor so I already knew that the area surrounding the Riad was a bit rough and a bit 'undesirable'. However, it was still a bit shocking when I saw it for myself!

Upon leaving the airport and driving to the Riad, you immediately see the difference in your surroundings the more closer you get to the Riad. I also think that the fact we arrived at night time, in the dark, made it a bit more intimidating. It was relief to finally get to the Riad...once you step inside it is like you're in another world! This is a truly beautiful place to stay. It's like an oasis in the middle of madness. It's romantic and sumptuous, relaxing and picturesque and even better, the staff do everything in their power to make sure you have everything you need.

We stayed in 'Sultan' one of five rooms at the Riad. It was spacious, had a table, chairs, cable TV, a mini-bar, a beautiful bathroom (a rose on the sink and petals by the bath) and an inviting bedroom (the bed was made up so prettily you almost don't want to disturb it). Breakfast was served in the sunshine on the roof terrace and it just felt unreal! We all found it surreal to be eating pancakes, bread, yoghurt, fresh orange juice outside in such amazing surroundings.

I could write so much more about the sun loungers/chill out areas on the roof...about the need to keep your wits about you when stepping outside of the Riad but I think I might run out of space.

Overall. I'm glad I experienced the Riad Taylor what it was like to be in the 'real' Marrakech but at the same time, if I were ever to visit the city again, personally I think I will stay somewhere in a different part of town!

  • Liked — The roof terrace/sun loungers
  • Disliked — The location, its surroundings
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Deenie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

We decided to go to Morocco on a two city trip, after a enjoyable trip down Agadir, we were driven to Marrakesh. By looking at the pictures on trip advisor i was under the impression i was arriving to a Grand Modern Hotel, but it was totally the opposite. Our driver drove us into a ancient part of a old Medina. I kept on telling him that it was the wrong area "My hotel 4 star, 4 star", but he was very adamant, after a little walk in the narrow buzzing streets, we finally arrived to this shabby mud type building, when we walked into this hole! I couldn't believe my eyes when i saw this beautiful designed hotel inside! Designed by a famous Italian designer this place was pure luxury. The riad had free Cable TV, free internet we could walk around the hotel with there laptops! There was magazines and books to read, they also had a very nice hammam (steam room).
This place had the best food i tasted in Morocco, Personal service, The views were fantastic, you can see the whole medina. We sat upstairs for hours enjoying the cool breeze.
If you want a romantic dinner with your missus then look no more!
When you go out Then ask for a guide he will take you every where!
If you are not a adventurous person then this place is not for you, i would like recommended this to every one! I've been to many five stars..... this was special.

  • Liked — True cultural experience
  • Disliked — Not for shoppers
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank escofiasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Pavillon Du Golf
Le Pavillon Du Golf
#312 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#149 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#93 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Taylor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Taylor

Property: Riad Taylor
Address: 20 Taht sour sghir -Zahouia Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad Taylor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE RIAD TAYLOR, Riad du 18 eme siecle vous offre deux chambres doubles , une suite junior et deux grandes suites. Toutes les chambres sont entièrement climatisées et équipées de téléviseur écran LCD, lecteur DVD, chaînes françaises et étrangères et de mini bars.seche cheuveux produits d'accueil...Les amoureux du farniente peuvent se ressourcer, dans cet havre de paix, en dégustant le traditionnel thé à la menthe sur les transats de la terrasse aprés avoir gouter aux biens fait du Hammam, gommage et massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Riad Taylor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Taylor Marrakech
Riad Taylor Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing